Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
56 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 72 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Sandra Day O'connor High School 2

Posted July 19, 2016
- a student
This school deserves my rating because of the certain issues is has. Whoever believed it was right to use taxpayer money to fund iPads for students' education wasn't thinking clearly. I've witnessed many students playing games on their iPads during instruction time. This school should also rethink their Honors courses, as some of them feel like ordinary classes to me. I feel that many of the staff seem to favor those who participate in the athletic program, and ignore the concerns of those who aren't.

Sandra Day O'connor High School 5

Posted May 12, 2016
- a parent
Awesome staff, great athletics program, teachers that really go above and beyond. Top notch atmosphere and great support!


Sandra Day O'connor High School
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted August 05, 2015
- a parent
They would be more effective with a good administration. Mirage is very low. When the teachers are unhappy, it Is passed on to the students.

Sandra Day O'connor High School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted August 05, 2015
- a parent
It depends on the teacher. Every class is different. My kids have never had issues with the homework.

Sandra Day O'connor High School
Develops grit: Agree

Posted August 05, 2015
- a parent
Yes to finish school and get out of there. No one wants to go back. It's like a prison.


Sandra Day O'connor High School
Develops respect: Disagree

Posted August 05, 2015
- a parent
The students must be perfect and have no voice. The parents need to not raise any concerns as administration doesn't like drama. The kids do not receive due process. Basically, if you don't like the class, teacher, coach because of truly legitimate reasons, you are told to go elsewhere. They don't respect individuality at all.

Sandra Day O'connor High School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted August 05, 2015
- a parent
My daughter has been told that she was replaceable more than one time. If they do not like a child, they will not help them. Past mistakes become huge grudges.

Sandra Day O'connor High School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted August 05, 2015
- a parent
The students and parents are not respected if there is an issue. They will deny it. The only way to accomplish anything is to record the incident as you are told you need proof of an issue. Otherwise they turn it around on you and claim you perceived it incorrectly. They are really quite good at it.


Sandra Day O'connor High School 2

Posted August 05, 2015
- a parent
This high school is getting worse by the day. Three years ago, when the district appointed a new principal, Dr. Miller, the school started going down hill. Now it is spiraling out of control. The principal has no leadership skills. The teachers are miserable which is why many students and parents are frustrated. The students are forced to use iPads to learn. They watch the lesson on the iPad. Many times if my student has a question, they are directed to look it up on the iPad. It's a joke. If you have concerns and wish to speak with administration, good luck. You have a better shot at getting a meeting with Obama! You usually have to wait anywhere from 3 days to 2 weeks for a day and time. Then they won't meet with you unless you email your questions/concerns to them prior to the meeting. You are also only given a certain amount of time to talk. I've been in a meeting where I was scolded for speaking out of turn. They obviously do this so you won't want a meeting. Then absolutely nothing is resolved. They do not put the students well being first. It is the most poorly run school I've ever experienced. This is an amazing community, however the school wants nothing to do with it.

Sandra Day O'connor High School 1

Posted March 03, 2015
- a parent
I have a son in 9th grade there, and I'm desperately searching for an alternative school for him. The classroom sizes are ridiculous, trying to get the teachers to work with us (parents) has been a joke, and my son has basically given up any hope that he can succeed. As a parent who is more than willing to sit with him at night to get him caught up on the poor learning he is receiving, I still cannot. Everything is done on the iPad without a single textbook for me to help him with. The social aspect has been equally terrible, with bullying, physical threats and attempts on my son, drugs galore...it's a miracle any child can succeed in that environment. If your child is not 100% an auditory/self-driven learner, I urge you to consider another option!

Nearby schools

Sandra Day O'connor High School
25250 North 35th Ave, Glendale, AZ  85310
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 72 reviews. (623) 445-5000
Last modified Sandra Day O'connor High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top