Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-8
Public
Glendale, AZ
Students enrolled: 855

4 stars
Based on 34 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


37 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Highland Lakes School 5

Posted June 26, 2014
- a community member
Highland lakes school has been wonderful for my learning experiences and has been a great way to express my feelings. This school is helpful and provides many great opportunities. At highland lakes, there is a renaissance program in which I am currently in that has helped me learn at my own pace. I love this school, and there is a strict no-tolerance bullying policy that keeps every student safe. I love the messages on the sign every day, and it inspires me to do my best. Sincerely, Max M.

Highland Lakes School 5

Posted April 23, 2014
- a parent
I love highland lakes! The principle Mr. Anderson is out standing! He even is outside in the morning helping out! Really what other principle does that?! He also has the best quotes that he puts outside for all to read they are wonderful. He interacts with the students and they all respect him as he and the teachers make learning fun. This is the best school ever!


Highland Lakes School 5

Posted April 07, 2014
- a community member
This school is amazing! All the teacher are very kind and respect all students also teachers handle classroom disruption well and listen to student as well as teachers explain every topic very clearly. This school also has an amazing Renesaunce Academy or Gifted Program. Students in the gifted program are able to interact with the general education kids in their grade and in other grades to. Thanks to the music program Renesaunce gets to put on a play/musical for the school and parents every year. The principle, Mr.Anderson is ver kind and is appreciative of all teachers and students. On Friday he comes on the announcement and asks students to thank their teachers for all the hard work they do and some times asks teachers to do the same for students. He also handles issues between students very well and does not let any kind of bullying slide by. He also is outside most mornings to greet students as they arrive as well as the assistant principal, Mrs.Wiser, who is very kind and every Wednesday recognizes classes for achievements in learning. Over all I truly love this school and would not want to be at any other school. Sincerely, A Highland Lakes Student.

Highland Lakes School 4

Posted June 26, 2013
- a teacher
Highland Lakes is a good, solid school in terms of public education. Teachers are good, many outstanding! Administration does not seem to want to deal with parent concerns about teacher's classroom management (really just one) but that seems to be common practice. I wish some would dress more professionally, but that doesn't seem to be a requirement for the profession anymore. Majority of the kids seem serious about learning so it's a decent environment. Not much the school could improve on. I would ask teachers and administration to be aware of how they address the students in terms of who is "gifted" and who is "regular". We all know about the Jane Elliot experiment!

Highland Lakes School 4

Posted May 17, 2013
- a parent
Very satisfied with my son's middle school experience at Highland Lakes. I was quite impressed to see the principal, Mr. Anderson as a cross guard on a sunny afternoon (never seen another principal do that before). You will quite often see him outside in the morning greeting the students as they are being dropped off. The teachers have been very approachable and quick to reply to any inquiries. The front office staff have been very friendly and quick to help. Lastly, the band instructor Mr. Burr, absolutely wonderful, extremely joyful and just love, love the concerts. The kids appear to identify well with his character and do an outstanding job in concerts. I have to other kids at Greenbrier elementary and look forward to having them move on to Highland Lakes so, they can experience Mr. Burr's musical instruction. My son has verbalized his experience at HL as a positive one, which I was quite pleased to hear.


Highland Lakes School 4

Posted July 11, 2011
- a community member
DO THE KIDS WEAR A PROPER UNIFORM TO WEAR AT THIS SCHOOL OR JUST CASUAL CLOTHES

Highland Lakes School 4

Posted May 02, 2011
- a parent
Well rounded school .....Love the teachers,staff,and parents. I have 3 kids at school they are all doing well with their school work.

Highland Lakes School 3

Posted December 01, 2010
- a community member
This school is a bad place if you are looking for preparations for high school. They give hardly any homework and the homework they give is very easy. Also if you are looking for one on one help, go to a different school. The teachers have way too man students in each class and they won't even let Geometry Honors, which is a very hard class, have a real teacher. We have to take GEOMETRY online!!!!!! Other than that though the atmosphere is great. Most kids are nice. But if you want to plaay an instument, don't because the istructor is very juvenile and is partially bipolar. Hard to get stuff done in that environment. But this is a decent school overall.


Highland Lakes School 5

Posted April 13, 2010
- a parent
it is a wonderful school that loves and cares about the student body

Highland Lakes School 5

Posted October 10, 2009
- a parent
Awesome school where my child is expected to be the best that they can be at all times. I am happy with the quality of the staff and administration, they are awesome. The school is place where you feel very at ease leaving your child for 6 hours a day. Great, Great, Great....

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Highland Lakes School
19000 N. 63rd Avenue, Glendale, AZ  85308
(623) 445-5000
Last modified Highland Lakes School is a Public school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Highland Lakes School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 37 reviews. Top