Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Melvin E Sine School

Public | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 24, 2013

My School is very close parents and teachers work together like they should recommend this school for sure.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2013

Sine is a familiar school with very excellent environment the teachers are very grateful. Everything is excellent
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2012

If you expect your child to receive any sort of medical attention while at school or receive a phone call regarding a serious injury, this school is not for your child. They will, however call you if their socks don't match they uniform code, call you if your child talks too much in class, or need you to leave work to bring in different shoes. And heaven forbid the nurse is away for any length of time, you can forget it....My daughter had an injury that required immediate medical attention and 2 of the 3 staff members that knew about it had seen it and never did one thing. Never sent her to the office or called me to come get her to get the medical attention she needed. This is completely unacceptable practice and this instance has not been the first time I have since found out after my daughter's experience.....This has to be the worst school or they have to have the most incompetent staff either way I would not reccomend this school at all, get a variance and send your child somewhere else!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2012

My principal is fantastic, the teachers are fabulous, the enviroment is beautiful, and if someone does something wrong, then that's the parents fault, in school the prinipal doesnt let you do it. The cafeteria teaches us to clean after ourselves, and the staff is friendly, and never scream at us. My school is like a family, and there is not any crazy people, like other schools.


Posted January 24, 2012

im at melvin right now, and im in 7th grade and kids my age(13) are SMOKING! that really suprised me! some kids offered my some weed?! and im not ruining me life so isaid NO! so besides that i like this school!<3


Posted May 11, 2011

The worst school I have EVER been to and I have been to over 10 since kidergarten and I'm only in 6th grade. Don't EVER take your children there! I would rather drive 10 miles to a better school then walking across the street to this one.


Posted March 25, 2011

Best school for kids with Autism. Our child loves going there every day. He's also made great progress and strides with the excellant staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2010

Terrible school. I've had kids going here for 12 years and it's gotten progressively worse. The office staff is the most rude I've ever experienced anywhere. Far more interested in socializing that helping students or parents. Teachers get no support from the administration. I know this since a few of the teachers are my personal friends. We're moving now to get our last 2 kids away from this place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2010

this school is unwilling to spend the time on a child or the problems there teachers may have. I had to pull my child out and start him in k12
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2010

I recently moved to the Glendale area in Aug. 2009, & have found the kids to be extremely nice & welcoming!! I have met several students doing Fundraisers & have had several families Welcome us into the community. We came from the Maryvale area, where NO one said Hello, Hi , How you doing! This area is so friendly, as I'm sure the kiddos are too, that I've met.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2010

I love this shool I will miss this school am in the 8th grade I feel that this school can change a life.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 7, 2010

This school is terrible. I am moving just to get my son out of this school and the district. The vice principal is rude. The office staff is rude. Everyone in that school seem to be more concerned with socializing with each other than the well being of any student. My son is in K. He has had 2 teachers because the first was so horrible I asked to have him moved. Unfortunately, the 2nd teacher is just as bad. They are a closed campus until 2:45 when it's time to pick up the students then they don't even question who's picking up the kids. I had my father pick up my son and the teacher didn't even question it. There are more story's like this but I will just end with this; if you have a choice, do not send you kids to this school!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2009

Sine School is a awesome school.I am a 7th Grader there.I have been there since Kinder.The sports teams are really good there,And getting better.The Special Classes are starting to go down the drain ( as they are getting cut with the money problems).Then,The Middle School teachers Can be a pain sometimes.Also,The new Principal Ms.Hill Is Awesome.I am Also in the Student Council.I Am the Treasurer At Sine.I am Good at my Job.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 20, 2009

This school is one of the best I have ever had to chance to enroll my kids in. My 15 yr old graduated there last year, and had a LOT of health and learning issues. The team of Ms. Grey, Ms. Hines, ans Ms. Parker (and she will be missed, but I'm sure she will do a great job at William C Jack) was great . The other people in the office and in the LD department are wonderful too. Out of the 3 yrs, Josh was there, we only had problems with 2 teachers and each problem was handled quickly and effectively (including the immediate dismissal of one who put his and other students lives in danger) My daughter just started this year in Kindergarten and Ms Yokley is a great teacher, while her brother is in 4th with Ms. Ira (another Great Teacher)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2007

I have a child who started music classes last year. He was very excited about it as was I. Then this year, there's a new teacher who is making my child miserable in class. He now wants to quit which breaks my heart.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2006

I love Sine school. Ms.Parker is wonderful. She is educated really knows how to talk to the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2005

The music and arts programs are fine I had two childerne atten this school and both liked the environment. The teacher communication is also good. The student teacher ratio is a bit high beside sthat a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2005

For the mixed demographics, over crowded classrooms and low budget, this school provides a decent education and good discipline.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2004

I am not at all pleased with the education my 5th grader is receiving at Sine. He was in honor classes at his old school ( a school with higher test scores), but the administration would not even test him at Sine. His teacher told me that the admin. doesn't listen to teacher's suggestions in this area. As a result my son is bored, his grades are dropping and he is getting into fights (being one of 4 'white' kids in class doesn't help either). He constantly tells me how bored he is, he just isn't challenged and doesn't care anymore. Education is about challenging kids to better, but this school lets them slip through the 'cracks'.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2003

My child is just finishing her second year at Sine and I am more than pleased with the exceptional education she is receiving. Her kindergarten teacher has to be one of the best in the State. I was most impressed with how much the ESL children that were in the English Immersion program progressed through the year. I am sad to see that the Dual Language program may be falling by the wayside. I look forward to her continuing at Sine and her younger brother starting. If the education she received in grades K-1 are any indication of the rest of her years through grade 6th she will definitely be far above the 'national average'. Also, Sine has the nicest lunch room staff. They truly care about the children and do everything within their power to make sure the food tastes good and that the children are enjoying their lunch and breakfast. I would highly recommend this school to anyone who has children of school age.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
34%

2010

 
 
38%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
46%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
38%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
50%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
53%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
58%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
25%

2010

 
 
68%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
29%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
49%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
26%

2011

 
 
29%

2010

 
 
55%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
31%

2010

 
 
31%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
57%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
24%

2011

 
 
20%

2010

 
 
57%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
35%

2010

 
 
38%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
59%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 68% 43%
White 15% 42%
Black 10% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 3% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
Two or more races 2% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 90%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (623) 237-4415

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4932 West Myrtle
Glendale, AZ 85301
Website: Click here
Phone: (623) 237-4000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT