Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Guiding Light Christian Educational Center

Private | PK-2 | 150 students

We are best known for Guiding children since 1984.

 
 

Living in Lake Havasu City

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $107,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $750.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

23 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 29, 2014

Guiding Light Christian Educational Center, located in Lake Havasu City, Arizona provides preschool through third grade students with high-quality, personalized instruction in an active and engaging educational environment. Guiding Light Christian Educational Center is made up of educational leaders. With individual creativity they inspire and support students and one another to reach high achievement. What a great place to be as a student or as a staff member!


Posted April 29, 2014

My son attended Kindergarten during the 2011-12 school year and excelled academically, spiritually, emotionally, and socially. This was the best school for him to attend because his teacher met his needs and the needs of all her students. I accompanied them on several field trips and the kids were always well behaved. His teacher required her students to use their manners and taught them what a good friend should be and how to act like a good friend. He was well prepared for first grade and is still excelling in 2nd grade now.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2014

Guiding Light provides excellent care for my two children and they absolutely love going to school. All staff members are friendly and welcoming. They always show an enthusiasm for teaching and a love for all children. They go above and beyond and exceed what my expectations are for a quality childcare center!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2014

Guiding Light Christian Educational Center believes that if earlier Intervention is put into practice the child has a better chance of succeeding in school and adulthood. Guiding Light Christian Educational Center focuses on creating a positive understanding of behavior; establishing reasonable expectations for behavior and setting clear rules. We teach children to use words to plan and control their behavior. Language is a major route to good social relationships, which are often jeopardized because an impulsive child can be annoying to peers in play or cooperative learning situations.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 26, 2013

In all the years that I have lived in Lake Havasu City, Guiding Light has always provided quality education to all of its students.


Posted August 26, 2013

Guiding Light provides quality education to young people. We offer an innovative program with high quality standards and utilize the best practices to ensure outstanding education for all the children in the program. Our work with the children and their families is essential to a child's success in basic Education. Education remains an important focus for Guiding Light; it ensures children to have an opportunity to excel in their lives. Each child is encouraged to develop at his/her own pace, according to his/her own ability. Children are grouped, not by age, but by development, so they can grow and learn at their own rate. We also encourage parent participation. A close unity among the parents, child and school will help enrich your child's early educational experience. Each teacher at Guiding Light takes pride in their students, school, and program. Our teachers are warm, loving, forgiving, firm and active. They strive to ensure a quality program this takes effort on all staff to create such a great team.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 13, 2010

My children love going to Guiding Light. The school is celebrating their 25th Anniversary this year and has a great reputation! I am so lucky that my family has been able to find such an awesome school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2010

Guiding Light is the BEST, both my children attend school there and they love going to school everyday. I am so pleased with the staff and their hands on way of teaching. My children have learned so much and they just think that they are playing the whole time!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2010

Guiding Light is an Awesome Preschool! It has a caring staff, excellent academic standards, and a strong foundation for growing young minds!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2010

My daughter excelled immediately after I enrolled her. Thestaff are friendly and communicate with me regularly
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2009

It's the best place to work, and both my children loved it there. It's a wonderful enviroment and the caring staff really do a great job with all the children
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 23, 2009

It's the best. The teachers are great. My granddaughter loves to go to school and she's learning so much.


Posted October 22, 2009

The staff does a wonderful job working with all of the students and preparing them for the road ahead!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2009

The Teachers are the Best !!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2009

My daughter is getting the best education possible from Guiding Light.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2009

because it helps to ensure that my child knows and learns about GOD!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2009

My husband and I love and appreciate the staff at Guiding Light Christian Education School. Our grandson loves going to school and is enthusiastic about learning! It fills our hearts with gratitude in knowing he is not only achieving academic goals, but more importantly, is learning about Jesus Christ, Our Lord and Savior. There is no greater gift than knowing Jesus loves us and died for our sins. Academics are important, but academic achievement without morals and ethics is meaningless. Thank you Guiding Light staff, for providing a well-balanced education; mentally, physically, emotionally and spiritually healthy and happy children abound! You are in our prayers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2009

Guiding Light has made such as difference for my daughter they have taught her to grow and develop as a individual, make new friends and most important teach her values in faith and educate her to help her advance and be motivated to learn. They are a very caring and well structured school and great at keeping an open communication with the parents on how your child is advancing. They host many functions for the kids to gather and play, they also offer many programs to assist parents who may not be financially able to send their child to school. Guiding Light is the best school in Lake Havasu and carries the best reputation that is why I trust my childs education and develpoment to them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2009

Guiding Light is a top notch educational facility. Children are our first priority. Making learning a fun, and enriching experience, is equal only to creating a positive Christian environment that stresses responsibility, perseverance and confidence and self-worth.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2009

they take the time to teach the children. they also have a smaller class so that the children learn more with more one on one contact with the teacher.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 84% 42%
Hispanic 9% 39%
Asian 3% N/A
Black 3% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 11%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Hearing impairments
  • Other health impairments
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Clubs
  • Gardening

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
Clubs
  • Student newspaper

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
Clubs
  • Gardening
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 6:30 am
School end time
  • 5:30 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Floriana Hanna / Shanta' Abbott (Assistant Director) Raelene Hanna (Administrative Assistant)
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Extended/longer school day
  • Part-time study
  • Year-round
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSTO
  • CCR&R
  • First Things First
  • Quality First
  • School Choice
Fax number
  • (928) 855-3291

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Waldorf
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Hearing impairments
  • Other health impairments
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Remediation
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Gardening
  • Student newspaper
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

220 Mescal Ln
Lake Havasu City, AZ 86403
Website: Click here
Phone: (928) 855-1022

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Smoketree Elementary School
Lake Havasu City, AZ


Telesis Preparatory
Lake Havasu City, AZ


Starline Elementary School
Lake Havasu City, AZ


Havasupai Elementary School
Lake Havasu City, AZ


Jamaica Elementary School
Lake Havasu City, AZ


Nautilus Elementary School
Lake Havasu City, AZ


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT