Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
15 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 29 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Telesis Preparatory Academy
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 23, 2016
- a parent
Thank you Ms. Fallis for taking time out of your busy schedule to ensure my children succeed. Although you were not their teacher this year you still gave them encouragement and help when they needed it. So glad you are at Telesis!

Telesis Preparatory Academy
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted May 15, 2016
- a parent
ORGANIZED - STRUCTURED AND FAIR DISCIPLINE - CHILDREN KNOW WHAT IS EXPECTED OF THEM. NO NONSENSE.


Telesis Preparatory Academy 5

Posted May 15, 2016
- a parent
Total organization surrounded by love for each child. It is a no nonsense school. Class sizes are wonderful!

Telesis Preparatory Academy 5

Posted May 12, 2016
- a parent
Small classrooms, great staff, amazing stories daily from my girls. My family loves Telesis :)

Telesis Preparatory Academy
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 12, 2016
- a parent
I am very grateful for Ms Mahowald, who has made my daughter's school year fascinating. She is caring, compassionate, ready to help and listen when needed. We appreciate teachers like YOU!


Telesis Preparatory Academy 5

Posted March 15, 2016
- a parent
Telesis has been a great alternative to the crowded public high school. My son does MUCH better with the smaller classroom sizes that Telesis has. It enables the staff to engage with each student and they're great at keeping my son challenged. The staff is absolutely wonderful! The only down side is if your child plans on participating in the dual enrollment program with MCC. Telesis has only a few classes that would be paid for verses getting their whole AA degree virtually for free through the public high school. Other than that I have nothing negative to say about the school, staff or curriculum. It's definitely been a great choice for us!

Telesis Preparatory Academy 5

Posted June 02, 2014
- a parent
Brand new classroom/gymnasium buildings for Academy students are great. Small class sizes and Block Hours help students better focus with teachers while learning new concepts. Good teaching/mentoring combined with the backing of the school's national accreditation gives my family the assurance that we are looking for when considering college preparatory schools. Update - my graduate was offered admission to University of Massachusetts, University of Florida and U of A as a mathematics major (so yes, the foundation is here at Telesis for your child).

Telesis Preparatory Academy 5

Posted February 07, 2014
- a parent
Telesis took my kids in the middle of the school year and worked with them individually enough to pass their classes with awesome grades. My children attend there again this year. They worked with them at whatever level they were on including extensive class participation and sports and have sent them in the right way of not just a good education, but also great life skills that will mold them into educated men. I thank them for the opportunity.


Telesis Preparatory Academy 5

Posted November 07, 2011
- a parent
Great school, low class sizes, motivated and caring teachers, sport activities after school programs, small family like enviroment, dress code. Safe, no nonsense, free solution if you don't like the drama at the public school.

Telesis Preparatory Academy 4

Posted October 23, 2011
- a community member
Telesis... well, for starters, it is a good school with teachers who care about their students and their education. I am a former student and I am for several reasons; this year, Telesis has changed their ways drastically to where it's not even enjoyable to wake up every morning to go to school. It is small; people are into other people's business in which causes a lot of fighting and unnecessary reprimands. Thirdly, I know the school is on a limited budget because they aren't funded like the public schools, but you'd think after twenty years of operation, they'd be more developed. The school is ran by a rent-a-cop who can be benign at times, but really doesn't know how to run a balanced school. The dean however is excellent. He is a kind man and one who surely cares about students and their education. He makes sure things get done and standards are met and beyond. If anything, he should run that school fully. Telesis does deserve more funds I will say because it isn't all that bad of a school. Just be cautious before you decide to send your child here.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Telesis Preparatory Academy
2598 Starlite Ln, Lake Havasu City, AZ  86403
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 29 reviews. (928) 855-8661
Last modified Telesis Preparatory Academy is a Charter school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top