Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8 & Ungraded
Public district
Glendale, AZ
Students enrolled: 909
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Coyote Ridge 1

Posted May 07, 2015
- a community member
This is a terrible school now. This school was far better when it first started. Now, it has become a total wreck. The new principal has changed a few things in the school, which isnt so bad. However, the school is starting to crumble. The Vice Principal disapeared with no explanation to why she left. There is hardly any communication that happens in this school when it used to be with paper slips of information sent home occasionally. Already, the teachers are being fussy and with unprofessional attitude in the school. They expect the children to act better than them when they are not setting a good example of how to. Also, they have changed the way that students are being picked up from school. There are already so many accidents that are bound to happen. It is simply frustrating everyone. I do understand that this was intentionally to make it a safer process. However, it is making everyone frustrate, which would lead to a unsafe environment.

Coyote Ridge 5

Posted May 15, 2014
- a community member
My school is Coyote Ridge it's one of the BESTEST school!!! You have to come to this school the teachers are fun and make learning FUN!!!!!


Coyote Ridge 2

Posted August 02, 2013
- a community member
This school was a great expierence until we got a new principal that made us ajust to a school enviorment that hes used to rather than adjusting to ours. He hade some reasonable changes & some that were unneccessary. Many stundents were very upset when he cancelled the halloween parade for religious reasons & becuase it takes time away from learning however it has never been a problem in the past , students used to come in school clothing change into a costume for the parade , then change out of costume and the day procceds normally as any other day. The staff & teachers are very friendly and encourge students to work hard and achieve their goals, however some teachers simply dont now how to teach some students due to different way of learing in a class. Many students in the 2012-2013 7th grade class had a difficult time learning in mr.friedmans due to many distractions in the classroom, he called the front office almost everyday causing the class to pause for about 15 minutes for missbehavior that could have been resolved with a simple detention.

Coyote Ridge 5

Posted May 13, 2013
- a teacher
Teachers and staff are deligent and caring. They always go above and beyond for each other and students. I've taught at Cridge over 5 years and love the students and sense of community with staff.

Coyote Ridge 1

Posted May 03, 2011
- a parent
I have nothing but negative things to say about this school, as for the 8th grage teachers so they call themselves. they are there to do one thing and that is to teach, but seems as if they can't and get overwhelmed at the fact that some students need a little more one on one instruction. and because no one but the teacher is in the class and something happens they take the teachers word and punish the students I don't think that this is fair nor professional for a school not to look into the problem instead of research and or investigation.


Coyote Ridge 2

Posted May 03, 2011
- a parent
I totally agree about the 8th grade teachers. There was several complains about them last year. I was really surprise they were back this year. They don't even know how to communicate with parents. Mrs Lee, Mr Earlich were the worst ones to talk to. I was so glad to have my daughter out of there.

Coyote Ridge
no rating

Posted September 11, 2008
- a parent
I have two kids at C.R. My son graduated last year. They have gone there since the school first opened. I have nothing but positive things to say about this school. The staff old and new have always been great. Thanks to the dedication of the team with the leadership of Mrs Hill my 7th grader has overcome a very rare and difficult social dissability, and is very close to full recovery after 8 years. I am more than thankful to Coyote Ridge, my daughter would have probably not been excepted anywhere else, and not made the progress that most professionals said she would never make. Thank you for training your staff and students well.

Coyote Ridge
no rating

Posted October 09, 2007
- a parent
My son has attended CRE since it opened. He is in the gifted program and has done very well. The team teaching concept has worked well for many years and needs to continue at this school with new teachers being teamed with the veterans so they can learn quickly. The school also needs to teach concepts rather than the tests. When a child learns the concept, he/she will perform well on the test, not vise versa. The children need more playtime and REAL sports programs (i.e. flag football, basketball, baseball) so that these students grasp the team concept, excercise for health and are ready for high school sports. The GUSD needs to provide the same liability coverage they have for their HS in the Elementary levels as well.


Coyote Ridge 2

Posted October 09, 2007
- a parent
This school has really changed in the past two years. There is a wide range of younger staff. The staff is not accountable for their actions. There is a lot of non teaching going on. The testing that is given to the kids is not what they have learned in the class room. There is a lot of need for help in the way that they prepare the students to test and do well.

Coyote Ridge 3

Posted October 08, 2007
- a parent
My child has been at Coyote Ridge since it first opened. In the beginning this school was strong and had great leadership. They were very supportive and embraced a learning environment. The school has taken many steps backwards in the last few years. There are many good ideas and thoughts but there is a lack of follow thru. They need to do a much better job arranging experienced teachers with the new ones fresh from school. My personal experience has been a lack of accountability on the part of the school. They need to embrace the team culture of parent, student, and teacher. There is also sports available but only for female students. They seem to just chance it when it comes to supporting sports for the boys who have had to depend on parent volunteers for coaching and wear the girl jerseys from other sports.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Coyote Ridge
7677 W. Bethany, Glendale, AZ  85303
(623) 237-4000
Last modified Coyote Ridge is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Coyote Ridge Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. Top