Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
33 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 38 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Betty Fairfax High School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted December 09, 2015
- a parent
Apparently, if you complain about the school they shut off your ability to manage your son'so academics online. I never heard of an educational institution actually hindering a student academically

Betty Fairfax High School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted December 09, 2015
- a parent
Some of the dumbest people on the planet are in charge of this school. In particular, Principal Wooley, Dennis Gregory, and Heather Miller


Betty Fairfax High School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted December 09, 2015
- a parent
The administration has no clue what they're doing. I've recorded all my meetings and released them online.

Betty Fairfax High School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted December 09, 2015
- a parent
My son was denied due process and suspended for an incident on 10-18-15 that allegedly took place on campus. Only problem is 10-18-15 was on a Sunday. Campus was closed and school wasn't in session on Sundays. I'm so glad I recorded all my meetings and kept all the certified letters they sent.

Betty Fairfax High School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted December 09, 2015
- a parent
I will be releasing all recordings I've got to the public of meetings I've had with Principal Wooley, Dennis Gregory, and Heather Miller. On these recordings I will let you listen to how dishonest and contradictory these three idiots are. Parents beware of this school and dealing with these three in particular.


Betty Fairfax High School 1

Posted December 09, 2015
- a parent
I am being very genorous by even giving this pathetic school one star. My son was suspended without due process for an incident that supposedly happened on campus on October 18, 2015. Only problem is October 18, 2015, was on a Sunday and school wasn't even in session. I've attempted to meet with the administration there, dealt with social workers there, and know help whatsoever. My son's rights were denied but thankfully I recorded all meetings and have a copy of the letter I received certified mail which clearly shows he was suspended October 18, 2015. Beware of administrators Principal Wooley, Dennis Gregory, and Heather Miller. These people are a joke and I've filed a complaint with the district and attorney general's office. Parents avoid this school like the plague.

Betty Fairfax High School 3

Posted July 26, 2014
- a community member
Hm, alright. I'm currently a junior at this school. I've been attending since my freshman year. My freshman year was smooth an easy. The school made it easy for me to transition from a middle school setting to a more mature setting. Though, I've had a bad experience going on after freshman year. Sophomore year, my grades dropped dramatically. The teaching habits overall were rushed, and the lessons were stuffed down our throats. Not only did I experience this, but the whole sophomore class was. They have senior leveled expectations from the jump, and I think it's unnecessary. I'm forced to go to this school cause I love near by, but if I had a choice, I'd go to Chavez in a heart beat. This school is a homophobic based environment, which is unhealthy for the LGBT community. People are bullied at this school every day and the school doesn't bother to do anything about it (though they notice and see it everyday). I don't recomend anyone come here, it's very rushed and not many students pass their classes due to the fact that it's rushed. PostScrpit: The school is very lazy at keeping the school website/other things updated.

Betty Fairfax High School 1

Posted April 13, 2014
- a parent
I can rate the school not even 1 start but I don't have that choice. My daughter went there for one week and it was horrible the teachers are really rude, and there's a lot of bullying and theft problems and the school is not doing nothing about it, I was really concerned about my daughter she didn't want to go to school every morning, she was very scared, definitely not recommend this school to anyone, now she's attending to Cesar Chavez and what a difference, is the same district but a better school.


Betty Fairfax High School 5

Posted January 31, 2014
- a community member
I am currently a freshman here at Fairfax. This is a great school on the students education. They care about the students education, thu tend to teach the whole student, which is also part of a IB program. The school provides many ways to teach the whole student, ie: they have a tutoring hour where the students go to one of their classes they need help in, & they have programs dealing with what that student needs to be taught. This school provides alot for any kind of student with emotional problems, financial problems, etc. The school is made fun of by those outside of the phoenix union Highschool district, saying Fairfax is made of punks, but honestly you don't see that here, until you see Cesar Chavez High school. Compared to Chavez and Fairfax, Fairfax is by far best in teaching the student and caring for them. I recommend this highschool, even though I am a freshman, I actually enjoy coming to school. This school keeps me happy.

Betty Fairfax High School 2

Posted January 08, 2014
- a parent
This school has potential but they are not quite there. The students are allowed to loiter and there is high theft rate. My student and some peers have experienced bullying and theft. The principal, Dr. MUNOZ has no respect or concern for students safety. The administration does not return calls or follow up with parent concerns. The only positive thing they have going on is the IB program, which very few of the teachers are willing to put effort into their job. I want to recognize "Mrs. Baker" an IB math teacher for her dedication, concern and willingness to really teach the curriculum. She makes students accountable and has had a positive impact on the math department.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Betty Fairfax High School
8225 S. 59th Avenue, Laveen, AZ  85339
(602) 764-9000
Last modified Betty Fairfax High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Betty Fairfax High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 38 reviews. Top