Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Legacy Traditional School - Maricopa Campus

Charter | K-8 | 1059 students

We are best known for back-to-basics curriculum.

 
 

Living in Maricopa

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $98,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $810.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 10 ratings
2012:
Based on 9 ratings
2011:
Based on 12 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

School Official Point of View

Posted December 12, 2011

We believe that parents have a choice in the selection of the academic environment for their children. When a parent exercises that choice with Legacy Traditional School, they are choosing a safe structured accelerated program with high expectations. At Legacy Traditional School students benefit from a Legacy of Learning as they prepare for the world ahead.

84 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 3, 2012

I can not verbalize my disappointment in this school after 2.5 years.... My son was an 'A' student when he began attending LTS. He excelled during his first year there. Then, was a change in leadership (new principal) and my son fell victim to several unfortunate events there. He was attacked and threatened on campus and nothing was done about that. in the end, he was singled out and punished without procedure. When we met with the principal, she was rude, disrespectful and threatening. By the time he moved him back to the Kyrene District in the Fall of 2010, he had been emotionally crushed, explaining to me that his LTS teachers favored the LDS students over him. He had begun feeling isolated... I don't regret the move. My son has excelled since. For the sake of the kids there, I really hope that Principal has been removed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2012

So far this is a great school. Looks like they went through a lot of growing pains, but it is great now.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2011

This is an excellent school! I remember when the Maricopa campus was located in portables. It's come such a long way, but the quality has remained top-notch!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2011

I ve been so impressed with Legacy! They use Spalding and Saxon math, the best curriculums. They have a beautiful campus. The teachers care about the students. There is a great feeling of citizenship there. There is an emphasis on patriotism and a love of America at Legacy. They challenge the students while still making school enjoyable. The hold the teachers accountable and do random walk throughs weekly to ensure quality of teaching. I ve been so happy with Legacy!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2011

I don't know which campus some of the critical reviews have come from but I can tell you that Athlos, the Gilbert campus, has exceeded our expectations. We came from a private school and were very nervous about changing to a charter school. We needn't have worried - our kids love this school. They come home happy and engaged - not stressed and nervous. The teachers communicate weekly via email and have notified us promptly about any issues. The campus is beautiful and the gym and p.e. program are state of the art. Other schools should take note and learn from this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2011

My 2 children just finished their first week at Legacy. Every day when I pick them up they are jumping up and down, skipping and just plain happy. They are excited about their new teachers and curriculum. They are now getting the education that is going to push them into success. Unlike their last school, Saddleback Elementary, who just cared about getting the best AIMS score and getting state funding. I am extremely happy we made the change, and so are my children!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2011

I rated this school 2stars for several reasons. The administrators really do not seem to know what they are doing. In all of the schools they have opened-I don't think 1 of them has opened on time. They also have VERY poor communication with parents. The elementary cirriculium is very good and most of the teacher are with exceptions. But know if you do have a problem with a teacher, you are on your own. After several parents complained about a certain 4th grade teacher, nothing was done all year and the kids were treated poorly, nothinng was done--although that teacher was not rehired. The Jr. High kids are disiplined as thought they are in elementary--they promise things and then don't deliver. The after school tutoring-they basically give your kids the answers. It is better than the public school ONLY because its a good cirriculum-not becasue of the teachers or the staff and expect alot of homework and alot of busywork that you WILL be helping your kids with. Book reports and poems to memorize every 6wks and in the 4th grade starts BIG science projects every year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2011

My children have attended Legacy Traditional School for 5 years now. Legacy is a "private school education" for free. Expectations for students and parent involvement are high...lots of homework every night. Expectations for teachers is high as well and teacher turn over is high...one down side of Legacy. Legacy does not tolerate bad behavior in the classroom, so if your child has a history of bad behavior, Legacy would probably not work for them. If you want your child to have the best education while living in Maricopa, then Legacy would be a good fit. Your child should plan to work hard.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2011

For the reviewer complaining that Legacy asks for money for everything, welcome to the world of budget cuts! ALL schools conduct more fundraisers and ask more of parents financially than in previous years. While no school is perfect, Legacy truly strives to be the best school in Maricopa (In my opinion, it is the best school in Maricopa.). It has great teachers and good leadership, and the curriculum is very challenging. Kids are rewarded for high academic achievement and for exhibiting good citizenship.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2011

this school has some serious problems. first the school loves to ask for money for EVERYTHING even for parties. most of the teachers don't do their duty to students,which often leaves kids very disappointed. i move my kids out to the school hoping for change, but now i am pulling them and putting them back in public school. :(


Posted April 24, 2011

This school is OK. The principal goes through the classrooms at least once a week. The only concern really is that sometimes the kids will be sitting down for three hours straight without getting up and JUST doing school work. I think they should have breaks in between subjects but no they just lets say put away their math books and quickly take out their reading books. They have no breaks unless they have a "special" or lunch time
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2011

This school is an excellent school that prepares children for future educational endeavors. For those parents that insist that arts and crafts and play time is important for their child's success, this school is not for them. For those parents that want their children to have a great start on life and want their children prepared for college, there is no better place than Legacy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2011

We have attended LTS for the past 3 years and overall have been very pleased with the teaching quality and curriculum. This year however we have been a little disapointed in the larger class sizes. The teachers are very dedicated but it does make a difference in the individual attention each child recieves.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2011

We are new to the area, and our daughters first went to Maricopa Wells Middle school... they lasted two days. We were so happy that we found Legacy, I like everything about it. If you care about your childrens education, this is the place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2010

this school has the best area and way to teach my children and i love p.a.l.s
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2010

Legacy is a fantastic school. My kids have been attending Legacy for 2 years and the education is tops. Our experience with the teachers is nothing but positive. They care greatly about the students. I am so appreciative and grateful for the standards that are set for parents, staff, students, and teachers. You will not be disappointed at Legacy!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2010

My son and daughter have enjoyed the LTS education for 3 years - and are excelling at their grade levels. The staff and aids care and it shows in the learning process - definitely recommend the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2010

I have 5 children at LTS, talk about keeping me busy!! And we love it!! The school has and keeps an 8 rating because of test scores, not reviews -- and those scores are consistently in the 80% and above. Those are hard facts... The school has a structured environment, but that is the 'traditional' part. It is the same school I grew up with in regards to manners, respect, importance on education, not entertainment. My 3rd grader put together a powerpoint presentation in a group effort in computer class.There goes the argument that kids don't collaborate in groups and there is no technology. It is a place of top notch education, musicals, foreign language, teachers that truly love to teach, sports programs, parent involvment. A place where my kids are expected to stretch, but then that just means they are able to reach for the stars!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2010

I have two children who attend Legacy. My oldest has been there since the beginning. The education is beyond compare. I cannot believe what my children are learning for their ages. It is excellent. They are so far ahead of the pack when it comes to other schools. Yes...Legacy has had some ups and downs and communication hasn't always been up to par but Dr. Croatt has been working on that since she entered the administration team. All the administration has been improving especially now that they are all on site. It was difficult having offices offsite for them. Legacy has a strict and disciplined classroom but the kids still have fun. I have seen over the last three years, there is a little more leeway with arts and crafts and classroom activies. There is a computer class now, musical, concerts, and a bunch of extracurricular activities. We love Legacy!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2010

We have been at Legacy Traditional School for three years. Yes, there were some ups & downs in the beginning, much like any new endeavor. My child learned that life brings difficulties, & we used this time in our family to learn flexibility, patience, & thinking the best of others. Great values for life! In this school semester, we have had none of the early issues. The staff is wonderful, very caring of the students & appreciative of all parent involvement. The teachers strive for excellence while keeping the classroom fun. I appreciate the focus on character development & discipline as a virtue. We are very pleased withLegacy Traditional School. Check it out for yourself. It may be just what your family is looking for:)
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

147 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
85%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

147 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

142 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

142 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

115 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

116 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
74%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

116 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
91%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
86%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Highly Performing".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 60% 42%
Hispanic 22% 42%
Black 7% 5%
Two or more races 6% 1%
Asian 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Clubs
  • Gardening

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Orchestra

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Gym
Clubs
  • Gardening

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Kimberly R. Allison
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (520) 423-9997

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Gifted / high performing
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Orchestra

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Gardening
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

17760 N. Regent Dr.
Maricopa, AZ 85138
Website: Click here
Phone: (520) 423-9999

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT