Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Legacy Traditional School

Charter | K-10

We are best known for back-to-basics curriculum.

 
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 10 ratings
2012:
Based on 9 ratings
2011:
Based on 12 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

School Official Point of View

Posted December 12, 2011

We believe that parents have a choice in the selection of the academic environment for their children. When a parent exercises that choice with Legacy Traditional School, they are choosing a safe structured accelerated program with high expectations. At Legacy Traditional School students benefit from a Legacy of Learning as they prepare for the world ahead.

85 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 20, 2010

We have been at Legacy Traditional School for three years. Yes, there were some ups & downs in the beginning, much like any new endeavor. My child learned that life brings difficulties, & we used this time in our family to learn flexibility, patience, & thinking the best of others. Great values for life! In this school semester, we have had none of the early issues. The staff is wonderful, very caring of the students & appreciative of all parent involvement. The teachers strive for excellence while keeping the classroom fun. I appreciate the focus on character development & discipline as a virtue. We are very pleased withLegacy Traditional School. Check it out for yourself. It may be just what your family is looking for:)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2010

Love the new gorgeous campus, love the teachers for our 3 kids. Great values taught, no bullying allowed. Overall scores for this school compared to neighboring schools is fantastic! This is what initially sold us on Legacy. Don't take anyone's word for it, go in and check it our for YOURSELF. It has been an awesome experience for our family and we are so pleased with Legacy Traditional.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2010

We have attended Legacy for 3 years and we have 3 children enrolled. We have had an incredible experience. Our teachers have been awesome and they are always willing to communicate. Our kids are excited about learning, they have excellent study habits, and we could not be happier with the entire school. If interested, I suggest visiting the campus and class rooms. I have never been so pleased with a school for my kids. I feel the admin truly has the kids' best interest in mind.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2010

My children have attended Leagacy for 3 years now. I love it! The teachers there are caring, loving, and devoted to making each day the best day, both academically and emotionally for my kids. The new campus is beautiful and just another example of how dedicated Legacy is to making their students environment the most wonderful possible. They offer many after school programs that my kids love! From running club, tennis club, and now the school mucical, and so many more! They are challenging to my gifted children both in class and a once per week after school program. Legacy expects the very best from its student and the students have met those expectations! I am thrilled to have such a fabulous school in our community for my children to attend!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2010

I am a parent of students at this school, a former employee and a frequent volunteer and I LOVE this school! The education is top notch, the teachers and staff put the students first and the communication and amenities are great. We have been at Legacy all 3 years and they just keep getting better. It's true at first they had few extra curricular activities but now we have many sports and numerous clubs as well. It is a fallacy that Legacy is military strict with little to no fun, or hands on learning. LTS is quite the opposite. My children enjoy school and have fun while achieving their goals. It is true that they set high expectations but as you can tell from our test scores, our students rise to the occasion. Do yourself a favor and try it for yourself. You and your children won't be sorry.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2010

This school is fantastic. The teachers are highly qualified and actually care about the students. There is free tutoring for the academic areas if your child is struggling. I have 2 children enrolled. They love going to school each day. They love their teachers. The curriculum is accelerated and has a high standard of learning. Although it is not for all children since there are different ways of learning, it is suitable for mine. They have been there for 2 years and we are very pleased and thankful they are in Maricopa.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 12, 2009

I wonder how this school keeps the 8 as a rating. When I read through the reviews, there's mixed responses. My 3 children attended Legacy because I wanted to believe the promises that were continually made and never followed through. I pulled them out for many reasons but mostly because of the lack of leadership and qualities I wanted them to learn from the place they spend a great deal of time daily. And just for those who want to believe those in charge there, my children are gifted students, and well-mannered. But I was dissatisfied with the lack of challenge they received academically.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 27, 2009

My children have attended LTS since it began and I am so very thankful to have a traditional school where my kids are taught both core academics and the value of hard work. We live in a society that tells us our job as parents (and schools) is to entertain our children. What happened to hard work, discipline and high moral standards? As parents, we know that by sending our children to LTS we are giving them the gift of high achievement. When they enter the 'real world' they will be ready! They will not be surprised; instead they'll be prepared. They are learning now how to be diligent, self-controlled and managers of their time. In addition, children thrive on structure. The LTS staff works hard to create a safe environment for learning. Children generally achieve to the level the bar has been set- why not set it high!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2009

This is our third year with Legacy and we are so happy with the education that our children are receiving. Our 5th grader is even taking advantage of the free tutoring that is offered. The teachers are so kind and caring. Our children love going to school everyday. While I agree that Legacy is not the right choice for every family, it is the perfect choice for ours.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2009

We are finally happy that our kids got into another good charter school in Maricopa after leaving Legacy. The children who didn't want to go to school, now are so excited to go. They were tired of the bullying in Legacy play grounds. Now they enjoy the recess time and play well even with older kids. No wonder why the new school has so many kids and teachers and office staff from Legacy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2009

I had 2 children with LTS. I got tired of the total lack of unprofessional shown to myself, my children and the teachers. Those who are in charge have little to no knowledge of what learning looks like in this or even the last century. Students learn by doing not by sitting like robots at constant attention.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2009

I was a student of legacy junior high and my experience with them was great! Although there were some problems with the school being built on time, the overall experience was very different but excellent. My whole life my brother and i were in public schools, and the difference of public schools and LTS is that the teachers really helped each individual. My brother had a very difficult time learning how to read and write, and he was in the 7th grade. This was because all of the schools we had gone to before never really paid any attention to him. When we entered LTS my mother informed the teachers about this and helped him throughout the whole school year. As for myself i am a different story, i am an accelerated student. LTS made learning a challenge which is what i love! Next year i am returning to LTS for9thgrade!
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 27, 2009

The education is fine if you are looking for your students to sit in their desk the entire day and not have any hands on learning. It is also good for teaching students how to memorize and do lots of homework. I for one am searching out a school for the 21st century were students use computers and learn how to interact with students and learn to problem solve. This style of learning is very old fashioned to me. I am also sicked by how the owners treat staff and parents. It is all buisness to them. Even family and friends mean nothing to them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2009

After working in public schools I decided that I would send my children to a charter school. We moved to Maricopa in the middle of my son's kindergarten year. He had been at a chartered/public school in Tempe and was excelling. I wanted to keep him in a school with the same curriculum with a focus on teaching the students how to read, write, and do arithmetic. He just completed kindergarten and is reading fluently and can do simple arithmetic. He had wonderful teachers and they communicated with me on a regular basis and if I had any questions they were more than happy to answer them. I think the administration could improve in some areas but I think they are doing a wonderful job for such a new school, and with time, I have faith that those areas will improve.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2009

Communication is key and this school has none. I was really hoping this was going to workout but they still have a lot to learn. A building will not make the communication issues go away. The new charter school Pathway prep. coming to Maricopa will give parents another choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2009

So glad this year is over!! If this school lived up to half the sale pitch Bill gave me, it would have been great. Two years in and the management of this school is horrendous. The only legacy this school has built is that of broken promises.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2009

I have been a parent of two Legacy students since it first opened. I heavily participated in the establishment of the school, both in & out of the classroom. I have been happy with the in-class education my kids have received. Unfortunately, this otherwise positive experience has been maligned with severe deficiencies within the administration. After the 1st year they promised a permanent site that would be delivered over the summer. The facility would allow for expanded extracurricular activities and increased enrollment. Consequently, they got full enrollment for the '08-'09 year. The only problem was that they learned mid summer that the new facility would not be able to be built as planned. Instead of notifying the parents, they waited until 2 wks AFTER the other schools started, then told us that we would have 1/2 day school due to lack of classrooms. for '09-'10, my kids will now go elsewhere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2009

I am pulling my child after this year because I believe the school is too conservative. I believe in structure and letting kids be kids. However, Legacy has built a school that wants to shelter the kids from the real world. I do not believe this school teaches acceptance to all people or race, gender, and personal beliefs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2009

LTS has only been around for 2 yrs. Given that, of course there are several areas that need improvement, the main being a permanent building & campus. They should have a designated, experienced planning committee as well. However, we have been satisfied with the education our daughter has been receiving, the quality of friends/families we are meeting as well as the attentiveness of her teachers which we felt she would lack in a larger class at an ordinary public school. As a Christian, I do believe children need to be held to higher standards, respect, etc..however I think LDS comments need to be guarded because this is a State Charter School - NOT an LDS private church school. Values are values. Ethics are ethics. Also I do hope computers and foreign languages will be incorporated at some point however.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2009

As an LDS parent, I think it is great that there is finally a school that supports our core values and beliefs. I was getting so tired of the values other schools were teaching my children. I love that Mr. Gregory and Mr. Hale continue to make sure teachers are teaching to our values and getting rid of teachers whom do not fit their views. To me computers, the art programs, and sports programs are not as important as knowing my core beliefs are being supported at the school. This is why I will continue to go to the school, even if it means staying in the trailers.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

147 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
85%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

147 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

142 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

142 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

115 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

116 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
74%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

116 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
91%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
86%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Highly Performing".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 72% 42%
Hispanic 15% 43%
Black 7% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 36%N/A47%
Female 52%N/A49%
Male 48%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Clubs
  • Gardening

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Orchestra

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Gym
Clubs
  • Gardening

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Kimberly R. Allison
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (520) 423-9997

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Gifted / high performing
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Orchestra

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Gardening
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

17760 N. Regent Dr.
Maricopa, AZ 85138
Website: Click here
Phone: (520) 423-9999

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT