Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Phoenix Christian Elementary (West Campus)

Private | K-6 | 150 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Living in Goodyear

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $124,900. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,100.

Source: Sperling's Best Places

In the know: Get our expert advice on schools

No articles are available

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 4, 2011

My kids started at Trinity Lutheran as Preschoolers & Kinder. We had nothing but complaints after complaints about my son. I was starting to believe that my son is a trouble maker. Every day my son would come home with a letter of his "wrongdoings" (for example: he was loud --- he was 4 when he started there). Thank GOD that PCUS opened in the Goodyear. We moved our children to PCUS mid 1st grade and have never been so happy that we did! My so-called trouble maker son was excelling & he has outgrown his "loudness" and my daughter continues to be a straight A student. The teachers are not only professionals, they are also compassionate, very patient, and passionate about what they do. Our principal, Mr. Start, is the best! This school is a blessing for our family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2010

The education my child received is far above that we experienced at the public school. Teachers are caring, dedicated, and experienced. The atmosphere is definitely Christian -- it shows at all levels, even among the students. Highly recommend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2009

We pulled our child out of the school this past January, as did many others--and not due to financial reasons. For an early grade, our child was behind the Litchfield Public school system. We were shocked to have spent thousands of dollars on a Christian education and not to have received a superior education, let alone the lack of character that I believe the school should demonstrate.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2009

My daughter has attended here for both Kindergarten and 1st grade. She reads chapter books and has since last fall! The teachers are excellent and care about the kids - I think the review from Dec 08 is from a disgruntled person who quit working there. This staff is very professional and is there is a great sense of professionalism here that is not found in this size school elsewhere. They offer great specials teachers with art, music, computers, and PE. It is well worth the investment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 30, 2008

The parents at this school (West Campus) have worked very hard to ensure the communication link is open between Parents, Teachers and the Adminastration, And of course, the kids are great! Unfortunately, leadership is lacking at this school and the teaching my child received was very uneven. Personal experience with some teaching staff was extremely unprofessional. A small school like this one doesn't afford much choice when teachers aren't meeting your child's need. And the principal and superintendent are doing very little to weed out those teachers who are just 'biding their time,' while they waste the precious time of the students they are trained professionally to serve and inspire.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 11, 2008

I pulled my daughter out of the horrendous public schools because she was failing and the teachers said she was simply lazy. PCU West was a life-saver and well worth the money. She went from reading at 7th grade level to reading 12th grade level in one year here. The principal LOVES the kids and parents, she knows everyone and kids always run up to her for hugs =) The curriculum is fantastic- solid in Christian teaching, and she was pushed academically without really knowing it. Class size is excellent and kept to under 20 kids so everyone gets one-on-one attention. Communication between teachers, administrators, and parents is excellent. My only complaint is how the billing and payments are handled- very chaotic and unorganized. Otherwise, we absolutely love PCU West and my 'lazy' kid is on the honor roll!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 27, 2008

My daughter has been attending this school for two years and i have never seen people who care more about children then at this school. The will do whatever they can to make sure that your child succeeds. I am completely confident that my daughter is getting the best education possible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2008

This school is a great place for quality education and Christian teaching. The Staff is caring and tries to offer a balance between academics, and the arts. My daughter entered first grade reading minimally and leaped to a near fourth grade reading level by the end of the school year. Parent involvement is encouraged. The only downfall was the communication between the administration and the school which improved over the year but still leaves room for improvement. Besides that, everything was great.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

14900 W Van Buren
Goodyear, AZ 85338
Website: Click here
Phone: (623) 692-3363

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Centerra Mirage
Goodyear, AZ



Wildflower School
Goodyear, AZ





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT