Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Hope High School Online

Charter | 7-12 | 200 students

We are best known for self-paced scheduling.
 
 

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 18 ratings
2013:
Based on 9 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

31 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted yesterday

I recently enrolled my 2 high school students and couldn't be more happy. The staff is super helpful and courteous, the class scheduling is amazing and exactly what we needed for our busy schedule with medical appointments. Looking forward to a great year with Hope!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted Tuesday, July 29, 2014

My school is a great place to work at your own pace to get a diploma. To learn a lot to be challenged.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted Monday, July 28, 2014

Hope High School Online is a non-profit, tuition-free public school serving Arizona students (up to age 22) in grades 7-12. Our online courses are self-paced so you can truly control your schedule. If you work, have outside activities, or just prefer to learn on your own, Hope High School Online provides the flexibility you need to be successful.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted Friday, July 25, 2014

My student excelled greatly this year academically due to Hope High School Online. She is able to work around her own schedule which allows her to also participate in many church related events such as mission trips. I appreciate the parent involvement and kindness of the teachers and staff. They are truly understanding and very helpful. Without this high school alternative, my daughter would have not been able to run after her life passions as well as excel in school. Thank you Hope High School Online!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted Friday, July 25, 2014

Hope High School Online is a great way to complete your high school diploma! Many of our students are 18 or older and have joined Hope High School Online to finish what they started, by completing the requirements for a high school diploma through our online program. Hope High School Online is a great alternative to tradition high school!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted Friday, July 25, 2014

This is my first year experiencing Hope High School Online. I am a parent of a Freshman. I love that he can work at his own pace. For all of the work that he does, we get quick feedback and grade posts. I like that the teachers take initiative to contact both him and I through email.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2014

Hope High online really works with my schedule. It allows me to do my schoolwork when I am free, rather then when I am told. The rules are really easy to follow and if you have any questions, the teachers are glad to help you out.


Posted July 24, 2014

It's a great school because it allows me to learn at my own pace and it gives you all the information you need to do the work correctly.It doesn't time you on your work it allows us to have plenty of time to do the work instead of rushing. It's also good because in the beginning of every lesson it shows you the objective your going to learn in that lesson it gives us an idea on what we should expect in the lesson.I also think its good because i can work on my own time i don't have a specific time to start working.


Posted July 24, 2014

It is a great school. I learn a lot from it. I get good grades.


Posted July 24, 2014

The teachers are very nice. The school is very good. The principle of the school is very helpful


Posted July 24, 2014

hope high school online it is a great school with the most amazing and welcoming staff i love going to hope high scool online.


Posted July 24, 2014

Hope High School Online is an excellent alternative to the physical high school experience. It is the best online high school in my area. The staff is helpful and friendly, as well as the teachers who work hard to grade promptly without any sort of bias. There are many wonderful courses to choose from and the self paced system is great and highly recommended.


Posted July 24, 2014

my school is a really good school can do my do all my work in my own time and i learn alot from the the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2014

Hope High School is really great. I'm grateful to be attending! The teachers and staff are very helpful.


Posted July 24, 2014

I would highly recommend Hope High School online. They are very motivating and the staff is WONDERFUL! It was very easy to enroll and the books were sent right to my house. I wish that we would have found this school a lot sooner! This was the last year of home school we planned to do and fortunately we were given the privilege to experience home school with Hope High School Online. If the new school doesn't work out and we are moving back to home school my daughter will definitely be back with HHS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2014

Hope High School Online is an excellent alternative for students who want to take control of their education and work at their own pace!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 15, 2014

Worst school ever. you need to complete all work or you dont get any credits at all, you need to go to their school for every test you need to take. It is very hard to talk to anyone from the school, they barely answer their phones. All work, literally all of it, needs to be completely done and met by your teachers standards, which can take over 5 days or them to grade it, before you can even apply for every test. There are so many other flaws and this school deserves 2 stars not 5


Posted March 15, 2014

Great option for High School! We didn't know about schools on line and the lady at the phone help us to register my kid explaining all the different options for classes. Teachers were easy to reach. Highly recommended!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2013

Great school with a great staff. We moved here mid-year during the last school year and the staff at Hope were very helpful to get my son's records together and get him enrolled in the classes he needed. They were always very responsive to questions, requests, and any issue hat may have arisen. Great job Hope Online.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2013

I am very impressed with the school leadership. The principal has made impressive improvements to student engagement allowing for greater focus on student learning. I would recommend this school to other parents looking for a learning environment that is encouraging and pays individual attention to children.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

34 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
25%

2011

 
 
25%

2010

 
 
22%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

29 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
73%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2013.

29 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
38%

2010

 
 
64%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing".
  • This school did not receive a designation in 2009-2010.
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 48% 42%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 22% 3%
Hispanic 22% 43%
Black 7% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Female 55%N/A49%
Male 45%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school Primavera
K12
Pinnacle
Colleges most students attend after graduation Arizona State University
Northern Arizona University
Grand Canyon University
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students College counselor(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Special education coordinator
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Jennifer Blackstone
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Year-round
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (602) 943-9700

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • College prep
  • Hybrid
  • Independent Study
  • Virtual school
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • College counselor(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Counseling
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • None
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • None
Girls sports
  • None

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • None
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Student council/government
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Neither uniforms nor dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • None
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


10 out of 10students were accepted for the 2013-2014 school year.


Students accepted for the 2013-2014 school year
300
Applications received for the 2013-2014 school year
300
Students typically come from these schools
Primavera
K12
Pinnacle

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Arizona State University
Northern Arizona University
Grand Canyon University
College preparation / awareness offered
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
College presentations or information sessions
College prep programs/courses during the year
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5651 W. Talavi Blvd. Ste 170
Glendale, AZ 85306
Website: Click here
Phone: (602) 674-5555

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT