Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Legacy Traditional School

Charter | K-10 | 1058 students

We are best known for back-to-basics curriculum.

 
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 6 ratings
2013:
Based on 10 ratings
2012:
Based on 9 ratings
2011:
Based on 12 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

School Official Point of View

Posted December 12, 2011

We believe that parents have a choice in the selection of the academic environment for their children. When a parent exercises that choice with Legacy Traditional School, they are choosing a safe structured accelerated program with high expectations. At Legacy Traditional School students benefit from a Legacy of Learning as they prepare for the world ahead.

87 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 15, 2012

They lie and say they have special services. They do not.My child was kindly kicked out due to the lack of SPECED staff. They will not budge on workloads either. I really like some of the teachers though. Yes, bullying is a problem too. I will not suggest this school after this year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2012

I love this school. My daughter has gone to kindergarten and first grade at the queen creek campus. I have liked all of the teachers that they have there. There is excellent communication with parents we recieved two detailed newsletters every week. One for the overall school events and one for each grade that details exactly what they are learning, what supplies the teachers are in need of if you want to donate. The newsletter for the whole school would even have a section that let you know what kind of sickness that they were seeing going around, such as the flu, colds etc. All of the teachers seem to be top notch and all the kids seem to be happy. So I think that state of the kids says more then anything. My daughter has turned much more responsible at home because of them teaching kids to be responsible, and independant at school. Also the school lunched are mostly made from scratch and offer lots of fruits and vegetables and she has loved that. They also have a dress down day usually about once a month where the kids can wear non uniform clothes, and pay one dollar which I think is a great fundraiser for the school and the kids gets really excited about.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2012

With 3 boys attending school we thought legacy would be a good fit for our children after another teacher told us how wonderful it was. However our experience with Legacy was horrible. Bullying seems to be the norm at the school and the principle turned a blind eye to it. No amount of parent envolvement and conferences stopped the weekly harrassment. This may be a charter school but they should have to follow the same rules as other schools, there should be an anti bullying policy in place. How are children ever going to feel safe in school if the adults won't even protect them from the other children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2012

I can not verbalize my disappointment in this school after 2.5 years.... My son was an 'A' student when he began attending LTS. He excelled during his first year there. Then, was a change in leadership (new principal) and my son fell victim to several unfortunate events there. He was attacked and threatened on campus and nothing was done about that. in the end, he was singled out and punished without procedure. When we met with the principal, she was rude, disrespectful and threatening. By the time he moved him back to the Kyrene District in the Fall of 2010, he had been emotionally crushed, explaining to me that his LTS teachers favored the LDS students over him. He had begun feeling isolated... I don't regret the move. My son has excelled since. For the sake of the kids there, I really hope that Principal has been removed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2012

So far this is a great school. Looks like they went through a lot of growing pains, but it is great now.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2011

This is an excellent school! I remember when the Maricopa campus was located in portables. It's come such a long way, but the quality has remained top-notch!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2011

I ve been so impressed with Legacy! They use Spalding and Saxon math, the best curriculums. They have a beautiful campus. The teachers care about the students. There is a great feeling of citizenship there. There is an emphasis on patriotism and a love of America at Legacy. They challenge the students while still making school enjoyable. The hold the teachers accountable and do random walk throughs weekly to ensure quality of teaching. I ve been so happy with Legacy!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2011

I don't know which campus some of the critical reviews have come from but I can tell you that Athlos, the Gilbert campus, has exceeded our expectations. We came from a private school and were very nervous about changing to a charter school. We needn't have worried - our kids love this school. They come home happy and engaged - not stressed and nervous. The teachers communicate weekly via email and have notified us promptly about any issues. The campus is beautiful and the gym and p.e. program are state of the art. Other schools should take note and learn from this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2011

My 2 children just finished their first week at Legacy. Every day when I pick them up they are jumping up and down, skipping and just plain happy. They are excited about their new teachers and curriculum. They are now getting the education that is going to push them into success. Unlike their last school, Saddleback Elementary, who just cared about getting the best AIMS score and getting state funding. I am extremely happy we made the change, and so are my children!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2011

I rated this school 2stars for several reasons. The administrators really do not seem to know what they are doing. In all of the schools they have opened-I don't think 1 of them has opened on time. They also have VERY poor communication with parents. The elementary cirriculium is very good and most of the teacher are with exceptions. But know if you do have a problem with a teacher, you are on your own. After several parents complained about a certain 4th grade teacher, nothing was done all year and the kids were treated poorly, nothinng was done--although that teacher was not rehired. The Jr. High kids are disiplined as thought they are in elementary--they promise things and then don't deliver. The after school tutoring-they basically give your kids the answers. It is better than the public school ONLY because its a good cirriculum-not becasue of the teachers or the staff and expect alot of homework and alot of busywork that you WILL be helping your kids with. Book reports and poems to memorize every 6wks and in the 4th grade starts BIG science projects every year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2011

My children have attended Legacy Traditional School for 5 years now. Legacy is a "private school education" for free. Expectations for students and parent involvement are high...lots of homework every night. Expectations for teachers is high as well and teacher turn over is high...one down side of Legacy. Legacy does not tolerate bad behavior in the classroom, so if your child has a history of bad behavior, Legacy would probably not work for them. If you want your child to have the best education while living in Maricopa, then Legacy would be a good fit. Your child should plan to work hard.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2011

For the reviewer complaining that Legacy asks for money for everything, welcome to the world of budget cuts! ALL schools conduct more fundraisers and ask more of parents financially than in previous years. While no school is perfect, Legacy truly strives to be the best school in Maricopa (In my opinion, it is the best school in Maricopa.). It has great teachers and good leadership, and the curriculum is very challenging. Kids are rewarded for high academic achievement and for exhibiting good citizenship.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2011

this school has some serious problems. first the school loves to ask for money for EVERYTHING even for parties. most of the teachers don't do their duty to students,which often leaves kids very disappointed. i move my kids out to the school hoping for change, but now i am pulling them and putting them back in public school. :(


Posted April 24, 2011

This school is OK. The principal goes through the classrooms at least once a week. The only concern really is that sometimes the kids will be sitting down for three hours straight without getting up and JUST doing school work. I think they should have breaks in between subjects but no they just lets say put away their math books and quickly take out their reading books. They have no breaks unless they have a "special" or lunch time
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2011

This school is an excellent school that prepares children for future educational endeavors. For those parents that insist that arts and crafts and play time is important for their child's success, this school is not for them. For those parents that want their children to have a great start on life and want their children prepared for college, there is no better place than Legacy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2011

We have attended LTS for the past 3 years and overall have been very pleased with the teaching quality and curriculum. This year however we have been a little disapointed in the larger class sizes. The teachers are very dedicated but it does make a difference in the individual attention each child recieves.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2011

We are new to the area, and our daughters first went to Maricopa Wells Middle school... they lasted two days. We were so happy that we found Legacy, I like everything about it. If you care about your childrens education, this is the place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2010

this school has the best area and way to teach my children and i love p.a.l.s
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2010

Legacy is a fantastic school. My kids have been attending Legacy for 2 years and the education is tops. Our experience with the teachers is nothing but positive. They care greatly about the students. I am so appreciative and grateful for the standards that are set for parents, staff, students, and teachers. You will not be disappointed at Legacy!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2010

My son and daughter have enjoyed the LTS education for 3 years - and are excelling at their grade levels. The staff and aids care and it shows in the learning process - definitely recommend the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2014.

2014

 
 
88%

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 78% in 2014.

2014

 
 
91%

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
88%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2014.

2014

 
 
81%

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2014.

2014

 
 
91%

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
90%
Science

The state average for Science was 58% in 2014.

2014

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
86%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2014.

2014

 
 
92%

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
88%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
74%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2014.

2014

 
 
83%

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
65%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2014.

2014

 
 
94%

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
87%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
72%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
81%

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 86% in 2014.

2014

 
 
96%

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
87%
Science

2014

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
72%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
53%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

2014

 
 
78%

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
72%
Science

The state average for Science was 63% in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
70%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
50%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 86% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
83%
Science

The state average for Science was 39% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 74% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
73%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Highly Performing".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 72% 42%
Hispanic 15% 43%
Black 7% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 36%N/A47%
Female 52%N/A49%
Male 48%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Clubs
  • Gardening

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Orchestra

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Gym
Clubs
  • Gardening

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Kimberly R. Allison
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (520) 423-9997

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Gifted / high performing
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Orchestra

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Gardening
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

17760 N. Regent Dr.
Maricopa, AZ 85138
Website: Click here
Phone: (520) 423-9999

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT