Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Cactus High School

Public | 9-12 | 1399 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

33 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 5, 2006

Great school because of great teachers who are always willing to help. There is nothing truly remarkable about alot of the qualities of the school, they're all simply a little above average. When it comes to what effects your student most though, the teachers themselves, I've never experianced better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2006

This is a great school where the students can learn and the teachers are excellent.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 8, 2006

Well rounded, but good grades don't necessarily equate to preparation for college.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2005

Its a great school. My child loved it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 2, 2004

My daughter graduated from this school in 2000. They are very college oriented. I found the administration very easy to work with. They were helpful and seemed to be genuinely interested in their students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2004

My son is enrolled at Cactus High and enjoys it very much the teachers, staff, etc. are very helpful and provide excellent coaching, and teaching to this high school students. My son will be graduating in the fall of '2005' and I couldn't be happier that his days were enjoyable as well as worth it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2004

Mrs. Cunningham is a great principal and all the students are friendly.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 17, 2003

The faculty at Cactus High School bends over backwards to meet the needs of students. Students can expect to receive a quality education and be involved in activities that are led by solid professionals. The school consistently ranks as one of the best in the area academically, athletically, and in all other activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2003

I am a former student who graduated in 1980 with the first graduating class. I thoroughly enjoyed my 2 years at Cactus. I miss some of my teachers and think of them often. One of them was Ms. Pittman. She was an awesome teacher. And I remember when Mr. Huber was principal there. Paula Carpenter (formerly Paula A. Coronado)Class of 1980


Posted May 21, 2003

I have two children that attended Cactus. Both children are very bright. One child is very easy going and wants to do well, and does. The other child has ADD that was undiagnosed in the child's early years at Cactus. Even after diagnosis the teachers in the school just gave up on a very bright student.


Posted April 3, 2003

Please keep an open campus for the school lunch! These kids have earned it to be trusted! Thank you for your time!


Posted October 15, 2002

Sometimes communication could be better between the school and parent.


Posted October 15, 2002

I have two kids that attend Cactus. I have been so impressed by the ""no-nonsense"" approach that Cactus has consistantly displayed. They are focused on educating their student body and providing a safe environment in which the students can learn. I also appreciate the friendliness of the office staff and the encouragement that my kids have received there. Keep up the good work!!


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

331 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

330 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
85%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2013.

331 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 69% 42%
Hispanic 22% 43%
Black 4% 5%
Two or more races 3% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 33%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Nurse(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
Fax number
  • (623) 412-5020

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Special education coordinator
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
Girls sports
  • Badminton
  • Basketball
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6330 West Greenway
Glendale, AZ 85306
Website: Click here
Phone: (623) 412-5000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT