Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Globe High School

Public | 9-12 | 509 students

Academics, Arts, Athletics, CTE, and JTED programs

 
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 10 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

32 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 18, 2014

I love this high school. However, the parental involvement, frankly, sucks. I have the greatest respect for the teachers, my kids love them. However, it is nearly impossible to teach a classroom full of kids when the kids themselves are disrespectful and disruptive. Cell phones, tablets, XBox and Playstation have taken over the home. As a volunteer, I see how some of these kids act, and it's appalling. Children need to be taught manners. And the games need to be put away in favor of some good old fashioned reading. Oh, and do not get me started on the need for a dictionary. Most kids have become too lazy to use the correct spelling or know the meaning of simplest terms. No, parents, this is not the school's fault, it is our fault for not enforcing good practices. And one student commented on sex education. Another thing we need to deal with not only at school or at home. But as long as we have girls who think sex for boys means "love" and boys who think of sex as a conquest, there are going to be babies. Open, honest discussions are needed. Learning it from the internet may come too late.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2014

This school should really focus on giving each of us, the students sex education. The graduates in 2013 so many of them are pregnant or has a child already even before graduating. The graduates last year 2014 so many of them were pregnant during school and during the graduation. This year there are already a few students who are pregnant in our senior class. It is so weird to see high school kids roaming around the halls with babies inside their stomach. When I was a junior everywhere I go there are someone pregnant and almost every month there is 1 to 2 pregnancy announcements on facebook and guess where they went or go to school at.... Globe High. I don't have anything against them, but I'm just saying that it doesn't look good for the school and the community when 16-19 years old kids are already pregnant or have kids. Even Mesa, Gilbert and Chandler people knows Globe High as the high school with so many pregnancy or pregnancy scares. I don't think this school will ever have a sex education class since we already have a shortage of good teachers, I'm just hoping they would do something about it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 3, 2014

I am curious to see how GHS does on AIMS scores and what the school label will be when released this summer. I know that 2 years ago, when Rob Nelson, Dr. RIchard and Todd Bueche were principals the school had some good results and went from a D to a C. Then, after they left, it went right back down to a D again! Frustrating, I hope it goes back to a C this year or maybe even better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2014

Globe High School has made progress the last two years towards improving the quality of education offered. The change in leadership at the school level and district level is building a culture of change and stability. Our child is enjoying school and the many activities offered to them. The addition of Friday School is helping students with tutoring and additional learning time. Teachers are spending their off time helping students which is a change in the culture of the school. I would like to thank the administrators and teachers for helping students in need and creating a culture for learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 24, 2013

So sad to see so many teachers posting their own review here. Oh wait they are not teachers, they are students told by a teacher to write a nice review on here. Shame shame shame! Anyways, I heard that the math teacher Cabreros is leaving to Maryland. Thank goodness I won't have her.. I heard she can barely speak English and doesn't teach at all. I wish more teacher would leave so Globe can get new and better teachers. GUSD needs to do more with their curriculum because us students are not being challenged.


Posted October 31, 2013

This school is an improving school, with a dedicated staff of teachers, administrators, bus drivers, cafeteria workers, custodians, office staff, and maintenance staff, all of whom have a single goal: to provide a quality education for the young people in Globe, Arizona.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 31, 2013

GHS is a school where teachers genuinely care about students and it shows. We have a group of students that go out of their way to make others feel welcome. Some folks here pick one student, or one incident and paint the whole school as a bad place. Everyone at GHS is working to help our students have a future. It is time for ALL the students and parents to start working towards the same goal.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 25, 2013

As of this Fall Session the academic bar continues to be raised by administration and the new Superintendent. Good progress is happening at Globe High School. With the onset of the Capturing Kids Hearts culture piece being implemented changes to both staff and student alike will help produce good citizens for the community. As a reminder broken wheels cannot be fixed over night, so look for steady progress over the next three years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2013

Caring teachers and talented students. District and High School administrators genuinely care about all the programs and student excellence.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 24, 2013

I ve been at GHS for over a decade and have seen its ups and downs. This year the entire district seems to be on the right track. The focus is on improving academics and working on student character. We are still struggling to correct the wrongs done by past administrations but we can now see the light. GHS has a student body that, for the most part are friendly and outgoing. They truly care about each other and their teachers. This year s students who had to retake the AIMS was the smallest I have ever seen.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 24, 2013

My school is on its way to becomming the best public school in Gila County. The implimentation of two new programs, Beyond Textbooks and Capturing Kids Hearts are already producing positive results. We are good now, but will become a school of excellence in the near future.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 25, 2013

My daughter will be out of this school in the next few weeks... horrible! Don't go here. The teachers barely teach especially their elective teachers
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2013

I attended last night's class of 2013 graduation. I congratulate the students for their accomplishments, but I also feel sorry for them. I also attended last year's graduation, what a contrast! If anyone is looking for some symbolism of the stark contrast of quality leadership between last years administration of Dr. Richard and Dr. Bueche, you found it last night! Last year's graduation was a beautiful celebration of student accomplishment, complete with fireworks, large video screens, music, and a well decorated stage. This year's "ceremony" was hastily thrown together, no fireworks, no screens, and no sound at all. Globe district values "bare minimum" and "good enough" and all other like phrases of an organization that puts what is convenient, comfortable, and easiest for the adults over what is best for the kids, all of the time, every time. Richard and Bueche were dynamic educators who fought for quality for the kids of GHS. It is obvious when you compare tangibles like test scores and public events like graduation that should showcase a school's final product and how much they value it. Not all will admit it, but Globe misses Bueche and Richard! Big Time!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 5, 2013

Although many feel strongly about Dr.Richards being the best thing for globe high school I have to disagree. He did accomplish some good things but he also spent nearly all of the money the school had. This is the main reason why last nights commencement ceremony was not as spectacular as last years. The money for this years graduation as well as next years was spent last year on all of the wonderful things. Also, Dr.Richards left only because he did not get along with the new super intendant not because of anyone at globe high school forcing him to.


Posted May 29, 2012

This school has totally turned around for the better in just one short school year!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 28, 2012

I am graduating ghs in a few days. Three of the past four years this place was not a school. Dr. Richard came in this year as our new principal and I am glad he did. He hired good teachers and he was fair and consistent with enforcing new school rules, I didn't like the changes of first, but after about a month or two everyone could see that the school was safer and more orderly. Our school was a joke but this years i learned that one good leader with a vision can change the whole outlook of an organization.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 25, 2012

The short and dramatic positive turn around of Globe High School has been absolutely amazing. This is a story that should be covered by the national media. For so many years the scores and the academics of this school have been in decline. The building has been in decline, and student failure was acceptable. I am so pleased and impressed by what the new Principal, Dr. Richard has done! My kids never cared about the school and they were D or C students. Thsi year, they earn A's and B's and I see them studying at home and doing homework. When I ask them why they have changed they both told me it is because Dr. Richard and the teachers believe in them now and that they don't want to have to stay after school for mandatory tutoring. I am so happy with the new direction of Globe High School. I wish more people knew about this positove Cinderalla story!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2011

Unbelievable what has happened at Globe HS under the leadership of Dr. Tim Richard! Dr. Richard and his assistant principal have turned that school around for the better. My kid is a senior, I have had 2 others go through GHS and I can tell you that the school has been a complete dump, probably one of the worst schools in the nation for about 15 years. There was never any communication, no emphasis on achievement or academics or discipline. The place was an unsafe carnival atmosphere with many poor teachers. Enter Dr. Richard. Now there is discipline, order, organization, structure, a positive and safe atmosphere, and the kids are learning and they are loving it. Too bad many of the board members and the business manager hate Dr. Richard and the success the school is having. Typical small town Globe mindset!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2011

As a former teacher I have to say, in all honesty, that you would be hard pressed to find a better group of students, anywhere. Once they realize that you are trustworthy, which is difficult to do with these folks since they are so used to being betrayed, you will never find a more enthusiastic, funny, interesting and motivated group of folks to teach. It was an honor & I looked foreward to seeing them every day. Everything else is most likely going to lead to a continuous decline in the education of these great kids, except for those who graduate, despite the few well meaning teachers who will come and go, as is the culture of the place. There is no changing it, but a good teacher can create an oasis for them, albeit temporary. Give the students a chance to show you how intelligent they are and how much they want to learn & your time will go quickly & effortlessly with them. As for the rest, you're on your own.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 18, 2011

the administrative staff in the entire district in inadequet at best and we the students find that the whimsicalitability of the teachers abhorrent
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

139 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
38%

2010

 
 
46%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

137 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
66%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2013.

138 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
54%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 43% 42%
Hispanic 31% 43%
American Indian/Alaska Native 24% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
Black 0% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 54%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school Miami High School
San Carlos High School
Metro Phoenix Area Schools
Colleges most students attend after graduation Arizona State University
University of Arizona
Northern Arizona University
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
Dance teacher(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Security personnel
School psychologist
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff French
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Cognitive disability
  • Emotional behavioral disabilities
  • Hearing impairments
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Orthopedic impairments
  • Other health impairments
  • Significant developmental delay
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
  • Visual impairments
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Industrial shop
  • Science lab
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • Auto mechanics
  • Computer programming
  • Electrical

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Music
  • Performing arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Drama club
  • Drill team
  • Marching band
  • Student newspaper
  • Woodshop
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered
  • Spanish
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Advanced placement courses
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 7:10 am
School end time
  • 3:15 am
School Leader's name
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (928) 425-8909

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Advanced placement courses
  • College prep
  • Core knowledge
  • Direct instruction
  • Hybrid
  • Independent Study
  • Outdoor / Farm-based
  • Standards-based
  • Virtual school
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Environmental
  • Foreign languages
  • Mathematics
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Science
  • Social justice
  • Special education
  • Technology
  • Vocational education
  • Writing
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • Spanish
Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Cognitive disability
  • Emotional behavioral disabilities
  • Hearing impairments
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Orthopedic impairments
  • Other health impairments
  • Significant developmental delay
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
  • Visual impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • Agriculture
  • Auto mechanics
  • Business management
  • Computer programming
  • Construction / building
  • Cosmetology
  • Electrical
  • Welding certification

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • Security personnel
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
  • Research & Enrich
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Industrial shop
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Power lifting / Weight lifting
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • Wrestling

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Drama club
  • Drill team
  • Future Business Leaders of America (FBLA)
  • JROTC
  • Marching band
  • National Honor Society
  • Paranormal Activity Club
  • Student council/government
  • Student newspaper
  • Woodshop
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
Miami High School
San Carlos High School
Metro Phoenix Area Schools

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Arizona State University
University of Arizona
Northern Arizona University
College preparation / awareness offered
College presentations or information sessions
Community college courses
SAT/ACT prep classes
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

437 S High Street
Globe, AZ 85501
Website: Click here
Phone: (928) 425-6102

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT