Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
7-8
Public
Glendale, AZ
Students enrolled: 740

4 stars
Based on 22 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


24 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Desert Sky Middle School 2

Posted November 06, 2014
- a parent
Teachers are amazing, however the front office staff is rude, cold and dismissive of parents. They are fully uncooperative, judgmental and yet hold no education or qualifications to be working anywhere outside an low assistant position. They judge working parents and condescend and outcast parents that they do not like. The staff shows more cattiness and immaturity than the students they are supposedly mentoring and teaching. The administration is complacent and to get anything resolved parents have to force and advocate for their children at an extreme level. The superintendent shuts a blind eye to issues and hides any issues to keep the fa ade of the Vail School District at high levels - however it is only a fa ade. If the teachers could have more power and there was less overhead and power struggles from lowly admins and more desire for greatness from administration this school would be amazing. The only reason to go to DSMS is for the teachers as long as you can remain very distant from administration and the rudeness of the front desk staff and health office.

Desert Sky Middle School 5

Posted August 21, 2011
- a parent
DSMS is the school that prepares middle school students to be successful their future. The curriculum is rigorous and meaningful and prepares these young students with the tools needed for the 21st century.


Desert Sky Middle School 5

Posted August 21, 2011
- a parent
Desert Sky is a great place for students to take the next step in there way to the future. I am happy to live in an area that requires students to move into a middle school versus K-8 and happy that Desert Sky is the school. The teachers and staff members give the students the opportunity to learn and grow both academically and personally. It's a great school to prepare kids for the future rigor of high school.

Desert Sky Middle School 5

Posted August 21, 2011
- a parent
Desert Sky Middle School is a great place for student learning. We are happy to be able to send our second child to DSMS. The teachers and staff provide students with the confidence to move into a high school setting. Our oldest son went on to high school with the knowledge and confidence needed, thanks to the education he received while at DSMS.

Desert Sky Middle School 5

Posted August 20, 2011
- a teacher
Desert Sky Middle School is a great place to learn! Teachers and staff believe that ALL students can learn and support the needs of every child.


Desert Sky Middle School 5

Posted January 29, 2010
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Desert Sky Middle School 0
no rating

Posted November 17, 2009
- a parent
My son is very happy at Desert Sky, loves his teachers, etc. My only complaint is, also, the busing..my son has to ride his bike across 2 major intersections, 43rd ave and 51st ave, because we are 1 block outside of the 'approved' busing area..the bus stop is 4 houses away from mine, it is complete idiocy.

Desert Sky Middle School 0
no rating

Posted August 05, 2009
- a parent
Don't judge a book by it's cover- This school isn't as nice on the outside as some newer schools in the district, but accademically it is a really good school. They could use a little more remodeling to make the outside look a bit attractive, but all in all it is a good school, and my kids have been very happy here. The only gripe I have with this school, and most schools in the deer valley school system is the busing problem. My child who is an 8th grader has to walk well over a mile to school. There really needs to be more buses in the school district, just for safety reasons. The last school she was at in deer valley the k-6 graders at some schools can take the bus, but not the 7th and 8th graders.


Desert Sky Middle School 5

Posted May 08, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Desert Sky Middle School 5

Posted June 18, 2006
- a former student
They're academic program is very good. My Daughter enjoyed her 2 yrs in the Grizzly core. They have a variety of exploratories and after school sports. The teachers are really involved. Parents enjoy sports and music programs.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Desert Sky Middle School
5130 West Grovers Avenue, Glendale, AZ  85308
(623) 445-5000
Last modified Desert Sky Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 7-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Desert Sky Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 24 reviews. Top