Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Scott L Libby Elementary School

Public | PK-6 & ungraded

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 6, 2014

This school really has everything! The multiage teachers are providing a wonderful environment for my child to learn and grow. I am elated to have found this gem of a school that has given me piece of mind. I know my child is safe, cared for, and being well educated.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 23, 2013

This school provides a great atmosphere for students to learn. I am impressed with the teachers and how happy the students are to be at school. Students have fun extra curricular activities to choose from such as drama, student council, honor society, art club, and chorus.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2013

My sons went to Liberty and we loved it there. At that time, I couldn't imagine them being anywhere else in Arizona school district. We Love the Traditional Academy and Ms Vasquez!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2013

Scott Libby is an awesome school. It is an "A" rated school and they definitely deserve it. The students are taught not just to memorize and regurgitate facts but to critically think and understand concepts they are learning. The atmosphere is very positive and students always seem very happy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 3, 2009

We have been on a variance for three years now. I am biting my nails whenever I have to wait and see if they will get in again. My children have mainly attended charter schools.....so when I found Scott Libby, I wasn't sure if I would like a 'public' school. This school is awesome and better than that - my children love it. The teachers are amazing and talented--no turnover at all. The administration cares about the studeants , it shows every day. I volunteer all the time and I see the special things that make the school exceptional. I paid for a private school for my kiddos at one point and they did not receive half of the dedication and caring that they recieive now. We love Scott Libby.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2009

As a teacher at Scott Libby, I must say that we have the most supportive staff out of any school I have every seen. Friend of mine, who are teachers as well, are always telling me how lucky I am to work with such great people and for such a wonderful principal. The children at SL are top-notch, and our parents are extremely involved in the school culture. Our school may be a little old and 'well loved' but there are so many rich and fantastic traditions here. Everyone loves music, PE, library, Chorus, Student Council, Wee Deliver, and the PTA. Mrs. Nelson is a constant wealth of knowledge and support. I know that if I ever need anything, I can call any of my wonderful parents or my fantastic colleagues. There's a reason parents clamor to get variances to come here! Scott Libby is the BEST!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 8, 2009

I am a parent of a first grader at Scott Libby. The school has options for each grade to attend to needs of students. The principal and teachers encourage parent involvement with the school. The school teaches respect, responsibility and accountability. The PTA is very active and responsive and the children that attend this school are caring and wonderful. I am very pleased with the education that my daughter is receiving. In kindergarten she could read and do math and and in 1st grade, she's learning to write in cursive and spell, and read chapter books. Thanks Scott Libby!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2009

Both of my children attended Pre-K-5th grade @ Scott Libby starting in 1996 through 2008. Great school. Great kids. Great teachers. Great leadership and Great parents. Can't ask for anything more. The only negative is it spoils you! Middle School can't compare.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2008

They may not be a big school or a brand new one, but they are the best. It says a great deal with a principle that won an national award. I have a child with special need and they alway go above and beyond for her. THey are truely a godsent. I cant say enought good things about this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2007

I have been very happy with my childrens success at Scott Libby. All of the teachers that I've dealt with have always been very professional and genuinely care for my children. They're fantastic at bringing the community together with their fall and spring festivals and dances. My children are proud to attend Scott Libby Elementary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2005

I love Scott Libby school. The principal and teachers are very open and available making it easy to keep up with how your child is doing. For 1, 2 & 3rd grades you can choose a traditional classroom setting or a multiage setting. There are also oportunities to loop up with the 1st grade. The teachers for all of the programs are outstanding so you can choose based on what works best for your child instead of just picking where the best teachers are. In the 2003/04 school year they deservedly earned the A+ award. I have been a Scott Libby mom for 5 years now and I am very satisfied with the academic quality. It is very easy to be involved. There are wonderful parents. Most of the performances are during the day with an outstanding turnout. Music & PE are good cafeteria is decent, wish they had better art.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2003

My husband and I have been very impressed and pleased with the quailty of our daughters education at Scott Libby. From the start (K) the staff has been there to help with any special educational needs. Mrs. Hunter is a gem who has been on target with our daughters needs. Keep up the good work and thanks for being such a dedicated staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2002

I was told by a teacher that she could not control her class. She did not know what to do. She seemed lost. I worry about the quality of instruction from a teacher who has no confidence in her ability.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

122 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

122 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

133 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

133 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

115 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
64%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

115 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
79%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

114 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
0%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
0%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Highly Performing".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 62% 42%
Hispanic 33% 43%
Black 2% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Two or more races 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 5%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 40%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

18701 W. Thomas Rd.
Litchfield Park, AZ 85340
Website: Click here
Phone: (623) 535-6000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

White Tanks Learning Center
Litchfield Park, AZ



West Valley Adventist School
Litchfield Park, AZ



Desert Thunder
Goodyear, AZ



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT