Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
27 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 36 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Desert Sky Middle School 5

Posted October 30, 2015
- a community member
The teachers and principal really care about the kids! We love Desert Sky Middle School!

Desert Sky Middle School 5

Posted October 26, 2015
- a parent
My second daughter is now attending Desert Sky and I am still pleased! My first was in advanced classes and was challenged all year. I was impressed (coming from a Charter Elementary School, I wondered if she would be bored... she was not). Desert Sky prepared my now Freshmen, very well for H.S. My 2nd daughter is the opposite of my first and has to work very hard to get good grades. Desert Sky has challenged her as well and also given extra help when needed. Math has been challenging, and her teacher seems very fair. The kids are able to do corrections and practice work, and offered tutoring in the mornings. If they have done those things, they have been able to re-test. I feel like math is really important to "understand" so you can be successful in the next chapters, units and classes and her teacher has allowed the students to make sure they really understand the material. I really feel like they prepare kids and help them understand they are not elementary children anymore. They are learning to be responsible young adults and ready for H.S. by the end of 8th grade. We all have our challenges with some subjects, or teachers or staff, but overall I have been very impressed! Thanks.


Desert Sky Middle School 5

Posted April 30, 2015
- a parent
This is a great school. Teachers are wonderful and caring, front office staff are great.

Desert Sky Middle School 2

Posted November 06, 2014
- a parent
Teachers are amazing, however the front office staff is rude, cold and dismissive of parents. They are fully uncooperative, judgmental and yet hold no education or qualifications to be working anywhere outside an low assistant position. They judge working parents and condescend and outcast parents that they do not like. The staff shows more cattiness and immaturity than the students they are supposedly mentoring and teaching. The administration is complacent and to get anything resolved parents have to force and advocate for their children at an extreme level. The superintendent shuts a blind eye to issues and hides any issues to keep the fa ade of the Vail School District at high levels - however it is only a fa ade. If the teachers could have more power and there was less overhead and power struggles from lowly admins and more desire for greatness from administration this school would be amazing. The only reason to go to DSMS is for the teachers as long as you can remain very distant from administration and the rudeness of the front desk staff and health office.

Desert Sky Middle School 5

Posted December 08, 2012
- a parent
Excellent staff and students. They have wonderful extra curricular activities, with more than stellar grades, student, and staff. LOVE,LOVE,LOVE!!!


Desert Sky Middle School 5

Posted August 21, 2011
- a parent
DSMS is the school that prepares middle school students to be successful their future. The curriculum is rigorous and meaningful and prepares these young students with the tools needed for the 21st century.

Desert Sky Middle School 5

Posted August 21, 2011
- a parent
Desert Sky is a great place for students to take the next step in there way to the future. I am happy to live in an area that requires students to move into a middle school versus K-8 and happy that Desert Sky is the school. The teachers and staff members give the students the opportunity to learn and grow both academically and personally. It's a great school to prepare kids for the future rigor of high school.

Desert Sky Middle School 5

Posted August 21, 2011
- a parent
Desert Sky Middle School is a great place for student learning. We are happy to be able to send our second child to DSMS. The teachers and staff provide students with the confidence to move into a high school setting. Our oldest son went on to high school with the knowledge and confidence needed, thanks to the education he received while at DSMS.


Desert Sky Middle School 5

Posted August 20, 2011
- a teacher
Desert Sky Middle School is a great place to learn! Teachers and staff believe that ALL students can learn and support the needs of every child.

Desert Sky Middle School
no rating

Posted November 17, 2009
- a parent
My son is very happy at Desert Sky, loves his teachers, etc. My only complaint is, also, the busing..my son has to ride his bike across 2 major intersections, 43rd ave and 51st ave, because we are 1 block outside of the 'approved' busing area..the bus stop is 4 houses away from mine, it is complete idiocy.

Nearby schools

Desert Sky Middle School
5130 West Grovers Ave, Glendale, AZ  85308
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 36 reviews. (623) 445-5000
Last modified Desert Sky Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 7-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top