Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Santa Rosa Elementary School

Public | PK-5 & ungraded

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

50 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 4, 2014

We are so happy with Santa Rosa Elementary! The small class sizes, great Teachers and wonderful office staff make it a pleasure to walk the campus. My kids are both excelling educationally and LOVE coming to school each day!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2014

Santa Rosa is a great school! I love their small classroom sizes and the teachers seem to really put in an extra effort to make sure their students are motivated and try their hardest.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2014

Great staff, and amazing teacher and kids loving going to school and love their teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2014

Great school, the staff is so welcoming and amazing teachers. My kids love attending school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2013

I'm very impressed with this school. My son is enrolled here and the staff is excellent and seem to really care about the children. The new principle seems to be well like by the parents and children. She is outside every morning waving as each kid is dropped off.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2012

the teachers are good the principal could be ok but they let groups of kids bully other kids till they get mad then they get in trouble and the bullys just get to keep bullying kids we went in and talked to the principal a couple times sent emails all over but they will do nothing one kid evin threatened to stab my daughter and she hits my daughter all the time if my daughter tells she gets in trouble her self i got a appointment with a lawer in a week
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2012

So far I've had two children attend Santa Rosa. They both have done really well. One of my children is in middle school and continues to thrive. I think the school and the teachers are great. If I have a questions or concerns I can always count that the teachers and principa will respond. Other parents should quit complaining and be more proactive in their childrens education. Maybe that way the children will do better. Get involved with the PTO. I think that a lot of parents expect teachers and schools to be miracle workers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2011

If you are looking for a drill Sargent for a principal or a military feel to the school then by all means come here. I've had my child here for 4 years now and this is by far the worse shape its been in. Our kids have NO fun, there is no interaction between students and principal, raising money for PTO is more important then recognizing our students hard work. There are some of the most dedicated teachers I've met at this school but their morale is slowly disappearing. My child actually asked if he can attend a new school after the Christmas holidays, really sad. My youngest calls the principal a witch and anytime her name is mentioned cowards and hides. Not a good atmosphere at all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2011

Oh my, what a mess! Not sure what this district is thinking. Another new principle this year and the worse one yet. Teachers were RIF'ed at the beginning of summer and new teachers were brought in. Now after two weeks of school more teachers are being transfered and classes are being merged. Just what we need, large class sizes, no specials, poor teachers and another poor leader. My kids do not enjoy going to school anymore and I do not enjoy or even want to volunteer. If you have a chance choose one of the other schools in the district. This one will take a lot of time to go back to how it used to be a few years ago.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2011

I decided to give this school one more year. I think that was a mistake! Last year, with the inexperienced principal things were not running smoothly. This year, however, the principal that was hired is even worse!! this lady doesn't walk out of her office; my daughter thinks she is the meanest person in the school. I am very dissapointed with santa Rosa. we miss Mr. Abel!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 3, 2011

I have my daughter attending this school. I have checked papers which she has received from her teacher that are grade,only to find errors that she did not mark and the ones she did mark were right. We received the report card in the mail at the end of the year only to read the right name in the comments followed by the wrong name in the next sentence. She was sent home with homework and I had to teach her step by step what to do! If these teachers do not what to make sure that the kids are learn than they should find another line of work. Also her teacher had the kids voting on which homework assignment they wanted. Since when do child dictate their work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2010

Great teachers, great town, and a great bunch of kids!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2010

The staff and students here have a very positive attitude about learning and showing that Santa Rosa is the best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2010

They really care about the kids. The staff is excellent and the kids are doing a great job of learning
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2010

My granddaughter attends Santa Rosa and I can see how much she has grown in her learning abilities & She 'loves going to school'!


Posted April 28, 2010

The way the teachers care & all staff.. your kid is not just a test score
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2010

I like this school because my kids attend here and I also work here and the teachers are awesome. I have seen a huge improvement with both of my boys here at santa rosa
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2010

Because it has great leardship, and therefor we have great staff, and therefor we have great kids!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2010

my grandson is doing so much better at this school he want's to to school now thank you Santa Rosa Elementary a happy grandmother


Posted April 28, 2010

I love Santa Rosa Elementary School for the care,consistency,and dedication shown to my children by the wonderful teachers at this school.My eldest son, who will be a high school freshman this fall, entered Santa Rosa in 2003. I was hired on at this school as a Para in 2004 when my twins entered kindergarten. My twins are now in fifth grade and ready to move on to sixth grade at the jr. high. This school and it's exceptional staff have been a part of my family. I know my children are well prepared to move on to higher grades, but we will miss Santa Rosa dearly.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
74%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
49%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
62%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
66%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
73%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing Plus".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 48% 42%
Hispanic 33% 43%
Black 7% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 4% 5%
Two or more races 3% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 50%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (520) 568-6155

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

21400 N. Santa Rosa Dr.
Maricopa, AZ 85239
Website: Click here
Phone: (520) 568-5100

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Maricopa Online
Maricopa, AZ





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT