Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-12
Public charter
Laveen, AZ
Students enrolled: 399
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Country Gardens Charter School
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted July 03, 2015
- a parent
Teachers focus more on average and failing students and not enough on excelling students. They dont take the parents opinions into account.

Country Gardens Charter School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted July 03, 2015
- a parent
Throughout the year they provide anple homework but on vacations they expect the kids to do all the hw they do as if they were in school daily. So i have to ruin my vacation arguing with my kid to do their hw. Its ok to be given a little hw but not 2 weeks worth.


Country Gardens Charter School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted July 03, 2015
- a parent
No. The only thing they give the kids as an incentive to do their work is water day at the end of the year, which costs money, end of the year class trip to peter piper and a movie or the zoo, or for upper classman a trip out if state and even the country, in which half the parents cant even afford to send there kids to belize. They have even given the kids certificates to Bookmans that can only be redeemed at the Tucson location.

Country Gardens Charter School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted July 03, 2015
- a parent
I really dont think they do anything special to promote or teach the kids these qualities.

Country Gardens Charter School 2

Posted July 03, 2015
- a parent
School charges for their own logo tshirts that must be worn as uniform shirts. $15 each. I could by my kid 5 days worth of outfits for the $75 i spend on shirts for the week. Every month they hav a dance day during the school day and charge kids for admission, snacks, and other stuff. The kids who do not pay get to stay in class. No breakfast or lunch program yet they make you fill out paperwork for it. They ask for all school supplies at the beginning of the year and then combine them into a community bucket for all the students of that grade to share. Items like 8 dozen pencils, markers, crayons, 6 pkgs loose leaf paper per quarter. If one kid doesnt have it then they will just give them someone else's supplies. I spend enough on my kids and dont have more money to spend on someone elses. Then half way tbrough the year they ask for more supplies. Teachers dont take into account parents opinions. They are more worried about average and failing students than excelling ones. Only one music program--the steel drums. No other instruments. No sports activities or clubs for the younger kids below grade 6.


Country Gardens Charter School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted May 29, 2015
- a parent
How can you be effective when you treat one child well and another with obvious predigest.

Country Gardens Charter School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted May 29, 2015
- a parent
This school does not in any way show qualities conducive to a healthy, happy learning environment.

Country Gardens Charter School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted May 29, 2015
- a parent
No respect at all. Bullying is allowed here under the mask that kids will be kids. Just wrong.


Country Gardens Charter School
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted May 29, 2015
- a parent
Children were allowed to curse at students and put them down, say hateful things to my child to tease and hurt feelings. How does that support compassion, caring or empathy? It does not.

Country Gardens Charter School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted May 29, 2015
- a parent
There is no integrity shown at this school nor fairness in my opinion with what our child experienced. Children were allowed to lie about incidents they were involved in and the principal just chalked it up to kids being kids. Not what you want to hear. One of the staff members lied about a conversation and twisted some wording to back a teacher up during an incident. Not the kind of people you want as role models for your children, or that we want for ours.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Country Gardens Charter School
6313 W Southern Ave, Laveen, AZ  85339
(602) 237-7370
Last modified Country Gardens Charter School is a Charter school that serves grades K-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Country Gardens Charter School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 99 reviews. Top