Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Greenbrier Elementary School

Public | PK-6

We are best known for academic/behavioral standards.

 
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 6 ratings
2013:
Based on 17 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 6 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

School Official Point of View

Posted June 20, 2013

The love of learning and a broad course of study creating background knowledge across grade levels (Preschool through 6th grade) are always on display at Greenbrier Core Knowledge Elementary. Artwork is everywhere: both classic examples of fine art and student creations of world masterpieces. Classic pieces of music are shared with our students at every grade. Classrooms and hallways overflow with project posters, dioramas, working models, and historical timelines. The tools of the trade are always in evidence - more like a living museum than anything else - so that our students can experience for themselves how the greatest ideas were first discovered and what these devices look like today: slide rule, abacus, calculator, hourglass, pendulum clock, and a spring loaded watch; and dictionaries, encyclopedias, and maps of every kind. Learning is the fundamental purpose of our school as we partner with our parents for the success of each Greenbrier student. A collaborative culture, creativity, emotional well being, physical fitness, critical thinking, and research based instructional strategies ensure the highest levels of student success. We encourage you to join our school! Jody J. Brammer, Principal Greenbrier Elementary School

45 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 12, 2014

Greenbrier welcomed my son thru open enrolment. The office staff were friendly and went out of their way to be helpful. My son's teacher made him feel welcome and the result is a very happy little boy at the end of the day. The school has the feeling of a private school with good security. You can drop your child off with peace of mind knowing he will be happy and safe until you collect him!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2014

If you are looking for an Excellent Elementary School you found it! We've been at Greenbrier thru open enrollment for six years headed into our seventh and last sadly. Our Principal is Awesome, the Teachers are Fantastic, and Staff is supportive. We wouldn't have our children go anywhere else! Check it out, visit, you'll see what I mean.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2014

Greenbrier is going GLOBAL! Come check out our school. Enroll in an education program that will keep your child motivated to go to school. The Core Knowledge Program, Not to be confused with Common Core, is outstanding and well worth it for a sequential source of learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2014

My children have been attending Greenbrier on open enrollment for the last 5 years. We have had nothing but positive experiences! The teachers are dedicated to providing their students with quality education while fostering a positive learning environment. Greenbrier will continue to be school of choice!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2014

Both of my kids went to this school. The longer I stayed there, the more I realize how bad this school was. The principal her self was a dishonest person. They didn't care about giving students a quality education, they are just there to baby sit and collect their pay check.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2014

Barro's Pizza Spirit Night was wonderful. Very well run, excellent food and great drawing prizes. Everyone was welcomed and Greenbrier Pride was evident. Good Job!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2013

Best school in the neighborhood by far! Teachers are passionate about their jobs and find new and creative ways to teach and get the children excited about coming to school and learning. The Core Knowledge curriculum sets Greenbrier apart from the other schools and offers a strong foundation for future learning beyond elementary school. The community/parents are close nit, involved and inviting. We WOULD NOT choose another school over Greenbrier for our elementary students! Thank you Greenbrier for all you do and what you stand for!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2013

Best school around!! Great teachers, exciting curriculum, wonderful parent involvement! My children have thrived at this school and would recommend to all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2013

We have enjoyed having out kids at Greenbrier for the last 7 years. All three of our children have had wonderful experiences, with great staff and curriculum. Very impressed with the push towards "Core Knowledge" learning. We apply for a variance each year, just to attend Greenbrier. It was the preschool that first drew us in (our local school not having one). We will continue to make the drive each morning despite the fact that they are all beyond preschool age now. The Kindergarten experience was fantastic as well. If you are debating the full day "enrichment program", DO IT! My child learned as much, if not more more, there than in her morning class. Ms. Adams is wonderful and using every opportunity as a teaching experience. Ill never forget meeting my children for lunch and seeing her explain to the whole class in the cafeteria what a kiwi was and where they come from. She utylized multimedia and tapped into all 5 senses throughout the year, making for an awesome experience for the children!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2013

Top notch school, teachers and curriculum! Only complaint is that this school doesn't include 7 & 8th grade so our student could stay for two more years. Our family just attended the 6th grade promotion and we were really impressed with the entire evening! The teachers, staff and PTA go out of their way to make every student feel important and their families too. Thank you Greenbrier for a lovely evening and for the many years of teaching and caring for our daughter. Highly recommend this school to all parents that want the very best for their children and their education!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2013

What I like about Greenbrier is Core Knowledge, Love & Logic (behavior in a positive way), staff & teachers, campus safety, and PTA! On the flipside, I find the office staff rude & unprofessional (no people skills) and a principal (Miss Brammer) that is disconnected and lacks communication skills with parents, teachers, and the children. I enjoy helping out in my child's class and at school activities. I have recommended Greenbrier to others and they have enrolled their children as well. I let them know to overlook the office staff, because that is NOT the true representation of Greenbrier. My child has grown leaps and bounds through the dedication of their teachers at Greenbrier. My child that attended Greenbrier, but is now in high school, has found what he has learned at Greenbrier has helped him thus far. For that I say, "Thank You, Greenbrier!"
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2013

I have read all of the terrific comments below regarding Greenbrier and I wanted to add that Extended Day Kindergarten is a wonderful program. It is available for Kindergarten students either as a morning program or an afternoon program. It strongly supports and enhances Core Knowledge for all of Greenbrier's Kindergarten students. Mrs. Adams creates a learning environment that enhances children's creative thinking, problem solving and prepares each student for first grade expectations. It is a wonderful program available to all Kindergarten students through the community education department.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2013

I have 3 boys that I choose to send to Greenbrier through Open Enrollment and I couldn't be happier with our school. The teachers and the entire staff care about the students and families and go "the extra mile" for all. I love the Core Knowledge program and can see the benefit that it gives our students over those at other schools. Two of my boys are currently in the SAGE gifted program with Ms. James and I know that she understands and challenges them to be the best they can be academically. I would love to see our school expand to 7th and 8th grade because I believe they are gettinga great education at Greenbrier.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2013

My son started at Greenbrier in Preschool. We have loved all of his teachers. Starting off with Mrs. Knaus in preschool, Mrs. Augsburger for kindergarden. In kindergarden my son was having trouble with reading. The teacher got him help with the reading specialist, Mrs. McKinley. By the time my son got to first grade, the teacher, Ms. Bollinger called me at home to let me know my son has passed his bench mark for reading for the first time. She was so happy for my son. I can't say enough wonderful things about how much these teachers really care about their students. The same for his second grade teacher Mrs. Cox. She is a very caring, pleasant and friendly person. My son is now in the 6th grade and we have been very happy with his ALL of his teachers. It will be sad to leave Greenbrier and it's wonderful staff. It's a shame the school does not got up to the 8th grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2013

My daughter has gone to this school since kindergarten and is in the 6th grade now. I have never had a problem with this school or its employees. Everyone is extremely helpful and fair. The main reason we moved to our house is because we had heard nothing but praise for this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2013

Great teachers + great support staff + great administrator + great students + great parents = A GREAT SCHOOL
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 15, 2013

Greenbrier's PTA is GREAT!! We just attended the dance nite and it was FUNtastic. Even the teachers were dancing. Everyone was having a great time. We really enjoy the staff and students at Greenbrier. We have been very happy with all the teachers and the education our kids receive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2013

Our child has attended Greenbrier Elementary School from kindergarten through this year as a 6th grader. The staff is outstanding. Their knowledge in academic areas and involvement in providing for the needs of all of the students is exemplary . It would be wonderful to have the addition of 7th and 8th grades so that families in the neighborhood could have students finish an elementary education at this excellent school and go directly to high school from Greenbrier.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2013

Great school with excellent teachers, strong leadership and challenging academic programs. Small class sizes allowing for fantastic teacher to student ratios. Highly recommend!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2013

Greenbrier excels in all areas and is leaps and bounds above the rest! The principal, teachers and staff are friendly, approachable, available and responsive to students and parents needs. The students are challenged both academically and in character building. The campus is attractive, clean, and most importantly secure. Every teacher our children have had over the years at Greenbrier has been exceptional; always knowledgeable, engaging, and has conducted themselves professionally yet with compassion and kindness. Greenbrier is one of very few schools offering the Core Knowledge program. This program is top notch and in fact gives our children an advantage above the rest! My children have really enjoyed this curriculum; and I can attest that they are keeping the knowledge that they have been given, using it and are able to expand upon it with clarity and understanding. I recognize and appreciate the commitment it takes in providing a top quality school like Greenbrier to our children. My husband and I would like to thank all the staff at Greenbrier for going that extra mile and for truly caring for our most important treasures- our children!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
76%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
88%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 68% 42%
Hispanic 20% 43%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 3%
Two or more races 3% 2%
Black 2% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 22%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Librarian/media specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Gifted specialist(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Art teacher(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Reading specialist(s)
School psychologist
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Other health impairments
  • Significant developmental delay
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
  • Visual impairments
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
Clubs
  • Math club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 9:00 am
School end time
  • 3:45 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 6:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Jody J. Brammer
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (602) 467-5580

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
  • Gifted / high performing
  • STEM
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Other health impairments
  • Significant developmental delay
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
  • Visual impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Playground
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • American Express
  • Horace Mann
  • Chick Fil A
  • Peter Piper
  • Big O Tires
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • None
Girls sports
  • None

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Boy scouts
  • Math club
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
7th/8th grade- Highland Lakes
7th/8th grade- Desert Sky Middle School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6150 W. Greenbriar Dr.
Glendale, AZ 85308
Website: Click here
Phone: (623) 445-5000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Discovery Community
Glendale, AZ







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT