Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Frank Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 14, 2014

I'm very disappointed with the way they treated my child . Teachers don't give you the right information you need to help you're child till it's to late ,The classroom's are way to BIG certain students did not get the attention they need . My child got harassed constantly and what was always scared to tell the teacher sad to say they never felt comfortable telling their teacher not sure as to why because a teacher is supposed to make you feel comfortable .. I just couldn't believe how horrible things got in one school year is unbelievable . I'm just very disappointed and hurt because I thought this would be a great school but just wasn't for my child . This would be that last year my child will be attending the school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2014

This school has low standards! The teachers seem not to care! They are very unorganized. I was not satisfied with Frank elementary therefore I got to the point where I did open enrollment to Broadmor elementary. Do not take your kids here. There's a lot of violence in the area, the school is all gated & locked up. I saw many incidents when the sheriff was on campus! I did like how they have garden boxes & many trees.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 23, 2010

this is one of the worst schools EVER. i have had all 3 of my kids go here and all of them have had learning problems. the classes are too big and never get around to all of the kids in the classes. there are bullies and frank has disiplinary problems
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 25, 2009

I have two of my girls here and the staff is excellent with them!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2006

I have had all three of my sons attend Frank School (K-5th); two are in their last year at Frank, one is now attending Fee's for his last year there. I have worked very closely with many of the teachers and administrative staff and I can tell anyone willing to listen that they are all dedicated to these children and their educations. My sons have participated in the many activities, orchestra, ballet folkloria, rocket club, technology club, choir, etc... and their favorite, without question, is the multicultural festival. My best advise to those questioning the school is, like with people, to look not at the outside, but look on the inside. Don't judge the book by it's cover or location in this case. Once you do that you will realize how lucky you are to have your children attending Frank Elementary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2005

I believe Frank is the 'hidden treasure' of the Tempe School District. The teachers are wonderful, the school is beautiful, and the principal values every child. I think many people misjudge the school as substandard or as too focused one a single type of student. This is far from true! Frank excels at teaching and houses some of the most innovative educational programs in Tempe School District. Just visit it - you will see how great it is!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2005

I think Frank School is a great school with caring, well-trained teachers. I am happy to see the great diversity in the student population. I do agree that class size can be an issue, but the school has been quick to respond with adjustments and rearrangements to accommodate for this. I am definitely pleased with the education this school has given my child so far.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2005

Frank is an excellent school. I am very satisfied.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2004

Frank school is a wonderful school, simply because they are the very few that I know to offer pre-K. The teachers are very helpful and patient, the staff are professional, treating the students and parents with respect.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2004

Frank school is a good school if you want your children exposed to a diverse culture of kids. But the down side is that it is a public school and it has to take all children, regardless of class room size. Which can be a problem!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2004

I have 1 stutent at Frank now and 2 that have attended but are now in high school. I have nothing but good things to say as far as teaching and caring about all of the students. my kids have been learning how to respect people and respect themselves. there is alway someone to help the kids if they need it.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

114 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
51%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

114 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
67%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
55%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
65%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
55%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
69%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing Plus".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 64% 43%
American Indian/Alaska Native 26% 5%
Black 5% 5%
White 3% 42%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
Two or more races 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 81%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (480) 777-0146

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8409 S Avenida Del Yaqui
Guadalupe, AZ 85283
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 730-7102

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Wood School
Tempe, AZ


Getz School
Tempe, AZ



Aguilar School
Tempe, AZ




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT