Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Maricopa Wells Middle School

Public | 6-8 & ungraded

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 6, 2014

We just started here and the reception has been wonderful. Our special needs child is thriving.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2013

I think this school need to change their hours of operation instead of nine am. It would be appreciated if the time should change. If the school would improve the timing to an early time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2013

I love this school, my daughter went 7th and 8th grade now and this is the first school that she ever got on the honor roll and she has an IEP . I'm so excited they kept it open this 2013-2014 school year , also the teachers really care!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 27, 2013

My daughter only got to spend a couple weeks their before graduating but this school is one of the best! My daughter loved it immidately and I wish that the school will continue to be as amazing
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2012

Well today they lined up all the kids in front of the bleachers and my grand son was being pushed in the back. He retaliated and pushed back. Then another boy slugged him in the side of the face and began stepping on him when he was down. I believe they gave everybody suspensions to be added after the fall break. My daughter withdrew him and they are moving to Ohio. They were already going to move anyway but there have been many incidents before. The kids there don't seem to have any worries about the consequences if they get caught bullying but that's for someone else to care about now.


Posted December 29, 2011

This is a great school with great staff and faculty. Teachers are doing more for less and are raising the bar. The problem does not lie in the administration, teachers, or staff as the disgruntled parent below mentioned but with parents themselves and their children. They need to be involved and back teachers up as well as hold their own student accountable for their actions and lack of output. I challenge every parent/guardian to come to conferences, attend lunch with your parent day, a pto/site council meeting, check grades via parent vue, encourage your student to attend before/after school enrichment as well as ask your child how the day went and check on their homework. Ultimate the responsibility is on YOU the parent and your student. Step up to the plate and take the challenge because it takes more than excellent teachers and strong administration. It takes parental involvement and student accountability!!!


Posted November 22, 2011

This school is far from anything resembling a good school. I have 2 children in this school so I have encountered many of the teachers and other staff. Unfortunately, the second you walk into the office your treated the same as the way they treat the children, as if your bothering them. Never a smile or greeting, just a grueling "can I help you". As for the teachers, I have meet a couple good teachers but the majority act simply dreedful. Ignoring problem, cursing, and so much more. It's do as I say, not as I do mentality. The principle seems friendly but it takes a lot more then that to run a school, which I have not seen much headership. However, I'd much rather deal with him then the stupid loser they call their vice principle. Lastly, this school has a major bullying problem that both of my children have observed or had the misfortune of being involved in. Several times I have spoken with the faculty about bullying and was disgusted with the lack responsibility to make my children feel safe and the way they deal or I should say they do not deal with the problem. I will be sending my children to a different school next year. I had to select one star but its really ZERO STARS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2011

Maricopa Wells is a good school that just keeps getting better. 8th grade students now have the opportunity to take English 1, Geometry and Algebra 1 for high school credit. Algebra 1 is also offered for 7th graders. The MORE classes offer great opportunities for specialized electives and meaningful project based learning activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2011

This school is full of amazing students and dedicated teachers and staff... a genuinely supportive community. Even M.O.R.E. is being offered to students this year, that many students wouldn't otherwise receive at other schools. Way to go Maricopa Wells!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 1, 2011

Teachers in this school care and work hard for their students. The hardest obstacle is overcoming the past. The future looks bright.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 5, 2009

they are always great way better than desert wind middle school the teachers there don't care about the students ever.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2009

I think that Maricopa Wells Middle School is doing a fair job...certainly there is room for improvement. However, I am understanding that we are living in a community that grows at a crazy rate and has a somewhat transient population. I also understand that is my responsibility as a parent to be involved in my child's education. The teachers here have a somewhat overwhelming amount of students...but if you reach out, the teachers will respond and do whatever they can to help your child. I know this from experience. I support the school and appreciate what my son is getting from Maricopa Wells. Thank you to the teachers and staff for your hard work!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2008

Maricopa Wells Middle School is in the need of improvement. I hope that this happens soon, but it will take time. Last school year was bad. It was overcrowded. They need more teachers in order to make class sizes smaller. With the new middle school, I hope that helps. The school is not a community (students or staff). That can be fixed. Many kids at the school are out of control. More discipline is needed there. The administrators need to do something to help that. The principal does not support her teachers there. She spends her day in her office. She is not out and about as often as she should have last year. She does not respect teachers. Many teachers were unhappy. Other teachers did teacher observations. This school and district needs improvement, and it will eventually come, but it will take time. Many teachers left the school.


Posted May 15, 2008

I think it is unfortunate that Maricopa has grown so fast that the district is challenged with building and opening schools at a frenzied pace. The result seems to be overcrowding and a sub standard level of education and activities available to students. I believe the teachers and staff are doing the best they can with the conditions that exist. The parents, however, do not. I see very little parent involvement at school functions I attend. (eg. chaparoning dances, bring your parent to school day). So sad. I will be moving my child back to Ahwatukee as I dont believe MUSD20 is able to provide a quality education at this point in time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2008

I hate this school. I only have 1 out of 6 teachers who even seem to care about me. The principal is ridiculous and when I come to school I always feel like I'm walking into a jail. The athletics programs are just average, but they do not offer a very wide variety. I have always been an excelling student but at this school the teachers make no effort to challenge me whatsoever. If you have a choice, I would not recommend this school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 28, 2007

i am not happy with the middle school here at maricopa. the teachers are really rude and stupid and the grades are really low i am happy to be moving my child away from here i dont think its fair for my child to recieve such a low education
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2007

this school does need improvement but you do have to give them credit for the hard work they put in to give these students the best education they can give.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2006

This school has bad grades. This school has rude teachers. This school has no swimming team.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

246 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
39%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

247 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
66%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

239 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
64%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

224 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
41%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

224 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
69%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

215 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
37%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

251 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
40%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

251 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
62%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 39% 43%
White 31% 42%
Black 13% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 12% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
Two or more races 2% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 65%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (520) 568-7104

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

45012 W. Honeycutt Ave.
Maricopa, AZ 85139
Website: Click here
Phone: (520) 568-5100

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Maricopa Online
Maricopa, AZ





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT