Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

The love of learning and a broad course of study creating background knowledge across grade levels (Preschool through 6th grade) are always on display at Greenbrier Core Knowledge Elementary. Artwork is everywhere: both classic examples of fine art and student creations of world masterpieces. Classic pieces of music are shared with our students at every grade. Classrooms and hallways overflow with project posters, dioramas, working models, and historical timelines. The tools of the trade are always in evidence - more like a living museum than anything else - so that our students can experience for themselves how the greatest ideas were first discovered and what these devices look like today: slide rule, abacus, calculator, hourglass, pendulum clock, and a spring loaded watch; and dictionaries, encyclopedias, and maps of every kind. Learning is the fundamental purpose of our school as we partner with our parents for the success of each Greenbrier student. A collaborative culture, creativity, emotional well being, physical fitness, critical thinking, and research based instructional strategies ensure the highest levels of student success. We encourage you to join our school! Jody J. Brammer, Principal Greenbrier Elementary School
March 30, 2016

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
57 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (4 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (4 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 87 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Greenbrier Elementary School 5

Posted June 09, 2016
- a parent
This year was my first year sending my first daughter to kindergarten, and couldn't be more happier and pleased with choosing Greenbrier Elementary! My daughter has loved every single day of school and never wanted to miss. Great school with great teachers!

Greenbrier Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted June 08, 2016
- a community member
My son's kindergarten teacher, Ms. Adams, is amazing. She puts so much energy into what happens in her classroom everyday and she really wants the best for her students. She has a fantastic way of working with the kids to be sure their needs are met, regardless of the variety of levels. My son loved having her as a teacher, and we loved watching him learn and grow through the lessons she provided.


Greenbrier Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted June 08, 2016
- a community member
I can't say enough good things about the teachers at Greenbrier. The amount of time and preparation that goes into their lessons is apparent.

Greenbrier Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted June 08, 2016
- a community member
I feel the homework has been a sufficient review of what's being learned in the classroom.

Greenbrier Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted June 08, 2016
- a community member
I was thankful that both of my son's teachers focused a lot on respect in a variety of ways. The students learn respect for themselves, others, and the environment.


Greenbrier Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted June 08, 2016
- a community member
It is obvious that the school works on developing these traits through conversations I have with my child. Occasionally there are situations that occur during the day and how he talks to me about how they discussed ways to handle them.

Greenbrier Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted June 08, 2016
- a community member
My son's teachers put a lot of emphasis on character and he participated in many lessons about honesty, integrity and fairness. These topics are also consistently emphasized during incidental situations that arise throughout the day.

Greenbrier Elementary School 5

Posted June 08, 2016
- a community member
My son has been at Greenbrier for 2 years and our experience has been all around wonderful. Both of his teachers have been amazing. They were responsive to questions and communicated well regarding upcoming events, current learning themes, etc. I am thrilled with all he has learned so far and their approach with teaching. The school provides a lot of opportunity for parents to be involved in classroom activities. I am very thankful that the students participate in PE, Art and Music. The PTA is very active and hosts a number of fun events. The front desk staff are always friendly and helpful, as well as the other teachers we see while on campus. My son will be going into first grade and is already saying he HAS to stay at Greenbrier through sixth grade! We are looking forward to our daughter starting preschool at Greenbrier in the fall!


Greenbrier Elementary School 3

Posted May 23, 2016
- a parent
GOOD- This is a great school. They are very attentive to school safety and notifiying you if your child is absent. The choir program is amazing. School is clean. Not So Good! - Mrs. Dressman is the rudest, most unprofessional teacher I have ever met. She degrades and bullies kids instead of helping them. She constantly uses the word "consequence" and "punishment" in regards to how she handled the childrens behaviors that day. Her term is always "my classroom" my rules" Very unprofessional in my opinion. I have never experienced a teacher who acts like her. All the other teachers have been great.

Greenbrier Elementary School 5

Posted April 21, 2016
- a parent
Our 1st grader has had a wonderful experience at Greenbrier in his two years there. We love the Core Knowledge curriculum because we see that he is getting a well-rounded education that gives him a broad context for the facts and skills that he is learning. We also like that he practices learned skills regularly (via homework, for example), but is not so overloaded that his brain cannot retain the information. We have seen excellent progress in his reading level and his math skills. He has mastered addition and subtraction, and is dabbling with geometry. He is reading short chapter books, and his vocabulary has grown impressively.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Greenbrier Elementary School
6150 W. Greenbriar Dr., Glendale, AZ  85308
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 87 reviews. (623) 445-5000
Last modified Greenbrier Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top