Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Maricopa Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 645 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 10 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

29 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 6, 2014

This is a great school for my special needs child. He is making gains every day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 21, 2013

There are two ladies in the front office. The Hispanic one is nice and helpful. Can't say the same for the other. I have heard her be rude to other parents besides me. She wasn't to kid friendly with my children on the first day. I have an I'll child that is on a special diet. He was told by a teacher not to bring in certain things. I would of been ok if maybe she asked a parent why he had it or sent a note home. The nurses and vice president were nice and understanding. Mrs Abner is an awesome teacher. I wasn't even told ahead of time that when it rains the children only have half days. Hopefully things will get better and they get rid of the rude lady up front.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2013

I called the school to ask some questions. The security seemed like she just wanted to rush me off the phone. She didn't sound to welcoming either. I will for sure be looking for my children to go else where. Even if it is out my way.


Posted August 28, 2013

If you child is bullied or assaulted at Maricopa Elementary, don't expect the Administration to do a thing. My son was assaulted on 8/16/13 by another student that resulted in a concussion. The Administration's response: A "Disciplinary Action Form" was filled out. That is it. The aggressor was able to return to school immediately after the incident while my son sat in the ER. There were no Administrators there that day. But I was told by the Nurse, her Assistant and Jerry one of the Secretaries that this was a Zero Tolerance school and the other kid would be delt with. I beg you to take your child/ren elsewhere. The kids at this school are not safe. Not one single adult witnessed a huge group of kids surrounding my son laying on the ground crying!?! B.S. They wanted to sweep it under the rug
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2012

Now that Reese is leaving and morale will be better next year and those of you who keep your kids there will hopefully see them come home happier because they aren't so bored anymore - simple things like recess and creativity may get be part of the school day again.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2012

I am new to this school and therefore can only speak to what I've seen for the past few months. Reading the previous reviews I was struck by the thought "what a difference a year can make!" I am happy to report that I have seen teachers who are passionate about their profession, teachers who display professionalism and dedication, and teachers who really care about the success of each student. The character traits that are being taught to the students are modeled by the teachers. I'm excited that parent involvement is on the rise and am even more excited to be part of the positive changes that are taking place with the overall culture of the school. But don't just take my word for it, get involved, take part, and facilitate the advancement of our students and community and you'll be able to see for yourselves!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 1, 2011

DO NOT SEND YOUR CHILD TO THIS SCHOOL. My son went to this school and they lost him. Didn't call me and tell until he was missing for over 30 minutes. So of the teacher are good at this school but how the school in ran makes this school a bad school. So if your child safety is important to you don't send them to this school. If I could give them no stars I would!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2011

There is misinformation that I need to make sure gets corrected. I am a teacher at this school and our scores did not go down. I am not sure where this parent got this information from. Indeed our scores were amazing!!!!! For the first time EVER MES made AYP!!! (Adequate Yearly Progress). The sour grapes (teachers) that were keeping our climate down, are finally gone and it already feels great. For the first time in the 5 years that i have worked here I am PROUD to be a part of this school. I now feel like I belong to a team and I can brag about being a good teacher. GO DIAMONDBACKS!!!!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 11, 2011

Fact#4- Our school has never had a traditional art program; however it is up to each individual teacher to incorporate art into meaningful lessons that are tied in with state standards. My students recently finished creating dioramas that were related to a book that we read, and they loved every minute of it. If you can t be creative and learn to make these art lessons meaningful for students than maybe you need to reevaluate yourself as a teacher and as a parent you need to be asking yourself what am I really sending my students to school for? If you d like to see us in action, just stop by. On May 12th our students will get to watch a play, May 13th we ll be receiving a special visit from a famous author, our Character Counts assembly is on May 18th, Academic awards assembly is May 19th, Talent Show,Water Day is May 23rd log onto www.youtube an check out the special visit that we had from the FOX Whirlybird!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 18, 2011

What has happened at MES this year? These are some of my observations. Students are not being allowed to socialize @ lunch, very little science /social studies/art instruction, administration openly scolding students in front of their peers. The students/staff appear to be following rules based on fear and intimidation instead of learning to making positive choices. As a parent I feel communication is lacking. I hear of events only through sheer luck, & most of the time after the event. And the latest, rewarding students who did well on a test to have a dress fee day, the students who did not succeed were easily identified by their uniform clothing that day. Isn t this discriminatory? Next year, many parents I know will be moving their children to other schools & districts. They, like me, are witnessing a change in culture on this campus, one that is not favorable. Warm, caring & loving teachers are leaving because they too are unhappy, this is a travesty.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2011

I am proud to be a teacher at Maricopa Elementary School. Our teachers and administration have been working long hours to strengthen our test scores. We have been zealous in implementing a character program. We are using data to drive our instruction. Our scores are improving and we celebrate our success!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 12, 2011

My wife and I enrolled our son in MES to support our local school. And this year has been eye opening, the school really has some challenges and obstacles to tackle. We have been actively involved in his education with volunteering 1 to 2 times per week. And although we do not agree with everything going on at the school, we can attest that our child has grown this year with math and reading comprehension. We are encouraged that with continued participation, that our son's education will blossom, and we will continue to help with anything we can.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2011

Our elementary school has indeed had many changes this year however they were necessary changes. We were not meeting our adequate yearly progress. So do we continue on with what was obviously NOT working? I think NOT!! Character Counts has been thoroughly implemented and our students are embracing it! Our building has been transformed and is now inviting and clearly exemplifies what we say in our pledge each and every day -- We are MES building character for success!!! We are motivied by our leadership each day. For each and every negative post or comment out there there are at least 10 positive ones to replace it. However in these times it seems that the naysayers are the only ones being heard because that's what the media focuses on. Our students are making progress and we are moving forward in the right direction. It takes time and dedication and we are doing it. If we would stop the negativity and really focus on the positives we could really move mountains. I am proud to be a part of MES and absolutely thrilled with the changes that have been made!!!!!! Keep up the hard work MES staff. WE CAN DO IT!!!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 8, 2011

Yes, it is true that there have many changes this school year (2010-2011), but the district would not have made these changes if they were not necessary. If you have done your research, you would know that prior to this school year, our scores were in the dump. The admin that was brought in, by committee, sees the weaknesses that are here, and have taken them out. The students are learning, they are engaged. No, there is no art, but we have never had an art program as the other schools in the district have. Yes, I do believe that is wrong to be sending kids to middle school not knowing their primary colors, but in order to keep our school out of corrective action, there are steps that had to be made by admin. I do believe both of the administrators who were brought in are very qualified for the job, both of whom have been in education for over ten years each, and held assistant principal ships in the past. They are not nice, but in this situation, I wouldn't be either. Their reputations are on the line, and they know what needs to be done in order to succeed.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 8, 2011

The few negatives from this year is just that, a few. There are so many more positive parents, teachers and staff members this year than last year. We have lost awesome teachers in the past four years because of lack of follow through with discipline, now that is not a problem. I applaud all of my fellow staff members for their hard work. I realize that our careers will carry us to new schools next year, bu the hard work this year has shown through in our scores, and parent involvement.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 5, 2011

My child has been attending MES since Kindergarten and has loved every minute up until this year. With all of the changes that have been made, most have been negative due to the administration's lack of experience. They bully their staff and their students and instead of running the school like a team and working together, they are running the morale straight into the ground. My child no longer wants to attend MES and is willing to leave behind all of his/her friends because of what is going on. Not to mention that the school is going to lose a lot of really GREAT teachers because they didn't "conform" to what the gustapo feels is the "right way" to teach.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2010

That is funny, the parents in this review mention that the PTO was a joke. Really? Not having my kids start there until this year. I have one quesiton to them. Were you even involved? Did you do any thing for the school? or better yet to the kids that went to that school during 2007 or 2008? If not please don't make comments here saying the PTO was a Joke, when I'm sure they tried their best with or "without" any parent involvement. PTO should be about the KIDS and not about the ADULTS ego. Which it sounds like from you. So instead of making comments maybe you should have helped MORE. Keep up the good work MES and the PTO, Future parent of MES
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2008

This school is getting way better then when it started. Both my kids are in the 4th grade and have been on honor roll and perfect attendance because they are motivated to go to school. There skill levels in all classes meet that of other schools in the Kyrene district and Southern California.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2008

This school is horrible run dont walk somewhere else if you value your childs safety and education! The PTO is a complete joke my children have attended since the school re-opened in the new facility I hoped it was going to mark some major difference with the new principal and new staff but was sorely wrong. If you truely value your childs safey and education you will go elsewhere
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2007

Please do not send your child to this school. It is the worst school ever. My daughter who was in 2nd grade there this year, learned nothing. She is advanced due to coming from the Kyrene District so this school was really a joke. The teachers are horrible! The school activities are minimal at the most. The worst thing about this school is lack of parent involvement and the worst PTO ever! The school was also under-performing this year.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
57%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
69%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
45%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
66%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
28%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
52%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
69%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing Plus".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 41% 42%
White 36% 42%
Black 10% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 8% 6%
Asian 2% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Two or more races 1% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 57%N/A46%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (520) 568-5166

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

18150 N Alterra Pkwy
Maricopa, AZ 85139
Website: Click here
Phone: (520) 568-5160

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Maricopa Online
Maricopa, AZ







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT