Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Glendale American School

Public | PK-8 | 725 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

34 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 31, 2014

Glendale American is an excellent school. Both my children have enjoy the learning experience. My kindergarten looks forward to a wonderful day at school and doesn't like it when it's a holiday. She's always eager to go to school and proud to show what she has learned. For the last five (5) years I have been at the school almost everyday and have not seen or heard any bullying. It is important that the parents be involve in the learning process. I have volunteered once to help with the fundraiser and it was a wonderful experienced. The like the parents coffee talk and the involvement with the principal is excellent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2013

This school is great! Students are polite to adults, and they walk to classes in an orderly fashion. Staff is dedicated to making it a warm and friendly place. They have a "Family Education Center" for parents to go to for morning coffee and get brochures in both english and spanish. Administration works with staff on professional development. Bullying is not tollerated and it is a very safe environment. This school has shown much improvement in parental engagement. What a great place to send you students!


Posted October 30, 2013

My school is a great school because teachers are loving and care about their students. It is a safe place, as it is kept locked to outsiders, and they have a wonderful volunteer screening to work with children. In addition, professional development is ongoing and staff is hard-working. Students are couteous and respectful. I would send my children to this school.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 30, 2013

Don't pay any attention to the recent reviews, I suspect they are staff lying for the school. This school is worse than horrible, bullying is everywhere and I had to pull my child out. I wouldn't send any poor child to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 4, 2012

This is an awful school, fighting/bullying is a huge issue at this school. The principal is more like warden and a very ineffective one at that. So sad I kept my children there for 2 yrs before taking them out. Imagine school at Cortez park on 35th and Dunlap is a good alternative if you are not able to move.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2012

I dont like Glendale School District at all. Classes are over filled, under staffed. Communication with teachers and parents is mostly impossible. Try charter or private over GUSD
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2011

This school has a big bullying problem. There is little to no supervision on the playard. The academics are sub standard. I have finally come to my senses and am pulling mine out!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2010

i think glendale american is nice but there is a lot of bullying and i come home horrible
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 20, 2010

My daughter has been attending this school and we are debating giving it another chance this year or finding her a new one. The homework packets look nothing like the school work she brings home. And you can tell when the state is about to test the school districts because that is when the kids receive very time consuming homework, most of the time with poor instructions. About a month before testing, the packets gain an extra 3 pages as well as a list of 500 words needed to study. My daughter is in the first grade. The work she does in class consists of coloring and counting. There is a huge problem here with the teachers unloading their job onto the parents..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 22, 2009

My children have been attending this school now for a few years, and I'm so disappointed that this school has not had any decent field trips, basicly none!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2009

My children have been attending since preschool. I just recently had an 8th grade graduate. I can honestly say this school has improved this year. The teachers may be young but they make the school day fun. My sons are in the accelerated classes and love their teachers. The communication is there if a parent does their part. The students have agendas and the teachers have an open door policy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2009

The only issue that I would have with the school in general is that I feel it is not as secure as it could be. The visitor passes are a joke and some teachers don't watch the kids as well as they should when walking from one part of the school to another. Many times I see instances of where a child could wander off at any time and the teacher wouldn't know about it. They need to be more careful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2009

Don't enroll your child in this school. After two years of disappointment we are pulling ours out. There is little communication between teachers, administration and parents, and what is communicated is usually incorrect. They spend their days flooded with worksheets and the teachers are so young and inexperienced they are incapable of taking the time to understand individual learning needs. They dont even grade the homework, we just get it back with a lazy star, even though there are obvious errors. The gifted program is more confusing to the kids because they are trying to teach two grade levels at the same time. Plus, if you pick your child up from school in the afternoons be prepared for total chaos as nobody follows any common sense or respect in the parking lot. You wont make it out without wanting to scream!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2009

Things have really changed at this school. The bullying issue has been addressed and son who has a disability really flourished this past year. He was bullied last year but this year the issues was adressed quickly and firmly by his resource teacher. He had a wonderful year academically and made more progress this year than in his past three years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2008

the school has a big bullying problem. and the school seems to be just getting the hang of how many days/hours are in a school year. I think this should have already been handled.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2007

My child has ADHD issues and neither the teachers or the administration really help. If your child does not fit the mold of 'easy' student this school will greatly disappoint you. I now have to pay out of pocket to get a tutor to re-teach my child what should have been taught at this school. Poor teachers and worse administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2007

My son attended this school for 3rd and 4th grade and for the most part the teachers are good at what they do, however, I would have to also say that there are too many kids and not enough eyes. My son is an only child and had his own attention issues, however with so many kids here he had to pick up habits to survive and a lot has to do with lack of parent involvement here; as a result I felt overall that there were too many students to deliver an effective educational curriculum.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2006

I cannot believe how much my son who was in pre-school learned so much in just pre-school! He learned all his colors which I was struggling with him he learned shapes he even learned to write his name alittle! I am very impressed with this school and can't wait to see what he learns in kindergarten!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 25, 2006

Glendale American educated my kindergartener this past school year. I have never been so impressed and proud of what my daughter has accomplished in such a short time. I know that [she] has a positive attitude towards school now because of her wonderful teacher, Mrs. Belangie, and the foundation and structure of education in this elementary school. The staff is fantastic! There were loads of activities and events to include the parent in the educational aspect, and also in the fun. They strongly promote parental involvement. As a single mom, finding the time is hard, but all of the events were fun. I can't wait to have my daughter start back in August!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2006

Glendale American has some of the most caring and professional teachers out there. The learning environments they create are safe and enjoyable for children of all ages.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
35%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
59%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
38%

2010

 
 
41%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
54%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
44%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
54%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
29%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
63%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
38%

2010

 
 
42%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
81%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
38%

2010

 
 
72%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
49%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
81%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
38%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
42%

2010

 
 
53%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
69%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing Plus".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 45% 42%
White 28% 42%
Black 14% 5%
Asian 7% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 4% 6%
Two or more races 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 78%N/A46%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (623) 842-8339

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8530 N 55th Ave
Glendale, AZ 85302
Website: Click here
Phone: (623) 842-8280

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Heritage School
Glendale, AZ


Horizon School
Glendale, AZ





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT