Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lake Havasu High School

Public | 9-12

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

25 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 7, 2014

Attempting to transition my daughter to high school from junior high, after multiple attempt to call & email per school requests on registration paperwork sent home..........no response. I called and finally got through to the book store only to be greeted by the rudest most unprofessional woman I have ever spoken to. What a great representative for welcoming new parents and students. We'll be enrolling elsewhere my daughter deserves a better education and kinder more professional staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2013

I have two sons who attend LHHS, and I attended there myself back in the late 80's. The school has changed drastically since I attended. Uniform shirts for High School age Teens? I think that is ridiculous myself. Not allowed to Wear a personal Jacket regardless of the weather outside. OK I get it they don't want girls wearing inappropriate tops. Have any of you walked the campus. Boys with there underwear showing, wearing their pants down to there knee's, Girls wearing skirts so short they look like they should be walking the Vegas Strip! Teachers Try hard, however there is NO Control. Too many Students per teacher. Lack on Consistency within the ranks of the Admin! One day of ISS for a cell phone or MP3 player violation? That is a bit extreme in my personal opinion~! I personally think it is time for Change. Rid the School Uniform shirts/jackets, Change up some rules, Smaller classrooms, More attention to the students and STOP worrying over the small Stuff! Allow the students a little individuality themselves. Be more active within the community, and Get some Admin staff in there that TRULY Care! I can only think of two!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 7, 2012

Honestly, the school isn't so horrible. The teachers are generally very helpful, and as long as you can stay within the guidelines, which are mostly reasonable, though the jackets and cell phone rules could be a bit more lenient. The main problem is if anything gets complicated ABOVE the teachers- tardies, registrations and such can be a huge hassle and those staff who do not directly interact with the students just don't seem to care. Overall, good school, just as long as you plan on keeping your head down.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 23, 2011

It is clear that some of the previous raters have children who do not care to conform to society's norms. Don't like it here? I suggest California. You will fit in there, AND it is rare to fail there, with at least a "D" virtually guaranteed. I know; I was a teacher there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2011

Lake Havasu High School is one of the best schools I've been to. People mind to themselves, the teachers challenge you and has a wide variety or opportunity while being well organized. The school lunch is pretty great considering they give you ACTUAL food instead of the packaged food that comes off the usual school food company trucks. Anyways, LHHS is a great place to send your child if you want an ACTUAL education.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 14, 2009

As a teacher, I enjoy working here with a staff that works closely together and supports each other. The administration works hard and supports us every step of the way. Plus, our state test scores have been on the rise! I hope in the future we can add even more programs and reduce the class sizes in general. If/when class sizes drop, I look forward to working more individually with my students to prepare them for college and a career.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 3, 2009

My kiddo had his first day of school here and I already hate it. No organization. So many different responses to one question and none were right. No busing. (only middle school if you are a mile away) (well mile away per the circle radius from the school) We live within the mile radius but driving it is over mile and half. But, they didn't care. We got on free lunch but neither of my kiddo's could not eat lunch to many kids and not enough time. You have to have brown paper bag book covers on your books or you are fined. Your first tardy you get 1/2 hour detention. So very disappointed and ready to find a private school. going to look for one now that is why I am on here. As others said t shirt for uniform, lots of daisy duke shorts and skirts. Other issues.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2007

I do not enjoy school here. To many rules, for which, if you break any you recieve a 2-6 hour detention. If not served the total hours double! Ipods and Cellphones are banned also resulting in the many hour detention. Uniforms must be purchased and worn at all times or you will be given a 2-6 hour detention! Uniform jackets must also be purchased we are not allowed to wear our own jackets!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 30, 2007

Lake Havasu High School is an excellent school! They have so many clubs, activities, classes and athletics! I never am bored here(that's very rare). You'll like the school too.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 31, 2007

As a RTP student, my son excelled for the first time in his life! His interest was held by every teacher. His home/class work improved. What a great opportunity! This district (and school) is managed way beyond CA schools. Too bad the teacher retention rate stinks; this must be the School Board's indifference to proper funding. Salaries are about 60% what CA offers, yet the teaching is fantastic. What is wrong with upper mangement?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2007

There are only 1300 kids at the school and the uniforms are great- t-shirts of various colors (black seems to be the most popular). Hooded zip-up sweat jackets are back for next year. Kids don't seem to mind them. Discipline is pretty consistent. The system of detention and adding hours when the kids don't take care of their obligations is pretty fair and reasonable. My kids love the place!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2007

This is the only public school in town, and has over 5000 students. Discipline is inconsistentStudents must wear school uniform shirts and hooded sweatjackets--personal coats are not allowed, no matter how cold it is.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 28, 2006

My daughter has gone to LHHS only her freshman year. She has been greatly challenged through out the year. They have great AP classes and teachers are always looking for students to move into those classes. The sports program for a small community has been a great source of enjoyment for my daughter. She was on the swim and softball teams this year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2006

I would rate my dealings with the staff a plus. The elective selections are limited. The dress code is a symptom of a problem that the district chooses to overlook. My child's interest in learning has decreased since attending this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2005

This is the only high school in lake havasu and it is pretty populated.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2005

Despite a marked lack of funding from the state, Lake Havasu High School has done an exemplary job of maintaining quality programs that prepare students for the future. My child's education was top notch, and I sent her to college well prepared to succeed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2005

Lake Havasu High School has its good and bad points. The school offers good programs for sports, band, choir, etc. However, the classes seem a little too big. A lot of the really great experienced teachers have recently retired and so a lot of the teachers are newbies.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 19, 2005

Lake Havasu High School has football, baseball, basketball, volleyball, golf, tennis, swimming, and track/crosscountry available to the students. Most of the events are out of town and the students must travel three to four hours each way to compete. The academic programs are fine for a rural area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2005

LHHS is a typical public school. It is not outstanding in any area, what-so-ever. Tax dollars spent per student is among the lowest in the nation. Academic programs are geared toward producing graduates who are basic, entry level, workforce employees; they are not actively producing graduates for the college-track. Teacher & administrator turnover is very high, and their compensation is toward the low end of the scale. LHHS strives hard to be a 'stepping stone' operation for staff... attracting a lot of new college graduates who need to get their first teaching job, and retiring the dedicated older teachers (while not replacing them). The District has tried (and failed) to get additional tax funding thru an override for the past 5 years. It was only recently approved in 2005. . Financial records are NOT easily reviewed by parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2005

This school is the most disorganized school I have ever seen. There are way too many kids. 30 kids to 1 teacher. Even in special ed classes.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

476 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
62%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

485 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
84%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2013.

478 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Highly Performing".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 75% 42%
Hispanic 20% 43%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
Black 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 2%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2675 S. Palo Verde Blvd.
Lake Havasu City, AZ 86403
Website: Click here
Phone: (928) 505-6900

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Telesis Preparatory Academy
Lake Havasu City, AZ


Round Table Program
Lake Havasu City, AZ


Havasuonline
Lake Havasu City, AZ


Wave - Lake Havasu High School
Lake Havasu City, AZ




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT