Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-6
Public
Glendale, AZ
Students enrolled: 474
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

The love of learning and a broad course of study creating background knowledge across grade levels (Preschool through 6th grade) are always on display at Greenbrier Core Knowledge Elementary. Artwork is everywhere: both classic examples of fine art and student creations of world masterpieces. Classic pieces of music are shared with our students at every grade. Classrooms and hallways overflow with project posters, dioramas, working models, and historical timelines. The tools of the trade are always in evidence - more like a living museum than anything else - so that our students can experience for themselves how the greatest ideas were first discovered and what these devices look like today: slide rule, abacus, calculator, hourglass, pendulum clock, and a spring loaded watch; and dictionaries, encyclopedias, and maps of every kind. Learning is the fundamental purpose of our school as we partner with our parents for the success of each Greenbrier student. A collaborative culture, creativity, emotional well being, physical fitness, critical thinking, and research based instructional strategies ensure the highest levels of student success. We encourage you to join our school! Jody J. Brammer, Principal Greenbrier Elementary School
June 20, 2013

4 stars
Based on 46 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


47 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Greenbrier Elementary School 5

Posted August 12, 2014
- a parent
Greenbrier welcomed my son thru open enrolment. The office staff were friendly and went out of their way to be helpful. My son's teacher made him feel welcome and the result is a very happy little boy at the end of the day. The school has the feeling of a private school with good security. You can drop your child off with peace of mind knowing he will be happy and safe until you collect him!

Greenbrier Elementary School 5

Posted July 16, 2014
- a parent
If you are looking for an Excellent Elementary School you found it! We've been at Greenbrier thru open enrollment for six years headed into our seventh and last sadly. Our Principal is Awesome, the Teachers are Fantastic, and Staff is supportive. We wouldn't have our children go anywhere else! Check it out, visit, you'll see what I mean.


Greenbrier Elementary School 5

Posted May 31, 2014
- a parent
Greenbrier is going GLOBAL! Come check out our school. Enroll in an education program that will keep your child motivated to go to school. The Core Knowledge Program, Not to be confused with Common Core, is outstanding and well worth it for a sequential source of learning.

Greenbrier Elementary School 5

Posted February 23, 2014
- a parent
My children have been attending Greenbrier on open enrollment for the last 5 years. We have had nothing but positive experiences! The teachers are dedicated to providing their students with quality education while fostering a positive learning environment. Greenbrier will continue to be school of choice!

Greenbrier Elementary School 1

Posted February 06, 2014
- a parent
Both of my kids went to this school. The longer I stayed there, the more I realize how bad this school was. The principal her self was a dishonest person. They didn't care about giving students a quality education, they are just there to baby sit and collect their pay check.


Greenbrier Elementary School 5

Posted January 26, 2014
- a parent
Barro's Pizza Spirit Night was wonderful. Very well run, excellent food and great drawing prizes. Everyone was welcomed and Greenbrier Pride was evident. Good Job!

Greenbrier Elementary School 5

Posted June 05, 2013
- a parent
Best school in the neighborhood by far! Teachers are passionate about their jobs and find new and creative ways to teach and get the children excited about coming to school and learning. The Core Knowledge curriculum sets Greenbrier apart from the other schools and offers a strong foundation for future learning beyond elementary school. The community/parents are close nit, involved and inviting. We WOULD NOT choose another school over Greenbrier for our elementary students! Thank you Greenbrier for all you do and what you stand for!

Greenbrier Elementary School 5

Posted June 03, 2013
- a parent
Best school around!! Great teachers, exciting curriculum, wonderful parent involvement! My children have thrived at this school and would recommend to all.


Greenbrier Elementary School 5

Posted May 28, 2013
- a parent
We have enjoyed having out kids at Greenbrier for the last 7 years. All three of our children have had wonderful experiences, with great staff and curriculum. Very impressed with the push towards "Core Knowledge" learning. We apply for a variance each year, just to attend Greenbrier. It was the preschool that first drew us in (our local school not having one). We will continue to make the drive each morning despite the fact that they are all beyond preschool age now. The Kindergarten experience was fantastic as well. If you are debating the full day "enrichment program", DO IT! My child learned as much, if not more more, there than in her morning class. Ms. Adams is wonderful and using every opportunity as a teaching experience. Ill never forget meeting my children for lunch and seeing her explain to the whole class in the cafeteria what a kiwi was and where they come from. She utylized multimedia and tapped into all 5 senses throughout the year, making for an awesome experience for the children!

Greenbrier Elementary School 5

Posted May 22, 2013
- a parent
Top notch school, teachers and curriculum! Only complaint is that this school doesn't include 7 & 8th grade so our student could stay for two more years. Our family just attended the 6th grade promotion and we were really impressed with the entire evening! The teachers, staff and PTA go out of their way to make every student feel important and their families too. Thank you Greenbrier for a lovely evening and for the many years of teaching and caring for our daughter. Highly recommend this school to all parents that want the very best for their children and their education!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Greenbrier Elementary School
6150 W. Greenbriar Dr., Glendale, AZ  85308
(623) 445-5000
Last modified Greenbrier Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Greenbrier Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 47 reviews. Top