Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Desert Sage Elementary School

Public | PK-6 | 655 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

34 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted yesterday

Desert Sage has a wonderful warm family feel that you don't get at other schools. The special education team is phenomenal and so is the gifted program (I have children in both). The teachers are very caring and so is the Principal and the office staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2014

My son was diagnosed with ADD and he is currently on a behavior plan that seems to be working wonders for him in the classroom.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 23, 2013

I currently have 4 children attending Desert Sage and have been very impressed with how optimistic the staff is towards the children. The Principal knows most of the children by name. My kids are challenged in the classroom, and when I have felt something is lacking, the teachers have been great about challenging them more.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2013

My daughter attended Desert Sage for 7 years. When she started school she was a struggling reader. By the time she was ready to leave Desert Sage as a middle school student with the help and support of the teachers at Desert Sage she was in "Sage" or gifted classes. She is now in high school and is in all honors classes with a straight A average. The staff and students at Desert Sage are amazing!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2013

Desert Sage Elementary is just the Best. My children have all gone through Desert Sage and are now successful, caring, hard-working , amazing adults with great careers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2013

Desert Sage is a huge family. The students are vey happy. The staff enjoy woking at this school.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 12, 2013

Caring and nurturing environment! Everyone strives for better without forgetting the emotional needs of children. They missed the A rating by one point. Neighboring school (who got an A) was only one point away. Special Ed, general ed and Gifted students will flourish with the teachers and staff here. Everyone works to meet the needs of ALL the students. "Read between the lines" if you see any negative posts toward this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2013

I am so proud to be a teacher and a parent of children that OPEN ENROLL at Desert Sage. I feel supported by the administration, and confident that my children are getting a superior education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2012

If I could give this school 0 starts I would. My child was a student there but I took him out after 2 1/2 miserable years. This was my second child going through this school. My first child was an excellent student and is currently at another school in the honors program. When she had a problem with a teacher I felt it was best to go work it out. The teacher told me "I don't get paid enough money to deal with parents like you.". I had he moved to another classroom. This school also uses seclusion and restraint as punishment and either underreports or fails to report it all together. Education was the last thing that happened for my youngest there. The Principal is inexperienced and leans on the district staff to solve her problems. Many kids moved out of there on a variance just like we did. Neighboring Stetson Hills can't take any more of them or Desert Sage might have even less students. Don't send your kids here if you have a choice!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2010

We have had a great year at Desert Sage. It's a wonderful and kind learning environment. Parents are a huge part of the school community. It's been a wonderful experience and we look forward to another great year next year.


Posted December 18, 2009

Desert Sage is a caring, nurturing school where the kids flourish. The morning announcements are done by the students each morning and shown in each room on the televisions. I find it funny that the previous parent said that the principal is heard over the intercom every morning. This is absolutely untrue. I also can't imagine what she is talking about when it comes to the curriculum. My children have excelled at this school, and I have never seen any of the things that she mentioned. My son has homework each night, but is also given time to work on it at the end of the school day in class. He was reading leaving kindergarten and all of his teachers have been amazing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2009

Kindergarten at Desert Sage is a joke! Who ever heard of baby blocks as part of the curriculum? And the snacks they try to feed the kids are in poor nutritional taste. They are dumbing down the kids even before they get a chance at learning anything. It gets worse, as my other child was in the higher grades, he never got homework! They didn't finish teaching him the whole lesson plans because according to the teacher, the class was unruly. I found that most of the kids there unruly, out of control and very disrespectful. It comes to no surprise since the Principal can be heard yelling at the kids over the intercom every morning. Way to get the day started Mrs. Crain. The environment is not of learning but of chaos. Teachers are just buying their time. If you want your kids to succeed in life, get them out!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2009

I love this school. We got an exception to attend here because I didnt want to put my child in to Constitution.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2008

We started kindergarten in a different school in the area and it was NOT a good experience so we switched to Desert Sage for 1st and what a turn around. Little disappointed with this year (2nd) and the changes being made by the new principle but we Love our teachers, they make all the difference
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2008

Desert Sage has bent over backward to help each child be successful. My daughter loves her school. I've observed all the teachers and staff do what ever thay can do help the children learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2008

What a horrible experience it was to start my son in kindegarten at Desert Sage last year. My son was diagnosed w/ADHD early in the year and we received little to no support from his teachers and administration. We were told repeatedly that 'he wasn't the only boy in the class with problems and it's just too hard to manage.'
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2007

I have 5 children who have attended schools in PVUSD and DVUSD and also charter schools through out the years (my oldest is 19 youngest schooler is 7 yrs,) This is by far the best elementary school any of them have attended yet! I wish I would have found it before my older children went off to higher grades. I love it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2006

Excellent School. My son has gone here for 3 years. The Special Ed classes and the teachers (Mc Cashier)were great. He has grown since going to DS. Principle always involved/talking with the kids. I would highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2006

Awesome teachers. We will be moving this next year but I am very reluctant to changing schools!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2006

Excellent by all standards. This school has excellent teachers and offers wonderful programs for the students including a well run afterschool and summer program. It says alot when staff from the afterschool and summer program get degrees and become teachers at the school. What great stability for the students. The teachers moving up with the kids(5th to 6th grade) etc. is great and what a great way to continue a successful learning situation.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
74%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
56%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
77%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
74%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
92%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Highly Performing".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 74% 42%
Hispanic 16% 42%
Black 3% 5%
Two or more races 3% 1%
Asian 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 16%N/A46%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4035 W. Alameda
Glendale, AZ 85310
Website: Click here
Phone: (623) 445-4700

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Atonement Lutheran
Glendale, AZ


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT