Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public district
Glendale, AZ
Students enrolled: 1,980
 

4 stars
Based on 45 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


49 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Ironwood High School 5

Posted March 24, 2015
- a parent
I am very happy with Ironwood and the education my son is getting. My son is an IB candidate and is active in sports, theater and clubs and has had a great experience thus far. The bottom line is that you get out what you put in. The programs are there but success takes dedication and hard work and you can't learn if you don't show up ready to work. There is a strict tardy policy however on the occasions where my son was late, there was good reason and he was allowed back in class both times. The policy is to teach good life skills and avoid distractions in the classroom. There are many school to work programs in addition to the IB program so I do not agree with many of the comments I see here. There are some kids that are trouble makers, as you would expect in any school, but my son has had no problem finding quality friends and having a good high school experience.

Ironwood High School 3

Posted August 15, 2014
- a parent
My daughter has just started grade 9 and so far she has been very happy but if you are patriotic and you want your child to say the pledge every morning, best you go to Cactus high school. Ironwood has taken the pledge away. Very disappointing for many pupils and parents.


Ironwood High School 5

Posted August 06, 2013
- a student
Ironwood is an awesome school. Most of the things people here are complaining about can be easily avoided. If you do not like your teachers, you have the opportunity to switch. I have never had any problems with contacting administration, and most of the time their replies are in a timely manner. You are locked out of your classrooms if you are late AND unexcused. If your tardiness is excused, they should allow you to go back into class. If you are having trouble making friends, there are hundreds of clubs and programs that you can attend to meet people with common interests. The only complaint I have is that I believe the school spends a bit too much time and effort on sports, when they could be improving the academics. I am currently going through the pre-I.B. program, and have enjoyed every day of it.

Ironwood High School 5

Posted August 01, 2013
- a parent
They have a great autistic program my son's Autistic and he didn't know how to color he would just scatch all over the paper now he is tracing and coloring in the line and they have alot of patient for him. I really appreciate everything there doing with him..
1 person found this helpful

Ironwood High School 3

Posted May 20, 2013
- a student
Ironwood is a good school but it has it flaws so many kids worrying about other peoples life and not theirs, they don't know how to pay attention to what is going on around them they have to be in other peoples business and the teachers play favoritism and they are more worried about what the student is like not what he/she is capable of


Ironwood High School 2

Posted February 25, 2013
- a parent
Good luck finding a math teacher who knows math, an English teacher who does not play favorites, or an administrator that is willing to use e-mail. I'm not saying ALL employees are incompetent - just good luck getting the right schedule for your child. Ironwood USED to be an excellent school, but not with the current "leadership". Parents seem to do most of the work for the staff.
1 person found this helpful

Ironwood High School 2

Posted April 02, 2012
- a parent
i do not believe in the students being late and not being able to attend a class. no one is perfect, yet seems some get behind because of this

Ironwood High School 2

Posted June 10, 2011
- a student
Some of the teachers are good, but the focus on IB has destroyed other great programs. An emphasis on a small number of students leaves a lot lacking for the non-IB kids. The IB classes do not seem to give an edge to those students when applying for colleges either.


Ironwood High School 0
no rating

Posted January 26, 2010
- a student
i love this school. i have nothing but good memories and fun. Very nice school Iron Wood pride baby ITs all about the Eagel

Ironwood High School 5

Posted January 22, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ironwood High School
6051 W. Sweetwater Ave., Glendale, AZ  85304
(623) 486-6400
Last modified Ironwood High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Ironwood High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 49 reviews. Top