Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Towne Meadows Elementary School

Public | PK-6 | 766 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 5, 2011

Fantastic School! My daughter has attended Towne Meadows for 3+ years (Pre-K through 2nd grade) and I have been amazed at the quality of the Principal, the teachers, the programs and the environment. I can honestly say that each teacher that my daughter has had at Towne Meadows has been special. I could go on with specific stories, but it would take too long! Thank you Towne Meadows for going above and beyond when it comes to the most important thing in the world - our children!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2010

I have 2 children that attend school here, the teachers are very warm and my kids love going to school here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2009

My son attends kindergarten here and i absolutely love it here. He has been diagnosed with add/hd and the principal and teacher are excellent in having to come up with a plan and attentive to the issue at hand.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2008

Three of my children have attended Towne Meadows. I have loved each teacher they have had--caring, professional, and able to give appropriate amount of work. Communication between home and school is excellent. Principle knows families by name. the staff is stable and year to year traditions in curriculum and activities create a secure atmosphere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2008

Wonderful principal and teachers. I feel that my child is getting the best quality education available. Hats off to you Towne Meadows!!! You're the best!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 13, 2007

I have been involved in Towne Meadows for many years with several children going through the school from K-6th grade. The class size is high, and I don't know if it is a Gilbert 'thing', but teachers deal with their students as individuals without concern for the number. We love the programs and the stability of the staff and principal. The principal has been there from the beginning, she is visible and very hands-on. She knows the children and families by name. There is continuity at all levels-- Preschool through 6th grade. The staff is friendly and there is a lot of communication by e-mail and newsletters home. Thank You Towne Meadows!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 7, 2006

We are new to the school and are very happy with the school. The teachers are exceptional and very on top of things. Both my sons teachers communicate by email and newsletters regularly and respond quickly to questions and concerns. The principal is very hands-on and knew my kids names the first week of school. Any behavioral problems are dealt with quickly. The Accelerated Learning Program (ALP) for Math has been challenging and appropriate for my son. The Fun Runs are a highlight for us and encourage physical fitness. The Dad's Club and PTSO are very supportive of the school and dedicated. There seems to be a lot of parent involvement and the teachers always welcome parent participation. Office staff are friendly and know each child. A top notch school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2006

Very good school. The teachers are wonderful and are more than willing to work with your child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2005

My kids attended this school for several years. Overall it was a good school. My concern was the large class sizes. Especially in the lower grades. Mainly for this reason I moved them to a smaller school with less kids per class.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2005

I am very impressed with the quality of education my son is getting from this school. His teacher not only challenges him, but encourages him to be a better student. His favorite after school activity are the Fun Runs, where he gets to run after school and still interact with his school mates. There is great communication between the principal and the parents (newsletters, even through email), with excellent programs for parents to be involved in their students education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2005

Excellent staff. Towne Meadows has 3 multi-age 2nd-3rd grade classrooms with a fabulous team of teachers who provide for individual growth. Many after school opportunities for a variety of music clubs. Super teacher/student ratio around 25 for 3rd and under.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 9, 2005

Great school, hard working and devoted teachers. Students are well-behaved and the principal has firm control of the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2005

My child started going to this school a year and a half ago. So far i have found that the teacher really do pay close attention to each students needs. My child seems to be challenged with there acedemic programs therefore keeping her interested.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2005

I have been very impressed with the entire staff at Towne Meadows. My son is now in the 3rd grade, and everything we've experienced has been positive. We're going to be moving at the end of this school year, and we are hating the thought of having to change schools. We love Towne Meadows!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2004

Excellent Amenecer Pre K Program, Great Secure School Layout, Excellent Dad Programs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2004

The teachers, staff and administration at Towne Meadows are outstanding to work with and are willing to bend over backwards for students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2004

At first I was not impressed with Towne Meadows due to the class size and what seems to be a high amount of children with special learning needs and not enough teacher assistance in class. We came from a blue ribbon school and loved it. Every child that had special learning needs had a teacher assistant. After being at Towne Meadows for a while I now realize they have great teachers. The reason for class size and lack of teacher assistance is due to economic reasons and it is a state wide problem. I now have an added respect for the teachers at Towne Meadows.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
74%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
88%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

122 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

121 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

121 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
88%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

121 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 75% 42%
Hispanic 15% 42%
Black 4% 5%
Asian 3% 3%
Two or more races 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 24%N/A46%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1101 N. Recker Road
Higley, AZ 85236
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 854-1545

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT