Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Desert Sky Middle School

Public | 7-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 21, 2011

DSMS is the school that prepares middle school students to be successful their future. The curriculum is rigorous and meaningful and prepares these young students with the tools needed for the 21st century.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2011

Desert Sky is a great place for students to take the next step in there way to the future. I am happy to live in an area that requires students to move into a middle school versus K-8 and happy that Desert Sky is the school. The teachers and staff members give the students the opportunity to learn and grow both academically and personally. It's a great school to prepare kids for the future rigor of high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2011

Desert Sky Middle School is a great place for student learning. We are happy to be able to send our second child to DSMS. The teachers and staff provide students with the confidence to move into a high school setting. Our oldest son went on to high school with the knowledge and confidence needed, thanks to the education he received while at DSMS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2011

Desert Sky Middle School is a great place to learn! Teachers and staff believe that ALL students can learn and support the needs of every child.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 17, 2009

My son is very happy at Desert Sky, loves his teachers, etc. My only complaint is, also, the busing..my son has to ride his bike across 2 major intersections, 43rd ave and 51st ave, because we are 1 block outside of the 'approved' busing area..the bus stop is 4 houses away from mine, it is complete idiocy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2009

Don't judge a book by it's cover- This school isn't as nice on the outside as some newer schools in the district, but accademically it is a really good school. They could use a little more remodeling to make the outside look a bit attractive, but all in all it is a good school, and my kids have been very happy here. The only gripe I have with this school, and most schools in the deer valley school system is the busing problem. My child who is an 8th grader has to walk well over a mile to school. There really needs to be more buses in the school district, just for safety reasons. The last school she was at in deer valley the k-6 graders at some schools can take the bus, but not the 7th and 8th graders.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2006

They're academic program is very good. My Daughter enjoyed her 2 yrs in the Grizzly core. They have a variety of exploratories and after school sports. The teachers are really involved. Parents enjoy sports and music programs.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 4, 2006

I would not suggest this school, until some changes are made with the administration (Principle, Asst. Principle.)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2006

This school has no order, organization or accountability for their students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2006

Our third child is an 8th grader, followed two older siblings through. PE dept has always been great but sports teams have gone downhill over last few years, lots of turnover in coaches. Academically all of our kids have done well, DSMS prepared them for HS and college. Recent loss of longtime top notch principal and key faculty and rumored loss of more key faculty means the replacements will have to prove themselves.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2006

Not enough teacher/parent communication.... Less than happy with the P.E. program- Some teachers are 'immature' and act more like one of the students than a teacher....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 1, 2006

Poor math teachers. Sports are so, so. Music sounds great, teacher .... not involved with parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 18, 2005

No parent involvment; strict unfair teachers; horrible sports teams.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 6, 2005

This school has done more than I would expect to help my son succeed in his education. The music program is second to none.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2005

Great School... Great Teachers... Great Counselors... Great Music Program
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2005

I'm trying to read the reviews. I've given a review for two other schools. My child will be going to this school starting this year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2005

I have an ADHD child who is currently between his 7th and 8th grade school years. He was helped tremendously by his core teachers. They provided frequent contacts to me, both positive and negative information. They seemed to have my child's best interest always as a priority. The curriculum was challenging for him, but I was given information and ways to help him.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 29, 2003

My stepdaughter started attending Desert Sky after spending time in remedial classes before coming to live with us. During her 2 years at DS she was on the honor roll, student council, chorus, cheerleading, had wonderful and meaningful classes, and much more. I wish we didn't move from this district.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

340 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

340 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
79%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

338 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
71%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

339 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

339 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Highly Performing".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 66% 42%
Hispanic 23% 43%
Black 4% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
Two or more races 3% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 34%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Tutor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (602) 467-6580

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Tutor(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Softball
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5130 West Grovers Avenue
Glendale, AZ 85308
Website: Click here
Phone: (623) 445-5000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT