Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
43 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 52 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Deer Valley High School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted December 15, 2015
- a student
There are some amazing teachers in the language arts department who have shown a true interest in their students and helping them succeed through high school and beyond, which can be extremely uplifting in the otherwise negative demeanor of the school .

Deer Valley High School 2

Posted December 15, 2015
- a student
With a practically incompetent administration, and usually below par staff (excluding the language arts and math departments), this is not a place I would recommend anyone send their child to. There are very few redeeming qualities that can brighten the true arrogance shown by people who are supposed to be regarded as adults.


Deer Valley High School 3

Posted October 16, 2014
- a parent
I have three Graduates from Deer Valley High School and One Junior. It seems that every time I go into the school and am addressed by the Receptionist I feel as if I have been sent back to 9th grade. There is NO service skills they speak to an adult like they are a child. I am absolutely discussed every time I leave that building. I can be picking up early or signing in it never changes always leave there feeling degraded.

Deer Valley High School 5

Posted October 08, 2013
- a teacher
The teachers are excellent. The students are well behaved and respectful. The administrators are hard working and caring. The staff are friendly and wonderfully kind.

Deer Valley High School 4

Posted December 14, 2012
- a student
Deer Valley high school is a wonderful school with great teachers and a diversity of students. The school is extremely family oriented as many of the current teachers went to Deer Valley themselves. AP and duel credit programs are offered as a head start to achieving college credits and a variety of clubs and artistic classes are offered. I'm a sophomore this year.


Deer Valley High School 5

Posted January 31, 2012
- a community member
We are thinking of buying a house here and would like to know if there are gates or metal detectors at the entrance of the schools?

Deer Valley High School 5

Posted May 20, 2011
- a student
I have spent a total of two years so far at this school, and I don't regret it one bit. Teachers give so much of their spare time to make sure their students are understanding the lessons and nearly all of them help with a sport or sponsor a club. Fellow students treat each other nicely, and there are never any fights. In comparison to the other schools in the district, this school has no drug problems. Except all of my peers are slackers, so the only way to get a class that is guaranteed to be focused for learning is an honors class. Nothing against the teachers, though. I can't wait to come back as a junior next year.

Deer Valley High School 1

Posted April 15, 2011
- a parent
I have to say that when it comes to children with disabilities they are not very helpful or knowledgeable unless you go in with a great team who knows the in an outs of what your child or childern are intitled to or not intitled to you are pretty much thrown under the bus literally...so i got myself a great IEP team and had my childern get what they deserve.


Deer Valley High School 4

Posted April 14, 2011
- a parent
I have 3 kids that are either going or have graduated from this school, all with a wide range of abilities... Special Ed., Reg. Ed and Advance. I truly feel confident about this school and their main focus, teaching our kids. I have a sports child and one, well not so much. The sports kept my daughter focused on her grades and the teachers helped out wonderfully. My son is having a different take in high school and has gotten into a little trouble. Both issues were resolved in a manner appropriate to the issue and with true concern from the staff. While not all teachers are the best (one spanish teacher just needs to retire), the majority of the teachers are there is to aid in my childs success. I have been very happy with DVHS from all aspects.

Deer Valley High School 5

Posted February 23, 2010
- a parent
Deer Valley is an outstanding school with high academic standards and quality teachers!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Deer Valley High School
18424 N. 51st Ave., Glendale, AZ  85308
(602) 467-6700
Last modified Deer Valley High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Deer Valley High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 52 reviews. Top