Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Centerra Mirage

Public | K-8 | 725 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 14, 2014

This school is a complete mess. They are losing teachers faster than I can change my clothes. The students are out of control and the environment is threatening and not conducive to a positive learning experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2013

i am a student.. and his school is horrible they allow alsmost nothing and the crriculim is two years behind. my post keep getting deletd for speaking the truth so if you see this dont send your kid here its a bbad school


Posted February 5, 2013

I did not realize how bad this school was until I took my kids to another school. This was their first school. I was told that they were meeting standards. When I moved them to a school that followed standards, my kids were below, and had not learned anything at there grade level. Specifically, their math schools were way behind. Thank goodness, I caught it early. There are excelling at their new school. Furthermore, the principal was not a man of his word. He would tell you one thing and then do another. They also did a poor job of informing me when my child was seen i the office or the nurse. My children would have to tell me when they got home. Also the school had a huge problem with bullies. The principal seemed more concerned with appearing to be bully free, than to actually deal with the problem. My children actually got injured by other students, and the principal tried to sweep it under the rug. I had to move my kids to another school. They have zero issues at the new school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2011

I want to add one more thing, if your in a position that your children need to attend this school, here are a list of some great teachers here at this school. Ms. Swanson Kinder, Ms. Nunez, Mrs. Looper, Mrs. Jones 1st grade, Ms. Hicks, Ms. McCoy 2nd Grade. I have to say they are amazing and come with a lot of experience. Enjoy and good luck parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2009

I love this school. I move alot but I learned and had the mist fun at centerra mirage
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 27, 2009

Centerra Mirage school is not one of the best schools around the Goodyear area but I will have to give credit to some teachers and staff. The Principal is not one of the 6th 7th or 8th graders best friend. Sure you say your here for learning ... blah blah blah! Well I have a small issue with that. Teachers? Does anyone sit in to acutally here or observe what the teachers are teaching in the class? Some teachers can just sit there and watch us students just sit and do nothing. They do not say a word they basically just sit there. I have been attending Centerra for one and a half years and the way the teachers treat us is absolutly infuriating! Yelling in a students face for coming a minute late from using the bathroom? Come on now! (7-8th grade has two to three minutes to go)
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 25, 2008

I think Centerra Mirage is doing a fairly good job. The principle and assitant principle are open to ideas and the lines of communication are open with the parents. One of my favorite teachers is Mrs.Grose and I am thrilled she is moving up to the 7th grade to stay with her students from last year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2008

I am very disappointed in the school and district as a whole. The ill-experienced administration and office staff unfortunately provides an unorganized atmosphere and lack of communication for students, parents, and teachers. Negative attitudes are apparent throughout the staff, including the administration, teachers, and support staff. I would not want children of mine to attend an educational community like Centerra Mirage.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 30, 2008

I have two sons that attend, and they love going to school everyday. The teachers are wonderful, as long as you know which ones to request for your child. Miss. Moll in Kinder, Ms. Nunez in 1st, and Mrs. Crowe in 2nd, have all been a blessing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2008

My son really loves the 6th grade Social Studies teacher - she has made interested in school!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 29, 2008

The post about the PTSA below is actually humorous! I joined the PTSA and attempted to get involved. To my dismay, parents were notified about meetings 2-3 days in advance, mtgs. were held in the late afternoon when most people are working, mtgs. were filled w/ inside jokes and constant references to AYSO (which seemed to be the secondary local for the click), and really negatives attitudes from the officers...and did I mention that nothing was accomplished at these meetings. I'm sorry, not my cup of tea...I chose to volunteer my time in the classroom helping the teacher directly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2007

Finally teachers that get my kid. I have a 6th grader here and we are new to the area. My child LOVES 6th grade the SS teacher is a hoot and for the 1st time my kiddo loves school. So far so good this school seems to be sweet spot in AESD but good for us. Thank goodness for Mrs. Gross and the 6th grade team.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 25, 2006

Centerra staff is great - especially the principal and asst principal. Parental involvement is poor leaving the handful of PTSA volunteers to do all events alone. They'll complain about things but do nothing to help out or to improve them. District does a poor job of providing extra-curricular activities for the students - they could offer events at a premium paid by the parents. Most teachers are interactive and connective, but a few are negative and not cut-out for the teacher profession.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 3, 2006

This school is not that great when it comes to extracurricular activities. The principal needs to have the students to do more sport activities and more fun things like basketball, baseball, flag football, chess club etc.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 26, 2006

I am not at all happy with the assistant principal. He is very unorganized. The school is nice since it is new. Parking is somewhat of an issue. I would like to see more activities for the students.
—Submitted by a teacher


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
62%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
74%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
57%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
54%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
72%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
59%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
52%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
81%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing Plus".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 41% 42%
White 39% 42%
Black 13% 5%
Asian 5% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 52%N/A46%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

15151 West Centerra Drive Sout
Goodyear, AZ 85338
Website: Click here

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Desert Star
Goodyear, AZ


Wildflower School
Goodyear, AZ




Michael Anderson
Avondale, AZ


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT