Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Rogers Ranch School

Public | K-8

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 8 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 3, 2013

This school is awful, they cannot keep teachers employed and they cannot keep bullying under control or the amount of cursing that the kids run around speaking. Do yourself a favor and don't send your kids to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 22, 2013

I made the mistake of pulling my child out of a good Charter School because I was excited a new school was opening near my home. It turned out to be a HUGE mistake. In the first few months of school several teachers quit. My child s teacher was one of them. The ONLY communication we received from the school about him leaving was a letter HE sent home 1 week before his last day. After he left the school did NOT keep parents informed of what was going on. The class was left with a substitute who was not teaching, for a couple months. What made me pull my child from Rogers was teacher conferences this year. We were shuffled through and all they did was hand us the grades with a brief explanation. When I tried to engage in conversation about my child s progress and goals the 8th grade teacher sitting across from seemed annoyed and ready for the conversation to over. We never got to speak to the teacher she was having the most trouble with. It was explained that the 4 teachers split up and he was busy with other parents. Maybe one day Rogers Ranch can work out the kinks and become a better school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2013

I really like this school. The school isn't the problem some of the parents are. They do not punish their children and let them do whatever they want.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2013

I have a child that attends Roger's Ranch and I was very pleased with his teacher and the staff this year. With the school in its first year I know there were issues with a new staff, but the principal handled every situation professionally. She was very visible on campus and in the community. My son enjoyed the fact that he had access to so much technology, which I know was a vision of the principal, Mrs. Heller since I attended the community meetings. I was very upset to find out that she is leaving and she will be missed. I hope her vision for Roger's Ranch is continued with the new staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2013

The school is not the problem, the neighborhood is! My husband and I moved to the area from out of state without fully researching the neighborhood (our biggest mistake - our home is currently up for sale). Too many parents and children here have no respect for property, education or for each other. The neighborhood is riddled with crime, gangs, drugs and weapons. Thanks to Mrs. Heller's vision, the school has the latest and greatest in technology. Her forward thinking by looking at other schools, probably led her to the decision to not allow backpacks. There are many other schools that do not allow backpacks and/or do not have lockers. I can only guess the reason being the ability to control the amount of weapons/drugs being brought to school as well as preventing the lose of ipads and/or laptops from being stolen. My daughter carries a small purse for her school supplies (pens, pencils, rulers, etc.) and her "privates". Maybe if more parents were involved, attended meetings and asked questions, they may understand why certain decisions are made. I feel sorry for the new principal, he has no idea what he's in for and will have some very big shoes to fill.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2013

I have a child at Rogers Ranch. I am very happy with the school. I am very active in my daughters class. Her teacher is amazing and always willing to go the extra mile to insure my child has a great education. Mrs Heller is always available to talk to me about any of my concerns... which is normally the older students on campus. She seems to address the issues quickly and with compassion. Since I am so active in my daughters class I have noticed there is a large lack of parent involvement, I feel if parents would take the time to participate in their students education the outcome for the child is much larger. When I attend the PTO meetings it is normally just 2-3 parents MAX. The front office staff is always upbeat and able to help with any questions. I feel the largest issue with this school is not the staff or admin but the lack of parent involvement. My daughter will attend until we no longer live in the area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2013

As all parents were excited about the opening of Rodgers Ranch Elementary school...now its just a major disappointment! I regret having my child enrolled in this school, and definitely my child will not be returning. The principle is all talks and can't handle the pressure. My child attends kinder there and her teacher is great, but she is absent at least once or twice a month, to the point where the students in her class realizes it. The front office staff is a joke as well, we had some issues that we needed the principals attention right away a few weeks ago, but we were brushed off like it wasn't important by the secretary. But their importance was showing off each others tattoo! There is way too many bad kids in that school, and during end of day the kids are just running wild in the hall ways and down and up the stairs, I almost got run over by the kids, there should be a hall way monitor or something, the dirty list goes on...ultimately we are very dissatisfied with this school it don't even deserve a star!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2013

At first i was excited to have a school within walking distance of my house but now i find myself seeking other options. I think the principal means well but is really not in control of her staff. I have had to come to her on several occasions and have never felt completely satisfied with the outcome. They seem to be constantly changing school rules without any parents having a say and it has gotten to the point were i feel my childs education is been gambled with because her 6th grade teacher seems more concerned with his image of a great teacher to the other staff and really doing his job by my child and her classmates. Did i mention my 4th grader has had over 4 teachers and numerous substitutes? I had to bring it to the principals attention by the middle of September that my child was still not bringing in homework and i was concerned that do to their lack of staff he may not be at the same level as the rest of the 4th grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 78% in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 58% in 2014.

2014

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2014.

2014

 
 
78%

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2014.

2014

 
 
43%

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2014.

2014

 
 
51%

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

2014

 
 
49%

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 86% in 2014.

2014

 
 
85%

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Science

2014

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2014.

2014

 
 
49%

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

2014

 
 
73%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 63% in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

The Arizona Department of Education did not report AZ LEARNS results for this school.

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 a.m.
School end time
  • 3:30 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Mr. Tim Thomas
Fax number
  • (602) 304-2035
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6735 S. 47th Avenue
Laveen, AZ 85339
Website: Click here
Phone: (602) 304-2030

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Riverbend Prep
Laveen, AZ







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT