Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Trailside Point Elementary School

Public | K-8 | 900 students

Our community involvement and volunteer service

 
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

24 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 25, 2014

Trailside Point is AWESOME! The school was just awarded an A+ SCHOOL IN ARIZONA!!! What strides this school has accomplished with excellent staff, teachers, parents and students!! You will want to check out Trailside Point Elementary School, now voted an A+ School in Arizona. The A+ School of Excellence Program is a comprehensive school assessment program that celebrates outstanding schools and brings to light the positive stories and successes happening in public schools every day. The A+ School of Excellence Program unifies and energizes a school and its community. The A+ School of Excellence Program was created by the Arizona Educational Foundation in 1983. Its purpose is threefold: to identify and give public recognition to outstanding public schools in Arizona; to make available a comprehensive framework of key criteria for school effectiveness that can serve as a basis for participatory self-assessment and planning in schools; to facilitate communication and sharing of best practices within and among schools based on a common criteria related to success.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted December 8, 2013

My kids have been at Trailside for 6 years. I have seen huge improvements since our current principal has been there. The teachers are amazing and the office staff is so friendly and helpful. Volunteers have made a difference too. We recently had to move but we stayed in the neighborhood so the kids could stay in this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2011

I have two daughters and a nephew who attend this school and they absolutely love it . They work well with student and the teachers are very attentive. My youngest was born after august 31st took the kinder screening test and passed on her first day of school she misses the bus back home. I get a call from the office and explain that I work 23 miles away- turns out the assistant principal gave my daughter a ride home!!!! I ABSOLUTELY LOVE IT
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2011

I have four children at this school and love it. The teachers are great. I volunteer a lot and I wish there was more parental involvement. My children love the school and I feel they are getting a good education. My oldest went from a below average student and needing resources to a honor roll student and doing great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2010

I have a child that needs extra resources to help him learn. This school has bent over backwards to help him. The teaching staff has improved year over year and this year my son has started excelling in school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2010

I have 4 children in the district and they are great. Not perfect but they are responsive and supportive to kids and parents. The district is available anytime there were issues and have been an active participant in strengthening our community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2009

The adminstration at this school is awful. They don't keep parents informed on what is going on with their children. This school has not changed in the three years it has been open as some of these reviews have indicated.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2009

What a wonderful place to have my kinder son attend. The school gives a feeling of community, family and safty. The staff and teachers actually know the student's and recognize them, parents and realitives. It's awsome to know that my son is not just a 'student' that attends there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2009

This is our 3rd school year at Trailside Point and things just keeping getting better. I see teachers and administrators that really care about the kids. They are a Performing Plus school this year and that mixed with all the extracurricular activities that are offered now really make it a great school that is focused on developing the whole person.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2009

The school has made a huge change from 2 years ago. The test scores are up and discipline issues are down. Trailside is currently a Performing Plus school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2009

I would give this school only a one star rating. Disciplining the upper grade level students was a continual issue for me. My eighth grader, normally an A+, outgoing student, became withdrawn and quiet. He finally said the continual climate in the classrooms was total disrespect for the teachers and learning was difficult in this kind of environment. He begged me to take him out of there, which I did in the fall of 2008. Did I let the Principal and Asst. Principal know of the problems in the classrooms? Yes, but I think because they are so young and inexperienced, they do not know how to handle the discipline problems and lack of respect from so many of the upper grade level students. If you have a child that is an overachiever - be very involved and listen to your child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2009

I was an 8th grade student at trailside last year. Overall it's the best school I have been too. The teachers relate to the student and are very helpful. The staff is kind and are there if anyone needs help. I loved it there and I had a great experience there!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 12, 2008

Since the school be open spring 2007 both of my children have made the principle list and honor roll. I'm afraid to move when my rental lease is up, because my children are doing so good at Trailside Point
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2008

I have 2 boys going here, 3rd & 5th grade. They went to Laveen Elementary before Trailside was built. This campus is obviously beautiful and new, but I agree with some of the other postings on the decision to go K-8, terrible influence on the younger children. The junior high kids leave school and exit the park with mine and there have been incidents of fighting and bullying of my oldest son. I'v been in the office dropping paperwork ofF and wittnessed the disrespectful way the older kids talk to the staff. I think there is an element in the neighborhood that with time and pressure on landlords can be weeded out. Until then I am considering changing schools, it is overcrowded, 30 students is just too much.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2008

Very nice school, clean. they are very good about security for the students. I have a grandchild in Kindergarden and she loves it. I love it too.


Posted June 13, 2008

My child just finished the 07-08 year in first grade. We were very happy with all of the first grade teachers. They all obviously work togeher as a team but other grades, especially upper grades, look like they need a lot of help. All of the meetings I attended had complaints of violence and dicipline in the upper grades. Fortunatly they do separate the upper grades from lower, and both my child and teacher confirmed that they have not seen any of the issues that were being complained about. We have a new team of leaders next year, a promising PTA (just needs more active volunteers), and a great office staff that work wonderfully with parents. Because of this I am willing to give this school a chance. I'm confident that the next few years will weed out the rest of the 'bad'.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2008

This was my child's first year of school here, and I was really surprised by the amount of parent involvement in her class. She seems to be getting a quality education compared to many of our relatives kids. The teachers are all very friendly, there is some problem with tardiness to school, but really what school doesn't have this problem. I thought it was great that the principal was holding students and parents accountable for excessive tardiness. There is some overcrowding, but that is typical for new areas such as this. It really shouldn't be of a surprise to anyone. The school board recently received an award as one of the best school boards in Az, and they have given significant raises to teachers the last couple of years. I think some of the problems in the past are getting worked out.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2008

This school is a very good school i dont know what these parents are thinking.....But my kids like this school. So over all its a good school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2008

I knew there was a problem the first day I walked my daughter into that office on her first day of school and saw a line out the door with children waiting to get a pass to class due to their tardiness. I thought to myself, oh my......what have I done to my daughter. I do believe parents are the ones to blame for those children not being disciplined. However, I've heard the horror stories my daughter has told me and also what little the school has done on their part to correct it. Even with all the chaos at the school, my daughter has managed to be great kids and an A & B student with no disciplinary problems. However, she deserves a better school and that she will get.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2008

It was a BIG mistake for the district to decide on having K-8 at one school. The school is over crowded and some staff seem overwhelmed. I do not believe there is enough homework given and there are many times my kids say 'we had free time today'. I'm trying to make up the difference with subject/scholastic workbooks at home.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
57%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
68%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
54%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
68%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
55%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
64%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
50%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
50%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
72%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
36%

2010

 
 
54%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
42%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
60%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
30%

2010

 
 
57%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
46%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
63%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing Plus".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 52% 43%
Black 26% 5%
White 12% 42%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 3%
Two or more races 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 52%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Security personnel
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
Clubs
  • Recycling club
  • Technology club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Art club
  • Drama club
  • Step team
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Clubs
  • Girls on the run
  • Step team

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
Clubs
  • Debate
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 7:30am
School end time
  • 2:30pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Sarah Zembruski
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (602) 605-8545

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
  • Individually guided instruction
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Foreign languages taught
  • None
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Scooptacular
  • Jersey Mike's
  • McDonald's
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Flag football
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Flag football
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Book/reading club
  • Boy scouts
  • Chess club
  • Community service
  • Cub scouts
  • Debate
  • Drama club
  • Girl scouts
  • Girls on the run
  • JROTC
  • National Honor Society
  • Recycling club
  • Step team
  • Student council/government
  • Student newspaper
  • Technology club
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7275 W. Vineyard Road
Laveen, AZ 85339
Website: Click here
Phone: (602) 605-8540

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Kings Ridge School
Phoenix, AZ



Riverbend Prep
Laveen, AZ



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT