Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Sunset Ridge Elementary School

Public | PK-8 & ungraded | 602 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 23, 2014

I was a student, I went there from kindergarten to 7th grade (I'm in 8th now) and I've experienced lots of problems in recent years and it's sad because it used to be such a nice school, I have so many great memories and we used to always be celebrating awards from the district about how great we were and then all of a sudden we got a new principal and things changed. Bullying used to be non-exsistent and then it was at every corner and nothing was being done about it, and I think that's solely because the teachers don't know how to properly handle a situation like that because it used to never happen... Teachers were little to no help at all, either they were too lazy and though cracking jokes all the time was great or they were too strict and got too frustrated to actually teach the material, there was no inbetween and it was really dissapointing. I told my mom I wanted to leave and once I left I realized how many schools there were that could give me better so please don't choose this one.


Posted April 29, 2014

The new principal has ruined this school!!! It was the best one in the entire district, now its the worst! Parents are NOT welcome by the Principal. He seems to not care about anyone, especially students! He is never around to talk to parents. I will be finding a different school for my children! SR was the best BEFORE this new guy took over. SAD TO SEE THAT THE GOVERNING BOARD HAS LET THIS HAPPEN!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2011

This school is fantastic. There is ZERO tolerance for bullying!! Whenever I have any issues the principal and the teachers fix it right then and there. They are real good about sending home information about things that happened on campus or around campus that the parents need to be aware of. I believe this comes from great leadership. The principal truly cares about her students and their families! I believe this school is only rated a 6 due to lack of funding, size of school and lack of reviews :) I highly recommend this school to you newcomers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2010

I have 3 children at this school.. and they love it!! The school is a very close knit family, the principal, teachers and staff are always going the extra mile to make sure that no child is left behind! The school has numerous family events throughout the year.. I would definetly reccomend this school :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2009

I have substituted at most of the schools in the Pendergast School District, and I have found a 'home' at Sunset Ridge. It is true that the Principal and staff are amazing and they sincerely care about every student. At Sunset Ridge we believe that every student can succeed and we strive to teach them life skills that will empower them throughout their lives. I am amazed at the many opportunities the students have to serve and help their community. There is definately a sense of pride which surrounds the school, and students are learning to be responsible individuals. I highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 18, 2009

The principal, faculty and staff are all extraordinarily dedicated, energetic, creative miracle workers. The population is a difficult one; a large percentage of students are just learning English. Also, lots of the kids come from difficult homelives. Nonetheless, the principal and faculty are consistently cheerful and enthusiastic, working tirelessly for the kids. They put on numerous fun family events, school spirit events, and awards ceremonies throughout the year making sure that each child is recognized for his/her special qualities. They take pictures of the kids having fun and being a part of the school activities, then show the slideshows frequently with music. They play uplifting music and chant the empowering school pledge every day. All these efforts and many others make the kids feel like school is an important community where they belong, and where they can succeed and make a difference.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2009

I dont think our school deserves a 5. It should atleast get a 9! The principle and assitant principle are really nice and invovled. The teachers are awesome and understanding. Im an 8th grader and I never want to leave this school. Go Cougars!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 28, 2008

The school has gone through quite a few teachers and administrators in the five years its been open. They finally found a great principal and assistant principal team. My kid likes the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2008

Best school ever! but my kid in 8th grade says they need more fieldtrips!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
60%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
65%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
72%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
46%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
69%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
82%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
71%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
57%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
80%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
56%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing Plus".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 66% 43%
White 17% 42%
Black 9% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 6% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Two or more races 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 75%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Music teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
Fax number
  • (623) 877-4935

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
Transportation options
  • School shares bus/van with other schools
School facilities
  • Art room
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Tennis

Arts & music

Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Volunteer time after school
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8490 W. Missouri Ave.
Glendale, AZ 85305
Website: Click here
Phone: (623) 772-2215

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Camelback Academy
Glendale, AZ


Coyote Ridge
Glendale, AZ


Discovery School
Glendale, AZ



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT