Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Raymond S. Kellis

Public | 9-12 & ungraded

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

35 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 25, 2014

I was an honors student at Raymond S. Kellis and my English teacher caused me so much mental stress that I had to change schools, more than half of her class ended up failing because she didn't know how to grade papers.My family has gone through so much for the teacher's lack of support, my Biology teacher would always show up for first hour late, you're better off going somewhere else.


Posted June 14, 2013

Does anyone know if Raymond Kellis High School has a ROTC program and do they have any astronomy or aero space clubs?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2013

I am currently a senior attending Kellis for the fourth year. The student body displays exceptional "Cougar Pride" and demonstrates it well through pep rallies and games. The best part of the school is the teachers, of course. They all treat you like family if you treat them with the respect they deserve. The administration have been great help since day one. The counselors are awesome at what they do and try to provide the best for their students. If I were a parent, I would have my kids attend this high school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 11, 2013

My daughter is a freshman at this high school. I have become very disappointed and mistrusting with administration when it comes to bullying and harassment of a student. They say they are proud to be bully free, however when it is reported to them, the harassed student deals with retaliation from the students who victimized them. And they wonder why my child hesitates to say anything anymore. The school has since focused the problem in my child and blames her and myself as a parent. Way to go Kellis!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2012

If you have the chance to send your kids anywhere else you should - this school is a mess
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2012

Raymond S. Kellis H.S. has an exceptional reputation in the community for quality education, and I cant attest to this, as my son has attended since his sohpomore year. He states he would not want to go anywhere else to finish out his H.S. education. And even though we are planning to move, we have chosen to put it off until he has "walked across the stage."
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2012

Raymond S. Kellis is an exceptional school, with a loving and caring community and environment. The teachers here are one of a kind, spending numerous hours preparing easy to learn lesson plans. Making friends is simple and easy as everyone is on the lookout for new people. Never feel left out with RSK! Overall, one of the best campuses in the district with its cleanliness. The arts, academics, and dance departments are truly amazing. Recommended for anyone.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 19, 2011

This is my daughter's sophmore year at the school. She really like the School, Teachers, and Students. I have NOT heard any complain from my daughter's.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 28, 2010

I am currently a junior at RSK and have attended since freshman year. I absolutely LOVE Kellis and would never want to transfer or attend another school. The teachers are amazing and the principal and counselors give really good advice. I also created a club which they made really easy and am on the varsity tennis team.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 28, 2010

I am a junior at Raymond S. Kellis and I absolutely love it! The community is a family rather than a bunch of cliques. The special education department is really embraced at our school. Many AP and honors classes are provided and are being added. Academics is not the only focus though. Kellis has a strong art department that excels. The teachers are wonderful and are really amazing at what they do. I would not want to go any where else!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 29, 2010

First Year at Kellis. 3 Months in and not a single problem! The student body is amazing. Everyone is full of spirit and cheer, the marching band is phenomenal, the football team is one of the best in the district, and the teachers are just incredible. COUGAR PRIDE! Is it in you?
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 7, 2010

Out of all Peoria Schools this school has the best sense of community and morals. With the small amount of students attending compared to others such as Peoria High, teachers and students get more one on one time and personalized attention. The school is well kept and not to mention has an extremely talented performing arts program in the areas of dance, media production and art. They also hold the title of Girls State Basketball Champions of 2009 in their respective division. Go Cougars!
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 30, 2010

I really liked this school, most of my friends from middle school go to kellis & i loved it. I wish i never transfered, i attended dysart high school now, & i R E A L L Y miss being ah cougar. This school is a great school, i did better there with my grades than i do at dysart. I cant wait to transfer back for my sophmore year!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 28, 2009

The teachers are great at keeping parents updated on student progress. The school seems very safe. The Freshmen football program is the best in Arizona! Go Cougars!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2009

I really like this skool its really fun and i just recomend students to go to rsk...Cougar pride is it in u?
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 15, 2009

This school is very neat and supportive all the teachers are always available to help no matter what.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2009

I attending RSK my four years of high school, as the first graduating class. This school is excellent! The teachers are amazing and Mr. Mattern (internship teacher) even got me into a scholarship program at ASU. The teachers are all very encouraging and Mrs. Miranda puts her full effort into making Kellis the very best! I could not have felt safer at this school. Next year, I will have two sisters taking after me and attending this school. The Kellis staff could not care more about each student's future. I plan to teach in the special education department once I graduate ASU!
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 29, 2009

This school and those pricinciples are the best. I see then at so many events do they have kids of there own?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2009

Cougar Pride is it in you? Own it! I was apart of the first graduating class at kellis. The school is amazing! Not only are the parents involved but the Teachers are aswell. When you go to Kellis you don't only feel like your around other people but you also feel at home as well. The teachers give you time to show you if you don't understand it. The clubs help you meet new friends and life friends including Cougartown. Altho Kellis should have more support from others for how well they treat their students and the staff is doing a wonderful job. But if the principal maranda she could of been involved with a lot more stuff other than football. Kellis was wonderful it has really encouraged me to double major in education and work for kellis one day!


Posted March 18, 2009

I have two children at Kellis and my son will be going next year. I am very happy with the overall education that my daughters have received so far. Both of them are in honors or advanced classes and feel they are appropriately challeneged--especially by Mrs. Ross-WOW! The atmosphere is so very welcoming--My son cannot wait to try out for the football and basketball teams next year. We already have had state championships in several sports and the school is only five years old! My only complaint would be that the district and the city of Glendale tends to treat Kellis as the ugly stepchild--PAY attention --Kellis will do great things!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

494 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
63%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

497 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
79%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2013.

482 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Highly Performing".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 46% 43%
White 39% 42%
Black 7% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 3%
Two or more races 3% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 46%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Nurse(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Arts & music

Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Special education coordinator
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Diving
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Badminton
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Diving
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8990 W. Orangewood
Glendale, AZ 85305
Website: Click here
Phone: (623) 486-6000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Oasis High School
Glendale, AZ


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT