Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Desert Valley Elementary School

Public | K-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 6 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

26 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 27, 2014

This is, by far, the BEST school any of my children have attended! The warm feeling when you walk in is AWESOME - those front office ladies are THE BEST!! Teachers go above and beyond to help students and parents. The administration is very helpful too! (Administrators are quite busy but will always return a call, respond to email, or you can schedule an appointment to speak with them directly.) I love that it is a smaller school then most others, that gives it a real "community feeling". Desert Valley gets an A+ EXCELLENT rating from me!!! Thank you for taking care of my child and helping him be the best he can be. He finished 8th grade now but I will continue to tell others how awesome DV is! Now to address some of the negative reviews: I know that a few people have had bully issues, it happens everywhere, but more often then not it is because their child never speaks up! (There are state mandated rules and guidelines that must be followed before a student can be kicked out of a school for bullying - One report is not enough. One report gets the bully suspended but repeated offenses are dealt with harshly at DV.)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2014

We transferred our child to the school after friends recommended it to us. Bullying is prevalent at the school and no one seems to do anything about it. When bullying is reported both the bully and the student victim receive the same punishment. There is little or no supervision during lunch in the cafeteria on the playground or during PE. The way in which some of the special ed teachers speak to the younger students is disgusting. I would recommend homeschooling before I ever recommended the school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2014

An excellent school which I recommend to all people I know , amazing staff the front office , principal and teachers . My son was behind in reading and now he is a realy good reader . Special thanks to his teacher mrs Watson and the reading specialist mrs rose .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2014

This is a great school. I cant for the the IB program to start, I hope the are accepted.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2014

Desert Valley. There has been issues with this school for sometime. The acedemics are fine but concern over students is quite poor. My child has been alienated from the class they were assigned due to learning disability. Unwilling to understand and take the time to help, my child has been trying to get out of school by going to the nurse. I have moved them out of this school and they have improved greatly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2014

I definitely could not recommend this school based on our experiences. We switched our 4th grader to this school on glowing recommendations from parents whose children had attended Desert Valley throughout their elementary years. The teacher's method is not age-appropriate and does not accommodate those who may need a little extra help to grasp a concept. Our child has became discouraged and developed a very uncaring attitude towards schoolwork, which had not been a problem previously. This staff displayed a total lack of concern when we attempted to switch our child to the only other 4th grade class. We were told there were 3 kids ahead of us who had requested transfers to the other class. At last count, 4 children have transferred out, and our child wasn't one of them. This whole school year has been a struggle and could have gone much better if the school had addressed some obvious problems sooner.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2013

I give this school an A+ rating. The teachers and all other staff members are great. They listen to my children and I when we are having issues and are very nurturing. If they do not have answers they find the information for me. I have two children with learning disabilities and the teachers are very patient and very caring. I have older children that went to a different school. By far DESERT VALLEY is the best.


Posted March 18, 2013

My son attends Desert Valley Elementary School and has since Kindergarten. The Admin, Teachers and Staff here are AMAZING - they are some of the most helpful and friendly I have ever met! They truly care about kids and know the children by name. I love how they are always eager to assist me no matter what the issue is. VERY pleased with this school!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2012

We wanted to give this school a chance and tried for several years, but we were continually let down. The same rules were not enforced for everyone. Communication was very poor. Supervision on the buses was practically nonexistent. Bullying was prevalent. When I complained about the bullying I was told that it was partly my child's fault for being too sensitive. Really? Really? That was the go to remark for not stopping bullying? It also seemed that learning at this school took a back seat to getting butts in the seats for funding. I would run, not walk, to almost any other school in, or even out, of the area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2011

I couldn't be happier. My son has been at Desert Valley K - 3rd so far and WOW the teachers have been amazing. The staff/parent support in this school is beyond measure. Keep up the great work teaching / loving our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2010

Awesome school. I love the teachers and academically they are right on.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2009

This an absolute wonderful school. The teachers and staff are great. Very thriving environment for children, with the motto of accepting individuals and recognizing that every child has different gifts and talents. Your not going to find this in many schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2008

If your child has any special learning needs, the teachers will give passing grades to the child w/o making sure the child really knows the material. Unfortunately, the administration (and consequently the teachers) of this school care more about their rankings, status, and image than their students actually learning something.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2008

Everyone at the school, teachers counselors, principal, etc. are extremely helpful and take an interest in my child's academic and personal well being. He has excelled at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2008

I enrolled my daughter in Desert Valley after a negative 2nd grade experience with an east valley charter school and an unsuccessful attempt at home schooling. Her confidence level and self esteem were both very low, and her academic skills were considerably behind. Her third grade teacher at Desert Valley has been such a blessing! He not only met her at her own level academically, but also displays a tremendous level of sensitivity toward her past experiences and who she is as a person. The school reading specialist is working with her daily and has been very encouraging. Communication with her teachers is ongoing and excellent, and my daughter s confidence and academic skill level grows daily. The other children openly welcomed her into the class and are very supportive. This school and its wonderful teachers have exceeded my expectations; I feel very fortunate to have her here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2007

I absolutely love this school! The staff, the district, curriculum, activities, location. This school has it all. I'm so grateful that my daughter attends here in Mrs. McCluer's first grade class. My daughter has intellectually grown leaps and bounds this school year. I'm so proud of her and owe it all to the dedication of the staff and faculty at Desert Valley! Thanks again for planting the seed for love of education and learning that will last her a lifetime.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2006

Both of my children have attended Desert Valley. I think it has a caring and educated staff. I wouldn't want my children to have attended anyother schoool, but if they had to it would be in the Peoria District.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2006

We specifically chose to move into this neighborhood after researching and visiting several schools. It's only been 1 semester, but so far, we haven't been disappointed. We've found the community to be welcoming. Our sons' teachers (1st & 3rd grades) have both been great. I appreciate that teachers and administrators are very aware about any special needs a student may have. We've received lots of support and willingness to try new tactics to help our son in the classroom. Parent involvement seems about average for a public school, I'm surprised more parents don't attend the PTSA meetings. Haven't been here long enough to comment on extracurricular activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2006

This is a wonderful school! All the staff here have been great and my children love going here. They get good grades and are smart yet the school challenges them from where ever they are at at the time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2005

Excellent K-4th grade teachers. Not as happy with 5th and higher teachers Overall good school Would like to see more teacher/principal/parent unity.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
89%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
74%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
83%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
74%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
64%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
84%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Highly Performing".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 64% 42%
Hispanic 24% 43%
Black 7% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
Two or more races 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 41%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Nurse(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Arts & music

Music
  • Band

Language learning

Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (623) 412-4755

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Football
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Softball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

12901 N 63rd Ave
Glendale, AZ 85304
Website: Click here
Phone: (623) 486-6000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


The Aces
Peoria, AZ



Copperwood School
Glendale, AZ


Peoria Ecampus
Peoria, AZ



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT