Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Bicentennial North School

Public | 3-8 | 778 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 12, 2014

Was extremely unhappy with this school. My son was bullied for 3 months before i had enough and pulled him out. The assistance principal seems carless and he made is feel like we were wasting his time when we went to him with concerns. We were instructed to just "email him". NO, my child does not feel safe and I expect an issue to be handled immideatly. There was also a bee problem near where children are to be picked up. My child's teacher instructed the children to report to the "south gate". My 9 year old misunderstood and was sent to Bicentennial South. At pick up NO ONE knew where our child was. A teacher said she would go look but had no idea WHO he was. My husband drove around each school frantically searching for our child. Couldn't find him for 20 minutes. My child then called me from Bicentennial South office saying he was there and the teacher sent him to the south gate. Complete chaos. No releasing structure what so ever. These are still small children. After finally locating our child and driving back towards home, the teacher who was going to help "track" him down was still standing in the same spot chatting with her coworkers. Wow.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2014

My son attended Bici South for several years and he just finished 3rd grade, parents were invited to take their children over to Bici North to see where they would be transferring to. I attended this event with my son and I was absolutely disappointed. As we entered the grounds there was a group of older kids all dressed in the same color, one girl wearing a bandana around her head and they were cursing as we walked by and I almost thought maybe there must be a school uniform policy but there isn't which means those kids were quite possibly gang members. As we get into the campus you can see right away that everything is old and outdated and the lunch room/auditorium is ridiculously small. Classrooms are small and outdated as well, teachers seemed boring and monotone. Needless to say I am not transferring my son to Bici North, instead he is attending Camelback Academy- free charter school with performing plus scores.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2013

This school I would never recommend to anyone. There are very few teachers that actually care , my kids are always bullied and nothing is done. my children do not feel safe at this school since it is full of bullies! Teachers will punish the whole grade or class for the actions of a few or single, they will punish your children for YOUR actions and they will do it behind your back so you have no say. This school is not helpful in anyway for a struggling child. I have nothing good to say about this school except it needs a total overhaul and new staff. This school will teach your child how to be bullies and how to lie and avoid situations. I will be taking mine out.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 16, 2010

The school is a very nice place. I used to attend and the teachers were very caring and helpful. The principal cares deeply for the students and he keeps in mind their well-being and academic success.


Posted December 5, 2009

It is not as bad as you think fro other reviews. The subs are mean but the teachers are nice.(most) I have gone on a field trip while attending...
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 27, 2009

ehh the teachers are alright, theres barely any activities and no field trips if theres any its like only in eighth grade which I doubt theres going to be any in the future with this economy
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 21, 2008

I have been with this school for a few years and am impressed with the leadership of our principal, Mr. Fleming. Although there is high teacher turnover, he always puts together a high quality staff that works well together and cares about the students and their families. Funding has been and continues to be an issue because of our location and socio-economic status, howver PTO helps to curb some of this concern.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 17, 2008

This school has good teachers who care about the students and they're wellbeing. Unfortunately, I am very dissapointed with the school's programs such as gifted programs, and sports programs; no field trips either! The principals' leadership, in my opinion, is below average as well.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 4, 2007

This School does not have that many sports their hardly any activities or fieldtrips, we need a better GYM, to many fights, subs are to mean. But overrall the school is ok.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 14, 2006

At this school there is no parent involvement what so ever. The extracurricular activities are limited and due to lack of substitutes in the school these classes get canceled 2-3 times a week. The programs currently are weak. They are all in place to hopefully increase test scores, which in turn means more time spent on class topics. Students are expected to be on task and topic 8 hours straight, not including the 15-30 minutes a day they get to play out side during lunch. The school has a sports program but Students are not trained in the sports to be high school quality and are not learning the sportsmanship and qualities that make a good player.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 12, 2005

Thank you Mr. Fleming for making this school a better and safer school for our children, teachers & staff. He seems to really care about making positive changes for everyone. Our school still needs funds from the state and the GESD to improve the quality of our school. Bici North needs to rebuild a bigger cafeteria with a bigger auditorium/theatre so that the staff and students do not have to meet outside on the basketball court for school assemblies, etc. The school needs better school equipment and more extracurricular activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2005

Academics were very low at this school. My children did not learn much. Teachers were very caring however.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
0%

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 78% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
0%

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2014.

2014

 
 
41%

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
53%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
61%
Science

The state average for Science was 58% in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
43%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

2014

 
 
46%

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
47%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
70%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2014.

2014

 
 
42%

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
50%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2014.

2014

 
 
41%

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
64%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2014.

2014

 
 
73%

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
82%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

2014

 
 
42%

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
42%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
43%

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 86% in 2014.

2014

 
 
78%

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
74%
Science

2014

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
40%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2014.

2014

 
 
39%

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
45%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
67%
Science

The state average for Science was 63% in 2014.

2014

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
61%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing Plus".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 81% 43%
White 10% 42%
Black 6% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 85%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (623) 848-6133

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7237 W Missouri Avenue
Glendale, AZ 85303
Website: Click here
Phone: (623) 237-4000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Coyote Ridge
Glendale, AZ


Camelback Academy
Glendale, AZ




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT