Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Arrowhead Elementary School

Public | PK-6

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 6 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

44 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 13, 2009

Our children attended this school from 1994 to 2007. This was a terrific school that has become mediocre at best. Poor leadership and and apathy have really taken a toll on this school. The walk to school can be daunting for some students, as the speed limit is 30mph and cars regularly go over 50mph through the school zone. The city of Glendale does not consider this a school zone, so don't expect to see any Glendale cops trying to slow traffic.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2009

Mrs. Flynn is an amazing teacher. She takes a genuine interest in the students wellbeing and education. As a teacher myself, I did research before choosing a school for my daughter to attend. I couldn't have chosen a better for her to learn and prosper.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2007

The principal does not listen or participate well with the children.One example is that she did not sign the students honor roll sheets this first quarter. Why not ?: there is a slot for it.Instead it is left blank.To busy ? or feel it is not necessary ? The curriculum is not challenging enough for most students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2007

I am disappointed with the leadership of this school and with the lack of concern for advanced students. Although I understand this is a district issue but it is clear that the teachers are overwhelmed and are unable to cope with the disruptive children, thus ignoring more advanced (or even well-behaved) children. The principal talks down to parents, often quoting her 'research' and her educational background. This is a safe school, however, and I find most teachers to be engaging and doing the best they can with what they have. The curriculum is not challenging. This is an 'Excelling' school, but in AZ that does not mean much.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2006

This is definitely one of the better schools in Arizona. We transferred many years ago from another Glendale school and this one was way ahead! Several years and several children later, we are still very pleased. Favorite teacher..Miss Flynn!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2006

This school has a excellent preschool program. The teachers are excellent and truly care about the childs needs. Ms. Claudine is a wonderful and exciting teacher and we love her.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2006

For the preschool program, the teacher and aide ratio was three to 15 students. The teacher was extremely good with working with the students and encouraged parent involvement. All in all I was very pleased with the preschool program and it was a good experience for our daughter.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2006

Arrowhead Elementary is a terrific school...the administration changed this year, and that has been a little disappointing...but the teachers are awesome and the parent support is great. I think the quality of education the kids are receiving is one of the best in the district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2006

I'm glad this my child's last year at this school. The teachers have been great but the new administration has been invisible and non responsive. Unfortunately the ptsa has also changed for the worse as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2005

This school is underfunded to provide the most basic computer equipment and supplies. The administration relies far too heavily on parental volunteers which are not trained or qualified to have the kind of influence that they have over the students. On the plus side, there are several exceptional teachers and the administration is excellent at responding to concerns or threats instantly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2005

Loved the school, loved the area. My daughter went here for 3 years and never had a problem. Teachers always stayed in contact with us and let us know how she was doing and if there were any problems.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2005

Great school, great staff. Teacher raitos are awesome.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2005

We love it here, the teacers are very patient and knowledgeable. They go the extra mile
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2005

My experience with Arrowhead Elementary was an excellent one. The Principal was very active and very visible in all aspects of the school. Parent involvement was spectacular. It is in a nice neighborhood and the children are well behaved and easy to be around. Academically I was kept informed of my student's progress and since he had an IEP I was very involved in the day to day progress he was making. The office staff was helpful and kind. The campus was always clean and I felt my son was safe at all times. When an altercation happened with my son and another boy I felt it was dealth with in an appropriate manner and fairly settled. Kudos to the teachers and staff of Arrowhead Elementary - keep up the good work. I am sorry we moved away from this school, I would prefer my son complete 6th grade with you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2004

This is a quality school in a great family neighborhood, where parents are involved in their children's education, and it shows.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2004

I am presently dissatisfied with Arrowhead Elementary. Like most public school environments, the philosophy is 'Only the strong survive'. My child is a collaborator and enjoys working within a group. He does not enjoy dominating or competing against other children. This occassionally makes him a target for bullies. When he asked his teacher for assistance with a bully, he was reprimanded for tattling while the bully escapes without a word. If your son or daughter is more sensitive than some and you worry about bullies, send them to private school and look forward to the voucher system. There is nothing but the status quo at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2004

Over all the school seems average as far as studies. The teachers seem to enjoy their jobs and care about the children. The principal on the other hand... Hopefully the school board will see all sides of stories in the future beside this womans. I know for a fact I am not alone in this at all...Due to this woman we will no longer be going to a school that is letterally walking distance from our home... other wise...They really would have an excellent school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2004

Probably one of the poorest schools in the valley. It is over crowed and understaffed...But the teachers are indeed great. But [because of] the 'leader' [Principal]...We'll be changing right away.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2004

Very dedicated teachers. Mrs. Michalski in Grade 1 is extremely focused on improving the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2003

I have a special needs child at Arrowhead Elementary. The staff has been wonderful. My son's teachers have been patient and dedicated beyond anything I could have hoped for. The principal, Mrs. Matt, is incredible. I have no idea how she manages to be as invested in my child's well being as she is, and still run a 1000 student school. Thank you!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
93%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
85%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 70% 42%
Hispanic 15% 43%
Black 6% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 3%
Two or more races 4% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 22%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7490 W Union Hills Dr.
Glendale, AZ 85308
Website: Click here
Phone: (623) 376-4100

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Discovery Community
Glendale, AZ


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT