Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Sunset Vista

Public | K-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 17, 2013

I was very pleased with Sunset Vista Elementary School. In my personal experience, the teachers were great, the principal was nice, and my kids were happy to be here. The school still looks new, they have great technology, and my kids had great experiences. Overall, I'm very happy with Sunset Vista. It is one of the best schools in the district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2013

I'm a former student of Sunset Vista Elementary, and My personal experience in that school was not great. I was 8th grade class of 2010-11. The year before was so bad. I'm not going to get into detail let's, just say it was so bad they had to separate the boys and girls from lunch, and recess. They lack in their education, specially since they have numerous behavior issues. It makes it difficult for students who actually want to learn. The teachers are excellent though. If your child wants to learn they'll offer help with after school tutoring and such. When I was their they offered programs for 7th and 8th grade to help them exceed on their AIMS. One thing for sure is, that school is trying hard to improve.


Posted June 5, 2013

WORST SCHOOL IN THE GLENDALE ELEMENTARY SCHOOL DISTRICT! DO NOT SEND YOUR CHILDREN HERE! NO CHILD NEEDS TO SUFFER THIS ADMINISTRATION!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2013

Sunset Vista Elementary is one of the worst schools especially when it comes to positive versus negative comments and teachers. They concentrate so much on the behavior that the teaching is second rate. They do not treat each student fairly and this is seen daily especially since Dr. Richardson is now at the school. DO NOT EVEN SEND YOUR CHILD HERE!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2012

Im am happy with the improvement this school is making, but no way this school is 58% white i hear spanish more than english being spoke! And all paper work and banners/posters are in spanish and english! Ugh!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2010

It truly amazes me how poorly a school can be run. There should be a round about door for the amount of faculty that comes and goes in this school. Maybe one day the district will see who the real problem is.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 6, 2010

This is defintely not a school for kids that excel in reading, spelling, math. They will be bored out of their minds even if they are in the top level class. I will be looking for a school that provide a challenge for my 6th grader it was just unfortunate that this is the school they send a bus to our neighbor hood for even though it is not the closest school. The staff here is truly wonderful though and the front office staff is the best~
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 3, 2009

I was saddened that my child was flip flopped classes during the year. It seemed that no one wanted to help him. Finally, at the end, he ended up with a wonderful teacher for the last part of third grade, Mrs. Amavisca. She was so helpful and really cared about each child's learning. She also sent emails and notes home weekly for my son's progress and things he needed to work on. Plus, she is bilingual and that helped alot with the parents that do not speak much English. I am thankful that my son had one of the top teachers in that school at the end. I only wish she could move up grade by grade until he graduates from the twelfth grade. Thank God for teachers like her.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2008

Overall, I think the school is great! It's in its third year of existence and they have been adding great things since it's inception...like the computerized 'Smart Boards'. I have 4 children that are presently attending and all are happy being there. The reason for only 4 stars...I agree the PTO is lacking but in this case it's the parents fault. They need to get more involved! Parent turnout at school functions are poor as well such as student plays...come on parents, show some support! The only problem I don't like is the system they use for grading. It's very confusing and never really explains how your child is doing on a consistent basis. I know there's no consistency throughout the different grades...each teacher uses this system differently. Remember I have 4 kids in different grades. Lastly, Miss Mumford is truly a gifted teacher!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2008

Its a nice school. Mrs. Hightower is very warm and loivng to the students, parents and her staff. You can see she really cares greatly for the school. PTO sadly is a no go. Its run by just a very few set of parents and teachers cant seem to get any other parents to show interest in their students. over all the teachers are really caring towards students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2007

The teachers here really care and show enthusiasm. The principal, Mrs. Hightower, is great and goes out of her way to listen to the students and parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2007

Great teacher involvment~ A+
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2007

We just finished our first year at Sunset Vista. I think Lupita Hightower, the principal is wonderful! Mr. Ketchum who oversees the older grades has always said hello to me, even though my kids are younger. The teachers we had this year are A+++++++. We especially LOVED Miss Mumford. She is enthusiastic about what she does and is a top notch teacher.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
49%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
62%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
46%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

105 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
53%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
51%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
59%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
68%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
31%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
51%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
49%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
28%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
67%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
29%

2011

 
 
38%

2010

 
 
69%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
42%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
53%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing Plus".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 65% 43%
White 18% 42%
Black 9% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 5%
Two or more races 2% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 87%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7775 W Orangewood Avenue
Glendale, AZ 85303
Website: Click here
Phone: (623) 237-4000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Desert Spirit
Glendale, AZ


Discovery School
Glendale, AZ






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT