Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Desert Sage Elementary School

Public | PK-6 | 642 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

34 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 10, 2006

We are new to this school, after having our children in another school for 7 years. The difference has been like night and day! One of the first things we noticed was the principal involvement. You always see him around! One of the most impressive things I have seen him do was working along with some kids that were out cleaning up the school yard. I don't know if it was anything to do with discipline, but no matter what, he had a broom in his hands and was working with them. As a parent, that act alone won him over for me! Another note, I find that the teachers are top-notch and the school is doing well academically and I think their programs are helping to turn out 'good kids' who are well rounded!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2005

My child completed Kindergarten and had a very positive year at Desert Sage. The atmosphere was caring and conducive to learning. We can't wait to start 1st Grade now.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2005

My son just finished Kindergarten and the Kindergarten Enrichment program. His Kindergarten teacher was wonderful to the children, had a very creative curriculum and was easy to talk to. He couldn't wait to go to school every day. The Enrichment program teachers are wonderful and worked with the other teacher to help his development. This school has a before/after school program that is good as well. My son prefers to go to Gecko Corral rather than his other options. This says a lot about the teachers. I was a volunteer chaperone for the kindergarten class' year end trip to the zoo and there were 15 other parents for our teacher! I want to thank the teachers and staff for making my son's first year at Desert Sage a wonderful one. He is looking forward to 1st grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2005

My son has been a student at Desert Sage since 2nd grade. Before that time, we sent him to a private, Christian school in the valley. We were spending a great deal of money every month and he seemed to be having many problems. The teachers told us he was an 'average' student with some 'minor' behavioral problems. Since he has been attending Desert Sage, he has excelled! He just finished the 5th grade, and received straight A'2 the entire year! His teachers have been wonderful to him and a joy for us to work with. He received many honors this year, and the last two, not only for his grades, but for his wonderful attitude and many talents. I have nothing but kudos to give to Desert Sage. They saw in my son what we always knew was there, a beautiful, smart child with a great outlook on life!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2005

My daughter is completing grade 1 at desert sage. I have had nothing but positive experiences! her teachers have been caring, and have really brought her out of her shell. She has been encouraged to get out of her comfort zone, and has had significant social and academic development. I love this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2005

Parent envolvement is great. Academics is not the highest I have had my children in.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2004

Desert Sage Elementary is an average school. If you want a feel-good, politically correct school this is the place for your children. Keep in mind that this school is a latex-free campus because one student has some type of allergy to anything made with rubber. Your child will not be allowed to use sports equipment common in other elementary schools, such as basketballs, footballs, kickballs, etc., but they can always just hang-out and talk with their friends.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 2, 2004

After 7 years (K-6), I can say I am glad we chose this school. The principal and staff have always been child-oriented while keeping parents informed. Some teachers have a more personal agenda, but for the most part, they are genuine and concerned. As with most schools, I believe that the more involved one is, the more your child benefits. Desert Sage is no exception. PTA, Volunteer, PAL program, CIT...I've done them all. Time consuming, yes. Worth it...of course. My child benefited the most. After school day care was wonderful too. The Gecko Corral is run by caring and decent people who love children. I'm glad we came here. Very sad to leave.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2004

Desert sage is excellent! I am very happy with how the school is run. The teachers are incredible and are very interested in each and every student. A+
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2003

I am a single father that has a son attending Desert Sage. I feel strongly that the school has added to his stature. The teachers and staff are wonderful. Let us not forget that the Teachers and Staff cannot do this alone. We as parents must be involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2003

I have three children at Desert sage and to say my children's lives have been enhanced by the quality of a Desert Sage education is putting it mildly. The principal is passionate about every child in Desert Sage. There is a very small turn over of teachers. When teachers leave, it is mainly for pregnancy and to care for their new babies. This to me speaks volumes for the administration of Desert sage. Teachers love to be at this school which is full of passion for educating kids.When I am old and gray I will always remember my kids teachers and the passion for learning that they instilled in my children. Ms.Gearhart is one of the most dedicated teachers on the face of this earth. Ms. Hughes makes learning fun and Ms. Ekstrom is a wonderful way to finish 6th grade and prepare for 7th grade.If Desert sage had a cheer leading squad I would be the first to join! I love Desert Sage and appreciate the teachers, office employees, and even the maintance people are dedicated!


Posted April 1, 2003

A few years ago I taught at Desert Sage. I've taught at four different schools and I have seen the difference! Desert Sage has awesome teachers that give 110%. The teachers there either give it there all...or teach somewhere else. I'm home with my kids for a few years, but if I went back into teaching...I'd head straight for Desert Sage. If you're looking for a great school...you've found it!


Posted March 27, 2003

Every year my 4th grader has gone to Desert Sage, his teacher keeps getting better and better. He has Mrs. Messina and I think she is one of the best teachers DS has.


Posted March 23, 2003

The teachers appear to be experienced and the reputation of the school overall is very good. However we experienced a problem with the orginization of the Kindergarten program in two ways. Initially we were placed on a waiting list for all day Kindergarten and before/after school care. We are full-time working parents so this posed a huge problem for us. Once positions did open we were not informed by the school as promised but by chance with calling the school on our own. And finally, for spring break parents were not informed that child care would not be provided until the Friday BEFORE the break was scheduled. Thus,I believe the orginization of the Kindergarten program is bad and needs to be revised to better serve the parents and children attending Desert Sage.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
74%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
56%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
77%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
74%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
92%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Highly Performing".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 77% 42%
Hispanic 14% 43%
Two or more races 3% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
Black 2% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 19%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4035 W. Alameda
Glendale, AZ 85310
Website: Click here
Phone: (623) 445-5000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Atonement Lutheran
Glendale, AZ


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT