Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-8
Public
Glendale, AZ
Students enrolled: 710

3 stars
Based on 31 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


31 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Discovery School 4

Posted October 27, 2013
- a parent
I've waited a while to find teachers like these at Discovery! A big thumbs up to 2nd grades Miss Willemott! Discovery could use ALOT more school spirit and activities/programs. It was at least a month and a half into the school year before a PTO was assembled. The front office could use some work. But it is the best school by far, in Glendale, because of the teachers.

Discovery School 3

Posted July 18, 2013
- a community member
I feel like since I just left discover after being a student there for 9 years I should be able to comment on it. So let me start with the fact that I was bullied straight and all of my 7th grade year, serious bullying and NO ONE noticed, so that annoyed me because it was pretty obvious. Second, I liked most of my core teachers and they were good at what they did except one of them but she is not a teacher any more anyways so no biggy, but I had huge issues with the specials teachers. Most of them hated the 8th grade and some of them were just not the best teachers. Also the principal is not helpful, he is like an annoying shadow for some of the teachers and he doesn't trust the 8th grade at all! One time he blamed our 8th grade class for stealing his pen and made everyone empty and check their backpacks, guess where they found the stupid pen. IN A FIRST GRADE CLASS, he dropped it but wouldn't believe the 8th graders. So no I don't like the school that much but they got me where I needed to be and my core teachers were great. They really helped me out whenever I needed them and they pushed me when I needed it.


Discovery School 1

Posted July 15, 2013
- a parent
I totally agree we need a new leader. The kids are very rude the way they talk to one another is horrible. If I could I would rate it a 1/3 of a star. My daughter reading was falling a grade behind they really didn't give her one on one or as I feel any attention that's why I had to hold her back one year.The District 40 really has to get together and do some thing about this,but are money is sure is going to the Westgate.

Discovery School 3

Posted July 23, 2010
- a parent
Discoveryl needsa lot of school spirit, students should be involved, encouraged, and recognized. This school has no memorable field trips, they hand out 5x6 pieces of paper congratulating a 1st place winner,(is a ribbon that expensive?) No memos are sent to parents about upcoming activities (staff too lazy or paper too expensive?) Eighth grade grads do not get gown or hat (that's really special to an 8th grader) This school should come together and get involved, including administration. Other school principles and staff are there every morning meeting and greeting parents. Other schools send 7th and 8th graders to Disneyland if they do well. Other schools plan so much to make sure students love their school. Discipline at this school should be stronger and more firm. surprisingly, I did receive a couple of teacher phone calls re: my childs school work, All should pitch in,esp. if PTO needs $.

Discovery School 1

Posted January 11, 2010
- a parent
Teachers do not care at all, students are just a paycheck to them. Chrildren are rude and bullys. No one does anything about them. The schoold is a total joke. I am so sorry i moved to glendale. What a waste of tax payers money.


Discovery School 1

Posted June 02, 2009
- a teacher
This review submitted without content.

Discovery School 1

Posted May 18, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Discovery School 2

Posted May 09, 2009
- a parent
Teachers are great, but they do not get the support they need from administration. Reception is a joke. Very unprofessional, gossiping and loud. It seems like they have too many employees in the front office. Didn't like my first impression. administration is always out of sight.


Discovery School 4

Posted February 26, 2009
- a teacher
As a teacher in Discovery, I feel that the staff is very caring and concerned about students. We really work well together and support each other well. This breeds a good attitude in the school. I think the discipline has improved immensly over the past three years and I feel supported by my administration as well. There are still a few minor details Discovery needs to work on such as the priorities of the teachers. Any dislike I have for the school really comes from the state of Arizona and their new mandates. Really not the school's fault. Check out Discovery if you want to be a part of a great community!

Discovery School 5

Posted December 03, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Discovery School
7910 W Maryland Ave, Glendale, AZ  85303
(623) 237-4000
Last modified Discovery School is a Public school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Discovery School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 31 reviews. Top