Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Greenbrier Elementary School

Public | PK-6

We are best known for academic/behavioral standards.

 
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 6 ratings
2013:
Based on 17 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 6 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

School Official Point of View

Posted June 20, 2013

The love of learning and a broad course of study creating background knowledge across grade levels (Preschool through 6th grade) are always on display at Greenbrier Core Knowledge Elementary. Artwork is everywhere: both classic examples of fine art and student creations of world masterpieces. Classic pieces of music are shared with our students at every grade. Classrooms and hallways overflow with project posters, dioramas, working models, and historical timelines. The tools of the trade are always in evidence - more like a living museum than anything else - so that our students can experience for themselves how the greatest ideas were first discovered and what these devices look like today: slide rule, abacus, calculator, hourglass, pendulum clock, and a spring loaded watch; and dictionaries, encyclopedias, and maps of every kind. Learning is the fundamental purpose of our school as we partner with our parents for the success of each Greenbrier student. A collaborative culture, creativity, emotional well being, physical fitness, critical thinking, and research based instructional strategies ensure the highest levels of student success. We encourage you to join our school! Jody J. Brammer, Principal Greenbrier Elementary School

45 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 5, 2013

I was very nervous when it came time for my child to start school because I had heard all the rumors about the educational system here in Arizona. So when my husband said he thought we should enroll our child in Greenbrier (and we come here through open enrollment) I was skeptical. But now I can't imagine my child anywhere else. The teachers, the staff, the parents and the community itself have helped our child thrive. My child never complains about going to school because of how much fun he has learning. Greenbrier has a great sense of community and is always striving to make improvements where needed. The teachers have open communication and work hard every day to make the day a creative learning experience. I feel my child is years ahead of others because of the one on one time he has had with his teachers. All the technology in the world can't make the difference that the one on one contact between a student and a teacher can. Greenbrier is an extraordinary school where everyone truly cares about our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2013

Greenbrier is a great school! I choose Greenbrier as our school through open enrollment. I have a first grade son who is absolutely thriving academically! He loves everything about school. He has a teacher who has highly effective classroom management skills, and weekly parent communication regarding curriculum, class work, behavior, and upcoming events. The campus is a beautiful sprawling campus set in a private neighborhood. They implemented a car line for pick up just last year, and it is such a quick, smooth, orderly and safe way to drop off and pick up. I am enjoying the community of parents, kids and staff! I couldn't have picked a better school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2013

Our child has been at Greenbrier since 3 yrs old, starting in PreK and is now in 5th grade. I am thankful most everythng has been POSITIVE from the getgo, which is important for children (and parents). This has instilled a child who loves to learn and loves to go to school. The teachers truly care about the kids, and their job certainly isn't an easy one, dealing with district rules and ever changing new cirriculum, which can be frustrating for everyone. I've read some of the negative comments/reviews and can only assume those are from few that have issues that could be beyond the help and resolution at the school level. Whenever we've had an issue, it was dealt with and there is realization that you can't fix what you don't know is broke, and once they know of issues, they try to fix them. I don't like the car line pick up even though I understand the safety issues (I've seen the way some parents drive and there have been too many "near" misses)! It takes away from parent/event connections. We've been happy at Greenbrier and has been a great school for our child and a great fit. Schools are not a one sizse fits all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2012

We've moved a lot, and this was actually the worst school that our child ever went to. The class was so packed that you could barely breathe. The teacher used a microphone. Special Ed class had more than 20 kids in it. The district psych disqualified my kid from Special Ed, had her jump from doing 2nd grade to 4th grade work, then failed her along all year - straight F's, ok? How was she supposed to "pick up" long division without multiplication? (Now, after much intervention, she's on the honor role at a charter school.) No friends. They wouldn't allow kids to play on the playground before school. When I came to the office one day, a teacher yelled out at my 2 year old boy to go through the right hand door and stay on the path. My kid got detention for reading a book in school - I guess she was supposed to be getting out her notebook - but really? Isn't that a bit, I don't know, military? Last straw? Disgusting boys on bus saying filth to girls. Lots of witnesses, but no help. I went into the office to withdraw her - admin chomping gum couldn't even get up. Since then I've earned a Masters in Special Education, and I'll be 1000x better at my job than they are!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2012

Interesting point of view from the principal. All I can say is, "where have you been the last year or so."
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2011

overall the school is great in all areas. i have two grandchildrenthat attend, i was dissapointed that Kindergarten went to half days but i am sure that she will catch up in first grade. she was very bored, my soon to be 2nd grader loves it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2011

I love working at Greenbrier! I have been at Greenbrier longer than any other school! The reason, I find the Staff to be excellent and wonderful to work with! Everyone cares about making children successful!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 20, 2011

I couldn't be more thrilled with my son's fourth grade experience! I found the teacher to be intutitive, and very motivating for my child. He got him interested in reading again, and made him want to come to go to school everyday!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2011

My son has attended Greenbrier since he was in preschool, and he is getting ready to enter 5th grade. I am very pleased with the progress of his education! I have him in at Greenbrier because I feel it is one of the best schools in the district. I have found all of his teachers to be very caring and strive for excellence. They have high expectations for the children both academically and behaviorally. I want that! I want him to be a polite, productive, and well educated citizen. I feel that Greenbrier is doing a good job helping me do that! I find the teachers, office staff, and principal to be wonderful to work with!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2011

Greenbrier is a fabulous school! As with any school, it may not be for everyone. If you are looking for a school where your child is NOT challenged, expected to be a decent human being with a some amount of respect for those around him or her, Greenbrier is not for you. On the other hand, if you want your child to learn all he or she can, learn how to be a productive member of society and have teachers who truly care, come on over to Greenbrier. I moved my child to Greenbrier in the second grade and have never regretted it. I find the staff to be very friendly and welcoming. Are there days when they are trying to do their job and not have a lot of time to chat, sure, but I would rather have them doing something in the best interest of my child that talking to me. We also love Mrs. James, the SAGE teacher. My son has flourished in her class. Again, Greenbrier is an awesome school if you are looking for a quality education and are willing to invest some of your own time into your child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2011

I have to agree with the last post. My child has attended this school for five years and it has gone downhill considerably during that time. Unfortunately, the best interest of the child is no longer the main concern at Greenbrier. It seems that keeping as many children as possible enrolled at the school for funding purposes has severely clouded the vision of the principal and has left the staff burnt out and unsupported. I do believe the teachers have the potential of being awesome, but many seem to have become jaded and tired of fighting the "good fight" and the rest are very unprofessional (the music teacher is permitted to display her tattoos and shows videos with foul language and the term dress code simply does not exist with most of the teachers). Also, the SAGE teacher is out a large part of the year without a substitute. If a student was out that much, he or she would be in danger of being expelled. There is also no point in trying to talk to the principal, as she does nothing to try and remedy any problems brought to her attention. It appers that only the trouble maker's parents get her attention. I would not recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2010

I agree the teachers and staff are awesome, however, the school needs to get tougher with the behavior problems that seem to be rising. Bullying, language and innappropriate discussions need to be handled. Unfortunately, the demographics of the school are changing, and it can be seen in the quality of the curriculm. Don't get me wrong, it soley because of the watering down of what's being taught due to the change in students. The truly bright children are being left behind.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2009

This is an awesome school...they really care about their students and help in any given situation! Thank You Greenbrier staff!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

our teacher's and staff are the best and care very much about our kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2009

Outstanding in terms of expectations and performance both from teachers and students. The principal is a very caring, devoted educator who truly believes 'all children can learn...no exceptions!'
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2009

The teachers are wonderful, caring, hardworking, and do an excellent job! My daughter started in the Special Ed Preschool, then I mainstreamed her to kindergarten and now she is a 5th grader and has been an honor roll student. I can't say enough about the principle, she's very committed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2009

We live out of district, and our daughter went to Greenbrier on a variance for kindergarten and first grade. We thought that she might need to make 'neighborhood friends,' so we put her in the local school for second and third grade, but ended up having nothing but problems with the teachers and staff. Even worse, she really didn't seen to be excelling in her academics. We decided to move her back to Greenbrier this year for fourth grade, and she has been on the honor roll all year! She is so happy to go to school every day, and we couldn't be happier with her progress. The teachers and staff are wonderful, and the principal, Miss Brammer, is awesome!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 28, 2008

Although I think this is still one of the better schools in the district, some of the teachers seem to be really burnt out.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2008

My 4 kids went to this school for 5 years and the teachers were great!! But everyone in the office are really bad and have no resepct for parents unless they are made of money and 'fit in' they love to talk about parent behind there back and favor students
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2008

My son has been attending Greenbrier for 2 years now. His last school did nothing for him at all. What they did do is label him a troubled child. So we transferred him to Greenbrier. These past 2 years my son has blossomed and the troubled child in him has been tamed. The staff at Greenbrier took the time to work with us (the family) and my son, and I am very thankful for their assistance in education my son. There has been such improvement in his behaviors, this attitudes and his home life due to the skilled teachers that they employ. We feel so strongly about this school that we have transferred his sister there also. School is hard enough these days with the struggles that kids face and it should be a safe environment. We trust these people with our most precious gifts. I thank you Greenbrier.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
76%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
88%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 68% 42%
Hispanic 20% 43%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 3%
Two or more races 3% 2%
Black 2% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 22%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Librarian/media specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Gifted specialist(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Art teacher(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Reading specialist(s)
School psychologist
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Other health impairments
  • Significant developmental delay
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
  • Visual impairments
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
Clubs
  • Math club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 9:00 am
School end time
  • 3:45 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 6:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Jody J. Brammer
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (602) 467-5580

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
  • Gifted / high performing
  • STEM
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Other health impairments
  • Significant developmental delay
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
  • Visual impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Playground
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • American Express
  • Horace Mann
  • Chick Fil A
  • Peter Piper
  • Big O Tires
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • None
Girls sports
  • None

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Boy scouts
  • Math club
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
7th/8th grade- Highland Lakes
7th/8th grade- Desert Sky Middle School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6150 W. Greenbriar Dr.
Glendale, AZ 85308
Website: Click here
Phone: (623) 445-5000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Discovery Community
Glendale, AZ







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT