Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Stellar Prep

Charter | K-4 | 60 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 21, 2009

Awsome School!!! My daughter absolutely loved Mrs. Gina and I did too. The academics are great, my daughter is a grade ahead of your average public school curriculum. I would recommend this school to anyone!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 2, 2009

Excellent school!!! My children enjoy this school. They are doing great!!! Teachers are excellent , principal cares about the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2009

My children have been attending this school for about 2 years now and have made great progress especially my son who just happens to a special education student. I feel that the parents who had problems in previous years might not have had enough involvement with their childs development there. I have constant contact with the school and have seen the dean on campus on many occasions. I feel when you care more the teacher and directors care more.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2007

This school has no activities like normal schools. They do not teach as good as public schools either. They put grades with each other and they just make them use books and most of the teachers don't teach at all. their would always be fights and most of the teachers would not do any thing about it.My child did not even uderstand about anything until i moved her. she was like im so happy i moved!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 28, 2006

My son went to this school for 3-5 grade in mid 5th he started having problems with other kids picking on him. My son was an A student at this school but when he went to new school was about a year behind!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2006

I love this school. My son was having difficulty and his kindergarten has daily involvement with me, to ensure his success. The full day kindergarten is also great, an option not all other schools offer. My son is excelling and I'm so very proud of not only his response to this school, but the response of the school to us!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2005

The first graders have had 5 new teachers this year and just as many if not more dif. subs. The admin seems to not careabout there students at all. They do not have time to adress parent concern.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 20, 2004

My 1st grader has had 4 teachers this year and when i have tried to speak with the dean she is never available, this has been a bad year.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 78% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
82%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
36%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
45%
Science

The state average for Science was 58% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
25%

2011

 
 
55%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 63% 43%
Black 23% 5%
White 13% 42%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 93%N/A47%
Female 53%N/A49%
Male 47%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (623) 878-8175

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • College preparatory

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8632 West Northern Avenue
Glendale, AZ 85345
Website: Click here
Phone: (623) 776-2069

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare

Add this school to compare
ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT