Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Black Mountain Elementary School

Public | K-8 | 622 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 17, 2013

My children attend Black Mountain and it has been my experience that the teachers, principal, and staff care very deeply for all students. At times all children struggle, my one son is no exception, and his teachers have been helpful and supportive with creative ideas to help him be successful. As another person wrote, it is our responsiblity as a parent(s/) / guardian to work with our children and if this means I come to school and help in the classroom, I make the time, even if it is only once a month. Parent support is so important for the success of students and the school. Truthfully speaking, if "you" and your child are this unhappy, it is sad to say, but maybe, Black Mountain is not the school for you. I love the school and this community. I also appreciate the principal taking time each week to send home an email news brief, and the teachers sending home a monthly newsletter, and the pto updating information on facebook, because I actually read them which helps me stay connected.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 13, 2012

Excellent staff and huge results with kids that need accomidations. Get your kids here! Fith graders learn to learn with respect. Well seasoned staff with creative styles that top the charts.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2012

I, too, am suspicious of teachers bullying the students. It seems as if they target a child and are determined to make that child fail. Teachers are supposed to be role models and mentor these children, that piece is most definitely missing. When a child walks out of school saying, "I feel like I'm a bad kid, but I didn't do anything wrong," there is a major problem. If they HAD done something wrong, they should have been COACHED on it. School is supposed to be a place of learning.


Posted March 25, 2012

My wife and I wonder what this March 23, 2012 review is about. Our son has been attending Black Mountain for 6 years (K - 5th) and while the education may not the best (not entirely the schools fault since they are told what books to use and have to follow the curriculum given to them. FYI: The State of AZ is near the bottom of the quality education list so it s not just Black Mountain) we don't know of any teachers who are "bullies". Our kid smiles and even his teachers joke with the class. Our son is a good student, he gets good grades, and we are involved with his education and the school (that s why he is a good student). The only "problems" my wife and I have seen are from those parents who do not participate with their children's education. Any school can only do so much they are NOT babysitters. It is up to the parents (guardians) to ensure their child is learning. When our son has problems we talk to him, the school, and his teacher to find out what can be done. This review reads to us as someone who is trying to find someone to blame for whatever problems their kid may be having. Education and good behavior starts at home. All we can say GET INVOLVED. Just our two cents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2012

What a joke, if you child smiles to much or has a sense of humor or a imagination, they are micro managed, to forget it, set up for nothing but FAILURE, avoid this school at all COST. Teachers are crabby and will insult your child and then hide behind there authority, they are bullies!!!!!! If they can't CONTROL eveything about them they will make them feel like they are BAD!!. Lets get teachers that know how to teach, not just read the book and give answers, there is a whole lot more to teaching!!!!!. So lets find these teachers, in closing they rank way bellow on teaching,check it out.


Posted July 27, 2009

My grandson goes to this school. He is doing great and loves school. Miss Tiner and Ms. Chamberlain are fabulous teachers. They are patient and very good with the students.


Posted September 20, 2008

My twin grandsons go to Black Mountain and they love it. One has a special needs class that has helped him tremendously. They are both challenged by their teachers which they like. The harder they have to work the better they like it. Concerns have been dealt with promptly when both teacher and parent work together.


Posted September 7, 2008

So far so good. This is the first year for my son to go here. I really like the teacher and she is very attentive to my child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2008

I am very happy with the improvements my child made once she started at Black Mountain. She peviously attended attended the other school in the area and I was always told that she was the top student in her class yet when I switched her to Black Mountain she was actually a little behind. The teachers are great and my daughter caught up and exceded.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2008

I have been inpressed so far with the school. My child likes to go and loves his teacher. There are a couple of firm teachers that I think could be nicer to the students but what school has perfection. Some of the office staff need a lesson in 'How to treat visitors, parents, and teachers'. Otherwise I really like my child going to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2006

Black Mountain offers many afterschool opportunities. There PTVO is really beginning to take action. School curriculmn is the best in Golden Valley
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2006

Setting your child up for failure, that the theme at Black Mtn in Golden Valley. The 'Staff' is unfriendly towards parents who take an active interest in their childs education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2006

The school was good at first until they got a new principal then it went down the drain. They started moving teachers. The principal is choosing favorites. The school is not a good one.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 7, 2006

They have pretty much cut out everything. They do nothing with the GATE children. They have lost 15 teachers last year, good ones too. I am not impressed, anymore. They are a NASA explorer school and they pretty much let that all go too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2005

I found this school to be very poor, the teachers were uninvolved and uninspiring, the class sizes were huge and the activities dull.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2005

Black Mountain Elementary was a very disappointing experience for my family. My son entered 1st grade there in 2003. His teacher was mediocre; uninspiring and unorganized. The worst part is that this school has a policy against letting children go to the bathroom, except during a narrow time-frame, otherwise they are out of luck. I tried to resolve this issue with the school, after my son had numerous, embarassing accidents, to no avail. Eventually, he was pulled from school to be homeschooled. This administration's lack of professionalism and compassion is truly appaling. I was also present when students came to tell the office they had no teacher to teach a class! No one had bothered to find a replacement or to inform the students and they were outside, completely unsupervised! I have no confidence in this school whatsoever.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
45%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
65%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
52%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
73%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
63%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
52%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
69%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
67%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
39%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
69%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
32%

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
52%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
31%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
63%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing Plus".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 77% 42%
Hispanic 18% 42%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 6%
Asian 2% 3%
Black 0% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 71%N/A46%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (928) 565-9190

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3404 N. Santa Maria Road
Golden Valley, AZ 86413
Website: Click here
Phone: (928) 565-9111

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT