Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-6
Public
Lake Havasu City, AZ
Students enrolled: 490

4 stars
Based on 13 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


13 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Smoketree Elementary School 2

Posted November 23, 2013
- a parent
This is a no child left behind school, meaning that they teach from the bottom up. If your kid is smart then you will have to do work at home to stay ahead of good school. The work they give is below average to an average student. The administration and faculty is 98 percent women and it is like a girls club there. One of those it takes a village type of schools. If you are a male be ready for some rude treatment. The Principal will not want to hear your side of anything. Current Parent looking for another school

Smoketree Elementary School 5

Posted October 09, 2013
- a parent
This is a fantastic school! My son is now in middle school but, he went there for most of his K-6 years of schooling, but along the way had to try out some other options and we definitely know this is a stand out school in the area. My daughter also started at Smoketree and is now in first grade. I have always had the most dedicated teachers there and really admire the principal and the way she runs her school! If there was one thing they were to work on I would say the classrooms could be a little more welcoming to the parents and let us be a little more involved, but I do understand it is somewhat a preference of the teacher. Overall a wonderful school!


Smoketree Elementary School 4

Posted August 04, 2012
- a teacher
I am currently an employee at Smoketree Elementary School. Over the years I have seen staff members grow professionally and collaborate with a focus on making improvements for what is best for students. We are on a path to provide collaboration, communication, critical thinking, and creativity skills for our students, so they are prepared with 21st century skills and a global economy. Our goal is to partner with our parents to make this a reality!

Smoketree Elementary School 3

Posted September 08, 2009
- a teacher
As a former teacher who taught at Smoketree, I have to disagree with your critique of the principal. Connie Hogard's priorities are the children, the parents, and last the teachers. That alone should indicate that she puts more value in appeasing the parents of her students than being a ally to her teachers.

Smoketree Elementary School 1

Posted August 03, 2009
- a parent
Worst School I have ever seen. Pulled our child out the first 10 minutes this morning. The staff could care less about a child's education. absolutely disorganized and pathetic. Even the receptionist was snide and unhelpful Seriously thinking about leaving LHC altogether, If you have young children, move to Lake Havasu City at your own risk.


Smoketree Elementary School 5

Posted August 01, 2009
- a parent
Excellent! a special thanks to Mrs. Nelson, Mrs. Mahan, Mr. Skates, Mr. Erdman and, especially to Mrs. Hogard for everything that they have done for us

Smoketree Elementary School 2

Posted March 11, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Smoketree Elementary School 5

Posted January 23, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Smoketree Elementary School 1

Posted May 08, 2006
- a parent
poorly staffed, espically the recess aides. Lack of education and diversity. Teachers really need an aide for correcting papers and hlep out students who are lacking other students behind. Principal very asympathetic to situation. Plays her power as a principal and does not support the parents. Student / teacher ratio too large 30-33 students to 1 teacher.

Smoketree Elementary School 5

Posted April 08, 2006
- a parent
This school is very good. There are specialists for art, physical education and music, homework clubs and tutoring to help students who are struggling, and teachers who care.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Smoketree Elementary School
2395 Smoketree Ave, Lake Havasu City, AZ  86403
(928) 505-6900
Last modified Smoketree Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Smoketree Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top