Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Millennium High School

Public | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

39 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 16, 2007

Millennium High School is definantly the best high school that any of my three children have been to. It is a place where their minds are constantly challenged, and education is the number one priority. The atmosphere is amazing, and school support is huge. It seems as if everyone is always envolved in every thing. I can't wait for my two eighth graders to attend next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 12, 2006

I was a student at Millennium in 2005 and I wish I had gone to Agua Fria, in Avondale. For most programs I was in, such as student council, track, and drama, it took all four years to make it good, and even when I left, there were problems. The school is definately not strict on clothes.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 19, 2006

We are only 6 1/2 weeks into the school year and my son loves Millennium HS! He is getting great feedback from the teachers in regards to Math and English. He's getting involved with the soccer program and loves his art class! I had the opportunity to meet the principal over the summer and Dr. Runyan really does want to see the kids succeed (as do the rest of the teachers!) I have nothing but great things to say about the entire teaching staff! My only issue is with the class sizes. However, that could be taken care of with portable classrooms or by opening up Verrado HS completely instead of just one grade at a time for the next 3 years. Or...add another high school to the area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2006

The school administration has difficulty picking their battles wisely when dealing with teenagers. Too much effort is put into disciplining foul language.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 28, 2005

MHS is a good school. The Theatre department is doing a great job as well as the core academics. Parent involvement is lacking but under the direction of a new principal, MHS is starting to develop a 'community' feeling amongst students, faculty and citizens of Goodyear.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 29, 2005

I found Millennium High to be well performing and has an excellent track program that my son has participated in.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2005

'Both my children have gone to ANLC since they were 5 years old. ANLC is a school where the children come first. Each child is encouraged to do their personal best without being labeled as the smart or dumb kids. The teachers are highly skilled and work hard to bring out the best in each child. The principal is kind and knows each child by name. She is a great example of a leader and I will miss seeing her everyday as my daughter graduates this year. Thank you ANLC for bringing out the best in my children and giving them the encouragement and confidence they need to go out into the world! '
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 6, 2005

My daughter had atrocious first year math teachers for both her freshman and sophomore years. Despite meeting with the chair of the math department, no changes took place. Their attitude was that the teacher must cover the entire text book by the end of the year. If students don't master the material, tough, the teacher goes on anyway! Needless to say, our daughter no longer attends this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2004

This schools is a good school except the dress code is an outrage. They expect the shorts and skirts to be, hands down to their side and finger tip lenght. The female students have been complaining that stores do not sell shorts and skrits that long. The staff at millennium so then wear boy athletic shorts. What that sounds like to me, is that they want all of the students to dress like boys. Also, if a student would be sitting down, or bending over and you can see any little piece of skin the student gets into trouble.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 15, 2004

Millennium High School is a school that cares about their students and appreciates their community! With Millennium's goal in preparing high school students for college and life, the academics, extra-curricular opportunities, learning experiences, faculty, administration and students are favorably exceptional in working together to create a positive atmosphere to learn, grow and create lifelong friends.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 14, 2004

Millennium is a good school with good teachers and nice kids, nothing extraordinary. Soccer was best in state for 2003-04, the football program is great, there is a lot of pride at this school, an excellent theatre department, and the foreign language classes, French, German, or Spanish really teach students lasting language skills. The school is relatively quiet, and the students are, for the most part, very well behaved. The atmosphere is accepting, light, and fun. Work is expected to be completed by its due date, or points are not issued. Students attending Millennium High School have absolutely zero lee-way when it comes to not passing classes-if you don't pass even one class, you don't graduate. Students must also pass Arizona's Instrument to Measure Standards, aka the AIMS test.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 13, 2004

I have one child who is a sophmore here and had one other that graduated in 2003. For the most part I am really pleased with the faculty and administrative staff. I do feel, however, that the guidance counselors need to be more proactive and reach out to students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2004

Millennium has a great curriculum with plenty of challenging courses for advanced students, a well as standard courses for those who are average achievers. I have found the teachers to be helpful and welcoming of parental input. Discipline is maintained inside the classrooms which ads to the overall learning environment. The athletic program is outstanding and the relatively young school has already won many regional championships and a couple of state championships. My son is graduating this spring and I can truly say that he has enjoyed his four years at Millennium. He will be going on to technical school this fall, and Millennium has prepared him well for this next step toward a career.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2003

The new assistant principal should be principal as he knows how to respect the kids. District needs to have a better meeting time for meetings to get parental involvement. All sports coaches and after school programs are great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2003

I think that consistency is the key and is the only thing that Millennium is lacking. Maybe with new leadership next year the consistency of discipline will improve. I think that Millennium is a wonderful school with great parental involvement and that the parents and teachers should be applauded because overall we have a great group of kids.


Posted March 28, 2003

I'm a 2001 graduate of this high school. This school is a sparkling example of the overall low quality of Arizona's school systems. I transferred to this institution sophomore year and graduated with no more knowledge than I arrived with. The West Valley school system has a long way to go, and I regret choosing to stay at this inadequate establishment.


Posted March 27, 2003

Coach Darla Ford is outstanding! She excels at every aspect of her profession! We will miss our wonderful principle.


Posted October 15, 2002

This is our first year at Millennium. My biggest frustration has been getting some of the teachers to respond to voice/Emails that I send in regards to my child's progress or current grades. Several of them seem unwilling and have indicated that this is not part of their responsibilities. I feel that the teachers need to be more willing to assist the parents. Educating our children is a team effort between home and school. Push for the teacher's commitment back to the children and parents!


Posted October 15, 2002

The teachers at this school seem to enjoy their jobs and care for the students. The other high school in this district leaves something to be desired.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

550 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

548 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
86%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2013.

543 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 45% 42%
Hispanic 34% 43%
Black 10% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 8% 3%
Two or more races 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 2%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (623) 932-7204

Resources

Transportation options
  • Passes/tokens for public transportation
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

14802 W Wigwam Blvd
Goodyear, AZ 85338
Website: Click here
Phone: (623) 932-7000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT