Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-12
Private
Marana, AZ
Students enrolled: 177
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Sun & Shield Christian Academy 5

Posted February 06, 2012
- a parent
This school is perfect for an elementary aged child. The class size is small, giving each child the attention he/she needs. They have high standards. They will give your Kindergartener a great start and a good foundation to their educational career and life in general. The staff are excellent and work well together. The dress code is alright. I hope my daughter will always be a little more modest in her dressing in the future. It does make you a little more judgemental. One may think this is a private school that will shield their child from the outside world, but there are children from all backgrounds that have different personalities that attend the school. This may bring about conflict and problems to be experienced and to learn from. Your child will receive lessons in life and a great education here to well equip them for life. And learning from the Bible, which is full of great values and morals, is an added plus to enhance anyone's life! Why not trust God? What do you have to lose? You'll know what I mean once your try it...

Sun & Shield Christian Academy 5

Posted May 11, 2011
- a community member
Great School!!! Highly recommend!!! Teachers have lots of one-on-one contact with students. Small class sizes. Structured environment.


Sun & Shield Christian Academy
no rating

Posted May 06, 2010
- a parent
There is good people who care about the children and what the children need, there.

Sun & Shield Christian Academy
no rating

Posted June 18, 2009
- a parent
As the name says: the children at this school are all shield from the real world out there, troubles would arise when they will face the world outside of those buildings and all they will have is God.If you are hardcore Christian, from a past century , This will suits you well.

Sun & Shield Christian Academy 4

Posted June 12, 2009
- a community member
When I attended SSCA in the 90 s, the staff was loving, and they provided godly examples. It has been very encouraging to see how that in the past 5 years the school has doubled in enrollment and has added a new modular building to the existing brick educational wing. The new building houses a small library and an art room. The staff continue to be loving, godly examples willing to listen to parents in addition to being well-trained, certified teachers. I can t wait to see what will happen in the next 5 years!


Sun & Shield Christian Academy
no rating

Posted April 18, 2009
- a parent
I choose this school for my child because of the focus on academics, not popular culture. My child feels safe, cared for, and supported, and is excited to learn every day. I agree with the poster from March 31st, parents need to understand and agree with a school's philosophy before sending their child to that school.

Sun & Shield Christian Academy
no rating

Posted March 31, 2009
- a community member
Looks like this is a Christain school with high standards. Seems like someone who wouldn't agree with what the bible teaches would have not chosen to send their children to such school. Wish I had the same issues with my school!!

Sun & Shield Christian Academy
no rating

Posted December 11, 2007
- a parent
Do not send your children to this school unless you want them to be taught to be judgemental and sheltered from the real world. The female staff is only allowed to wear dresses or skirts. No pants! Those are only for men. The female students are treated this way as well. No Santa Clause at Christmas. No Halloween. The students are not allowed to talk about music, movies, television, video games or anything to do with popular culture. If you are a parent and show up to school to pick your child up and are not dressed according to the school's dress code you are asked to remain in your vehicle so that no one will see you. There is no library. The school is made up of two single-wide trailers. There are two classrooms and the grounds are trashy. The school preaches that homosexuality is an abberation of God.


Sun & Shield Christian Academy 5

Posted August 07, 2007
- a parent
Good variety of academic programs available. Staff very loving and professional. Always want to do their best for the students. Most parents very involved in everything from academics to field trips to sports. Extra staff available for tutoring, art, Spanish, music, etc.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Sun & Shield Christian Academy
8811 West Avra Valley Road, Marana, AZ  85653
(520) 682-3423
Last modified Sun & Shield Christian Academy is a Private school that serves grades K-12
Sun & Shield Christian Academy Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top