Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Manzanita Elementary School

Public | PK-7 | 6 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 23, 2013

Students are pushed to do their best. They are held to a higher standard than any others school in this town. Having said this, I am starting to see problems with the school district itself. It might be all of the Common Core requirements coming down from the State and Federal level, but the students are beginning to spend more time testing than learning. If this keeps up, I know of more than a few teachers that will look toward another profession. I may even have to look into online school. Let the teachers teach!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2012

both my boys are in this school. great staff very friendly.they take education to the next level. 5 stars for sure
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2010

I was very concerned when moving to this area because several of the elementary schools did not test well. This school was one of the higher testers. I found the office staff nice. The teachers are very good. I know that they worked extensively on testing curriculum and were diligent about getting the students ready. The school is very nice. They have a great playground which I believe is separated for age appropriateness. The campus is very secure and they have recently installed security doors at the office. They also so a agricultural thing where the students learn about growing flowers and veggies. My daughter especially loved this as well as the dog - tinkerbell - that came in to read with students. She has never had a bad experience with another student which we have had at other schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2010

'I have two children currently attending this school. It is a warm and caring community with wonderful parents and wonderful teachers. The quality of the instruction has been great and my kids have been challenged and pushed to do their best consistently. Parent groups like the PTA and Dad's Club do an amazing job of fundraising and building a sense of community. In addition, the school is a community where kindness and respect do not take a back seat to the curriculum. It is a wonderful place for my children to spend their days and I am pleased to be part of such a great community.'
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2009

My older children attended Manzanita, Was an excellent school then. years later my youngest child is attending and it still is an excellent school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2007

What a great school! The principal is very involved and a great administrator. The teachers work together as a team and there is good parent involvment. We have 2 years left in this school and I'm going to miss it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2005

Preschool- excellent quality. Caring teachers, great program for developmentally disabled.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2005

awesome school. my daughter went to a charter school before manzanita. we were worried about sending her to a true public school. but we did and they are incredible there. they are so involved it is great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2005

Manzanita School has always focused on academics first and foremost. During the 2003-04 school year, our Gifted 5th grade class out scored most, if not all, of the country. Our Chess Clubs have won First Place in competitions year after year. We also have Drama and Athletic Clubs. Art is provided in classrooms, as well as in other forms, such as Dramathics, Drafting, etc. Music is taught both vocally as well as instumentally. Music and Physical Education are both required classes. The teachers and support staff at Manzanita School are second to none. Parent involvement is not only encouraged, but organized and actively sought. Parent volunteerism is high, not only in their own childs class, but in other classrooms and functions as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2004

This use to be a school, I really didn't care for that much. I am now happy my children are attending this school. The principal is great and the teachers actually expect the children to work. Kids are happier because they are actually getting good results back from the assignments.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2002

I think Manzanita School is head and shoulders above the other schools in our area when it comes to academics. Some of our scores may be slightly lower than some of the other schools, but what those scores do not reflect is at what level some students began at. This school has a proven track record in the academic learning fields. I would like to see more parent involvement in all grades. This involvement is as simple as reading to your child/children EVERY night. Even 6th graders like to be read to. I would also like to see more parental involvement at the school. Even if your child is doing well, you may be just the person to help another child in another class see the path to easier, better learning. Come share what worked for you!


Posted October 15, 2002

We are so very happy to have had Mrs.Ford teach our child for 3 years now in the Multi-age program. We feel that the program really adds to the teachers developing relationship with the child and gives them the time needed to better guide the children. She is the BEST!!!


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
79%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 73% 42%
Hispanic 19% 43%
Two or more races 3% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
Black 0% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 55%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (928) 753-7756

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2901 Detroit Avenue
Kingman, AZ 86401
Website: Click here
Phone: (928) 753-6197

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT