Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Marana Middle School

Public | 7-8

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 26, 2014

I can't say enough wonderful things about the leadership and staff at Marana Middle School. We had 2 children attend in previous years that have since entered High School. We now have a 7th grader at the school, The leadership at this school is so positive, encouraging, genuine and supportive, As a parent, I have never seen such an involved, hands on leadership team. In addition, the teachers are so involved and are top notch at communicating with the parents. I appreciate this on so many levels. Our oldest son was on an IEP at the school and we received nothing but support and patience from the principal Kristin Reidy. I love that our child could attend the Falcon Camp prior to beginning school and learn the in and outs of the transition in to middle school, without the stress of learning things the 1st day. I am looking forward to the 2014/2015 school year and have all the confidence it will be very successful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 12, 2013

I have had 2 students go to Marana Middle School. They are great if your child does not have any disabilities. If your child does have disabilities. This has been the worst school for both of the children. I have had to pull both of them out of the school and find another school for them. Once I found another school, they were doing so much better. Marana Middle School teachers and administration was trying to say it was all my childs fault. They were bullied and no one did anything to help. They were made to feel belittled and helpless. All the hard work the elementary school did to help, went right out the window. I am so amazed how adults who say they care could treat these children so badly. I have been lied to by administrators, I do not believe any child that has a disability is safe there. Even our Doctor agrees. This has gone as far as the children getting hurt physically. No recomendation here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2013

I will admit that I was nervous to have my son attend such a large middle school, but I am so grateful that we chose to have him attend Marana Middle School. We are on our second year, and the teachers, staff, coaches, and administration continue to impress me day after day. We had a concern arise recently. Within two days of sending an email, the principal called us in to meet with us with all the answers that we needed. The administration of this school truly cares about its students and staff and their success. MMS also runs the BEST after school programs in the area if not in the entire state. The 21st Century Grant provides my son with the opportunity to take photography and dissection classes after school. They want any student who would like to play a sport to be able to play. This year we had 8 boys basketball teams. They encourage a lifelong love of fitness. Due to a previous grant, the PE facilities resemble that of LA Fitness. My son chose to take PE again even when it wasn't required because he loves all the physical exercise that is available to him at MMS. My son has participated in the Enriched classes available both years. He loves MMS, and so do I.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2011

My son started this year in 8th grade. He has ADHD. I feel they did not meat his needs when communicating assignments, homework or the days work. As parents we witnessed a teacher's unacceptable behavior. Which cause my son to be unhappy there. Lack of communication regarding our son's progress (besides progress reports) We contacted the priciple but by the time all was resolved, my son's grades suffered. We transfered him and he is doing much better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2010

I have just started my 8th grade year at Marana Middle School and I am proud to say that this will most likely be the best school year yet! I am in all enriched classes, Algebra 1, jazz band, and the gifted program. This school has the best staff and creative opportunities than any other school I have been to. I cannot wait for what the rest of the year holds, and I'm really excited to go to Marana High!


Posted September 16, 2009

It has a great rating, a great parents rating and the support of the Marana community who will pay for great schools.


Posted October 3, 2008

I am currently an 8th grade on Team Gecko. This school is one of the best schools that I have seen in this area. Yes there may be some scary kids around campus (lke one of the previous reviews had said) but as long as you teach your child right from wrong, then you wont have to worry. Since I am on Tea, Gecko, I would like say that i think that this is a great team, and i want to take a minute to talk about the teachers. Mrs. Crothers: awesome. she is the best teacher you could ever ask for, she is fun, and a great motivator. She organizes the Washington D.C. trip, and it may be expensive, but i would recommend it to anyone. i would try and get your child on that team. you would not regreat it. MMS is great!
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 9, 2008

I have been pleasantly surprised with Marana Middle School. We were new to the area last year and I wasn't quite sure what to expect .My son had a very positive 7th grade experience and can't wait to go back next year. His teachers did a great job of communicating with me on a regular basis and challenging my son to do his best. We really like the principal, too. She is very down to earth, and easy to talk with. The students think very highly of her, which says a lot.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2008

Marana Middle School opens kids eyes to teach them about Pride Respect and Responsibility! I am a seventh grader on team Chupacabra also Known as Coatimundi!The teachers challenge the kids which is something we need as a students! I can proudly say I am a Falcon with pride and no shame at all!
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 27, 2007

My oldest son is just finishing up his 8th grade at this school. We have had nothing but postive experiences with this school! His teachers and the programs are great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2006

Recently moved from california and I see a big difference in the school here. They seem very laxed in their expectations of the student. They do seem to try to relate to students and make learning fun. I believe with more people moving into marana the school will be getting more attention. I have seen improvements on their AIMS tests. It is mediocre right now they call it performing. It will be great to see it excelling. I do think their are two mindsets that clash at this school small town(which it is no longer going to be) vs city mentality
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2005

My daughter is a self-motivated student and her biggest complaint was the lack of accountability. Although she was in all advanced classes, many of her classmates didn't turn in assignments timely or at all, with little or no consequences. I met my daughters teachers, counselor and some administration, who all seemed to care about my child. The academics may be fine for an average student, but mine wasn't challenged. They did offer an 8th grade trip to D.C. which was well managed. There are some scary looking kids on campus, but they seem harmless & school safety doesn't seem to be an issue. All Arizona public schools suffer from the mediocrity bred by the standardized AZ test. The top students don't get challenged because the effort is on getting the lowest to pass the test. Grammer & creativity aren't priorities. This school is as good as any Tucson school, possibly better.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

519 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

519 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
84%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

509 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

506 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
57%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

503 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Highly Performing".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 61% 42%
Hispanic 31% 43%
Black 3% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
Two or more races 2% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 49%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

11279 West Grier Road
Marana, AZ 85653
Website: Click here
Phone: (520) 682-4730

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


A. C. E.
Marana, AZ






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT