Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Starline Elementary School

Public | K-6 | 579 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 29, 2013

BEST SCHOOL EVER!! The students are nice the teachers are amazing and the lunch is awesome.


Posted September 22, 2012

Mr. Murray is an amazing addition to Starline, and is exactly the kind of leader this great school needs to make it even MORE amazing! He's a great leader and a PARENT as well--which gives him a level of understanding and passion for his job that clearly shows and will lead our school into even more greatness! My children's teachers are absolutely amazing as well! We're so lucky to attend this school! Go Starblazers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2012

The New Principal - Mike Murray is the best. He is really turning this school into the best school in Havasu and in Mohave County. I will be sending all 5 of my children to Starline because everything about the school is GREAT! We LOVE Starline Elementary!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2011

A huge disappointment! Parents' opinions (of course) differ depending on what prior experience they have to compare/contrast and their specific teacher that year. Coming from a higher quality, ranked state, district and school, we strongly agree with the other negative reviews as we share most experiences. There are some bright points, some outstanding personnel,.. but in general this school is not worthy of our tax dollars and is actually harming rather than helping many children. .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2011

My daughters K teacher was amazing. I'm so happy that my youngest will be in her class next year. I'm however very disappointed with our principal. She is never available and when you have teachers that are a nervous wreck as soon as she walks thru the door there is a problem. I'm also very disappointed with our district. Learn to budget!! I hope that they get things together at the district and at Starline before they lose more good teachers, students, and parents!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2011

No support from the principal or leadership. The school district eliminated Kindergaten to 1/2 day. Music and Art to one semester, really? Still, we have a Academic Coach walking around the school like she is the principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

I love Starline Elementary because it's a top notch school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2009

As a parent I'm disappointed with the lack of organization. Every year it has been the same, I receive my child's assigned teacher letter after her first day of class. I think it is ridiculous that assigning the teachers for the following year has to be known so last minute to parents and students. PTA is only held during school hours, so if you are a parent who does care but works and would like to be a part of PTA forget that option. Book fairs are only held late one night, you could earn more money if it were held later for people who do work different hours. My child has done well. We were fortunate to have one teacher that was amazing in 2nd grade. I think it's wonderful that children come home from school excited to tell you about their day and what they have learned.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2008

My child went from another school in the city to Starline this year and i think the school is Excellent teachers really care and are involved with the children
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2007

We love Starline Elementary School. Starline is an older school but do not judge this book by it's cover! My son is attending his second year as a Starblazer. He enjoys attending school here and as a parent I am reassured with his comfort level and lack of anxiety when facing the new challenges of growing up. Our principal, Mr. Danley is Wonderful. He is truly concerned about each student and their academic growth. Mr Danley goes the extra mile to ensure that the kids and their families are getting what they need. The teachers at Starline are Top Notch! I actually know many of them personally and professionally inside and outside of school. The school also offers afterschool programs such as a 'Big Brother and Sisters' mentoring program, Arts Advantage run by Mrs. Steele (Starline's Art Teacher) and other activities like Scouts and Parks and Recreation afterschool care.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2006

Starline Elementary academic programs are adequate but far from excellent. They have a reading program called AR where students have to read so many 'AR' books within a schedule amount of time in order to get so many AR points from AR tests. The only problem with this is that there is no consequence to kids for not reading except the some teachers take one grade point away on their language grade. So they go from an A to a B or so forth. Most of year is spent on preparing children for the AIMS test. Music and Art are limited (no instruments). There are no 'sports' except for PE class. Parent involvement is overboard to the point where they do the grading of children's papers for the teacher and the teacher never really looks at the paper to see the progress of the children in his or her class.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2005

do not recommend this school to anyone, availability of music art etc, are scarce not much help in the aspect of para educators or teachers aides, as well as poor performance of lazy staff as well as poor quality of leadership of principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2005

Nothing but good things to say about Starline. The teachers do the best they can with the available resources. You couldn't ask for a better Principal then Mr. Danley.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2004

My daughter has only been in Starline for 1 year, but from what I have seen the school really cares about it's students. Parents are encouraged to be involved in all aspects. The school takes pride in their students and their abilities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2004

Starline Elementary School offers my special needs child a wonderful learning environment. The entire school is part of the team that helps each student learn. The positive attitudes, flexibility, creativity and patience the administration and staff provide is priceless. Every avenue for addressing the needs of my child are reviewed. The communication is consistant and timeley from both administration and teachers/staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2003

Very good school. The teachers seem to work very well together and the principal, Mr. Danley cares about the school and it shows.


Posted March 27, 2003

Love the principal. He has a caring and friendly peronality. He's active in the school and always available to speak with.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
66%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 78% in 2014.

2014

 
 
92%

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
81%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2014.

2014

 
 
70%

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2014.

2014

 
 
89%

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
89%
Science

The state average for Science was 58% in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
83%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2014.

2014

 
 
87%

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
94%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2014.

2014

 
 
50%

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
66%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2014.

2014

 
 
83%

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
92%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
75%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 82% 42%
Hispanic 14% 43%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
Black 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 3%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3150 Starline Dr.
Lake Havasu City, AZ 86406
Website: Click here
Phone: (928) 505-6900

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Jamaica Elementary School
Lake Havasu City, AZ


Telesis Preparatory
Lake Havasu City, AZ


Smoketree Elementary School
Lake Havasu City, AZ



Havasu Preparatory Academy
Lake Havasu City, AZ


Havasupai Elementary School
Lake Havasu City, AZ


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT